Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 May 2017
I love this film!! It is a personal opinion so I can't really say why I like it so much..
The quality of the actual DVD is as expected and it is in colour although the cover is in Black and White. I wanted the film in colour so I am very happy with this purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2013
I saw this I don't like to think how many years ago, but put it this way, we rented a 16mm projector, and there was a tense wait while my father changed reels. I really am that old. (Must be said, it was already a classic, not a new release.)

So I bought it on DVD thinking ah, this will be sweet and nostalgic and turn me back into a little girl for an hour or two. Actually, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like Noel Coward's plays, I love Margaret Rutherford (who is remarkably young and spry), the special effects were surprisingly good and it is eccentric English humour very nicely portrayed indeed, I recommend it as a delightful oddity.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2017
It's all about the film score and great acting firmly establishing the inter-relationships between the four principle roles. This 1942 version is sublimely played out by the cleaver doe-eyed Hollywood star Veronica Lake, and the strait-backed Fredric March. Sit tight for the fabulous portrayal of the psychic medium! You can see why this film is believed to be the inspiration behind the classic TV show 'Bewitched', and could be argued the forerunner for all subsequent similar genre, 'Buffy' et. al.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2015
Sadly Noel Coward is seen as something of a joke by today's audiences but this delightful and hysterically funny farce shows just why he was the most famous playright and wit of his day. Rex Harrison is Rex Harrison but his acting in this is perfectly light touch and never goes into the realm of mockery. Margaret Rutherford was born to play Madame Arcati, the delightfully daft medium.

Try if you can to find the restored version from The David Lean Foundation, it is as good if not better than the orginal. The colours are sparkly and true and the directing from David Lean is surprisingly sprite given that he had never directed comedy before. If you have never seen any of Coward's work before, take a look at this and you'l discover why the profession referred to him as, "the Master".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2018
Fabulous film, one of my favourites! Brilliantly acted, especially by Margaret Rutherford and this must be one of her best wildly eccentric performances. They don't write them like this anymore, good gentle family viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Charming old comedy following Rex Harrison's character Charles employs a medium to hold a sayence as research for the book he is writing. They unwittingly bring back the spirit of his ex wife Elriva who is not particularly happy that he has remarried.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 November 2013
To paraphrase Oscar Wilde line ( From "The Importance of Being Earnest") - "To Loose One Wife is Unforunate , but to loose Two , is Careless...!!!"
To have them both come back to Haunt you is even Worse.........!!!
Stunning performances by all the cast , especially my Favourite , Margaret Rutherford (as the Batty Medium , Madam Arcarti)
A superb work by Noel Coward. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
Wonderful film of a very light-hearted play, exquisitely and stylishly performed.
It is of its time - cosy upper middle-class, nice house, doctor who calls round - but taken for what it is, it is enjoyable.
The restoration is excellent sound and picture; make sure you buy the one with the gold header!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
will be watching over the New Year, whilst toasting toes and chestnuts on a roaring log fire, drinking hot chocolate, and hoping for
some snow on the ground.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2018
Excellent. Enjoyed a good old oldie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse