Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
18
Later... Louder with Jools Holland [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 November 2015
Gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
Not the best of the Jools collections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
This DVD is the only DVD that I know of that has Dick Dale shredding live in concert with a clear picture. For that reason, and that reason alone I consider this one of my finest DVDs in my collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2010
Quite a good selection, but got bored with it quickly. Recording quality not great. However, if you like Later, you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2016
Not what I thought very disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 August 2015
Like all of the other set in this series, 'Later... Louder with Jools Holland' features an excellent line-up of artists from the past ten years (up until 2003) who played on my favourite TV music show (something I believe we need more of on our television screens), and all of these guys sure know how to rock. This is one DVD which is best played up very loud.

Personal favourites of mine include Foo Fighters, Ash, Stereophonics and The White Stripes. As well as these crystal clear live performances, the DVD also contains some good special features, including an exclusive interview with the Foo Fighters, show interviews with Metallica, Henry Rollins, Garbage, The Hives, Courtney Love, P JK Harvey and New Order, plus the convenient option of being able to pick out your favourite six tracks. With this handy feature, you can then play them in that order.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2005
LWJH is our only decent live music programme on the TV... for shame! I love some of the acts they have shown (but hate some of the others with a vengeance) so it is always taped in our house... then we spin through the mixed veg from around the world. Occasionally there are some weirdo acts which pass muster but on the whole there's usually 10 minutes in each which make it unmissable.
Quite a few of these gems are here and well worth preserving on DVD. We all have our faves and will skip some tracks... this is good value because it is well over an hour... everyone will find something worth watching twice or more if you like rock music.
It has some good extras too... especially for Foo Fighters fans because there is a unique not-screened interview with them... I also liked the interview with Polly Harvey - she was on Jay Leno's show with Arnie Schwartzenegger... and apparently he was not much taller than the elfin PJH!
So all in all a great addition to anyone's live rock collection!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2003
While the albums I buy live up their expectations more than 50% of the time, this can't be said of my music videos and DVDs. Even for the groups I know and love I often find their music DVDs either second rate or rather boring. Less than 1/4 of them are viewed more than once.
So I was naturally sceptically when putting this DVD into the drive the other day. But how wrong I was.
From the first to the last track this DVD is excellent. High energy, timeless rock 'n' roll that really kicks ass. Instead of that horrible '80s style music videos culture, you'll get to see the bands perform their songs live.
The highlights are Foo Fighters, Porno For Pyros, Mercury Rev and Primal Scream. While some of my favourites like Jesus And Mary Chain and New Order are oddly not able to transform their recorded brilliance into a live setting.
Conclusion: This may very well be one of the best ever music DVDs assembled. Weak tracks are non-existing. I can't recommend it enough. If you're interested in rock music, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)