Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 8 March 2018
The seasidetown of Fircombe decides to hold a beauty contest but the local women's lib group wants to stop it. There's no way the Carry On films would be made today. Very un PC though in fact quite tame by today's standards, no nudity just lots of innuendo that would have the PC police up in arms. All the Carry On regulars apart from Kenneth Williams and Hattie Jaques are in this one with an appearance from Wendy Richards as one of the girls taking part in the beauty pagent with some very funny comic performances. Not up there with the best of the films, the series was starting to wind down a bit around this point but it is genuinely funny and very British as you'd expect from the Carry On series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
I love the Carry On films and I have all of them on DVD. This one, however, is not one of my favourites. There are a number of reasons why I don't regard this film with much fondness. First, most of the regular Carry On team are not in this film. Secondly, some of the cast are woefully miscast (Barbara Windsor, in particular) and the film suffers from this. Finally...it just isn't that funny. This was made at the start of the 1970s, when the series really had had its' day and the films were beginning to slip more into the Benny Hill type of humour that was the case at the time. The films weren't as fun or as subtle as they once were. The other problem is that worse was still to come, so this wasn't the least funniest of them all, but it is easy to see the decline that had set in when this film was made. This is one of the few Carry Ons that I have never enjoyed very much and the passing of time has not changed my mind. Three stars from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2016
This is quite a frenetic film but, without doubt, the star of the show is Kenneth Connor as the pompous uptight Mayor with Patsy Rowlands as his lady wife with her weak bladder and wonderful bored expression. It's nice to see June Whitfield in a Carry On film leading her group of women committed to stopping the dreaded Beauty Pageant. The girls themselves are just background but Barbara Windsor is a little over the top. A good romp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2017
It's not the best Carry on by any means, but it is the best of the 70's. Ordered just before Christmas and received before Xmas eve, brilliant service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
Would get Three stars but earns an extra star for casting 'Margaret Nolan' as Top Heavy 'Dawn Brakes'..now there's a girl that doesn't mind having her clothes ripped!
Must admit the 'Cat Fight' was very amusing! TRIVIA: Miss Nolan played a cameo part in The Beatles 'A Hard Days Night' 1964..Casino sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
This is a very funny film with excellent performances from members of the Carry on Team. Sid James and Kenneth Connor are hilarious. Also, Valerie Leon is particularly good as one of the contestants in the beauty contest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2015
bought this as a Christmas present for my sister. so can only assume it is ok. I've seen the film many times before and loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2016
Sid James laugh....eenough said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
Good gear well pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
If you like a good hour or so of saucy fun, and are not politically correct like me, you will like this a lot. If you find any of it in the least bit offensive, you should get out a bit more. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse