Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
162
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2007
I completely loved this film, saw it again after a couple of years and think it gets better with age. Brilliantly shot, funny, wacky, witty, nuts dialog, good and bad of drugs, great damn music had me dancing in my chair...great take on post modern youth life, struggles, craziness, fun, drugs, music, connections, alienation, philosophy and even some male female bonding!! Funny film, wish I was less square in those days and did more of this stuff ... a inside view on some of the best of UK (welsh) youth clubbing reality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2000
This film does not waste time by disscusiing the issues related to drugs but tells a basically simple story of 5 ordinary people going out for a blinder of a weekend. This is a film we can all relate to as we have all been there. This simple but brilliant film is a film you must watch before you go out as it will simply build up your excitement and it will make you laugh till you cry. It is a must buy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2000
This movie is an excellent portrayal of the rave and club sub cultures that have sprung up around the globe in the last decade or so. It's an insightful show of how people deal with the drugs, the parties and the general life.

If you liked GO! and Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas you'll LOVE Human Traffic. This movie will leave a huge grin on your face and have you chuckling for a long, long time!

For all the E fiends as myself this is the flick to check! Nice one BRUVVA! i said nice one!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2010
Films that vividly capture a time and place are exceptionally rare. Couple this with films that stand the test of time, and you are talking only a handful of films.
Having seen this film 5 times over a decade, I can honestly say it does both and should be considered the last great film of the 20th Century (and the best film to come out of Britain in the late 90's).

Covering a weekend with 4 young Welsh clubbers, this film has often been compared to Go as it is one of those movies about having fun that steers well clear of cheesiness and pretensiousness & instead still seems to define the British club scene. No other film you will find (with the possible exception of 24 Hour Party People) better captures what a night or weekend clubbing is like & the soundtrack is up there with the very best.

Onto the plot. The plot is fairly simple, but explores some interesting themes.
Firstly we have Jip & his problems with 'Mr Floppy' (use your imagination with this one!)
Then there is Koop, who is also sexually paranoid, but in the different sense of being over-protective of his flirtatious girlfriend.
Next there is Lulu, who constantly goes out with cheating partners & Nina (girlfriend of Koop) and harassed by her boss at work.
Lastly there is Moff (played by the Danny Dyer in one of his best performances) who is by far the most memorable character of the film, being as he is one of those people who exist in every group of friends - the alienated, fun-loving wastrel.

The Five decide to go out in Cardiff for a weekend of 'pubs, clubs, drugs and parties', in which drug culture, alienation & the dark side of relationships are explored in depth. Coupled with this, there is also the lighter side, with Love, laughter & youth creating some of the best, most iconoclastic scenes that you will see in any movie.

If you ever need popular culture references concerning the various odd things that can occur on a night out, this is the first place to come.
As an example, there is the 'spliff politics' scene, in which Howard Marks narrates a scene where a spliff is being shared round the room & each charactor is trying their best to gain the attention of the man with spliff so that they'll be passed it next.
There is also an interesting scene of two older clubbers discussing how 'the scene isn't what it used to be' and how everyone isn't as open & friendly as it was 'in the good old days' (before they react in a highly unfriendly manner to a stranger who sits down next to them!)

Anyhow, I could continue for hours telling you how fantastic this film is but I'm guessing (if you've seen this film before) it will be known to you and (if you haven't seen it) then long descriptions won't persuade you.
What I will say is this: if you want a film that always provides you with new & interesting insights into popular culture & why people still 'rave' about 90's dance (pardon the pun), then there is no better film than this to try.
And if you've really seen your fill of this film, then I can only recommend the soundtrack (Human Traffic Ost) & that you see either the two films above or two other contemporary classics in the form of Late Night Shopping and East Is East.

Is the club scene dead? Not as long as films like this survive...

P.S. An interesting Gambit for fans, but apparently the Cocaine used in the 'Normal Doctor' scene is the real deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2003
More a themed sketch show than a film in any real sense. Certainly as far as narrative, plot or character development go. So while some bits work and work fabulously some scenes, especially the earlier ones emphatically don't. There's a lot of stuff in here that's absolutely spot and that anyone who's been clubbing in the nineties can relate to but there's a hell of a lot of tripe as well.
This film certainly parrots a lot of drugs related clichés but then taking drugs, especially ecstasy is such a generic experience that in some ways clichés are perfectly excusable. And some of it like the spliff politics are amusingly done, with self appointed spokesmen for cannabis aficionados everywhere Howard Marks no less, although true stoners are divided as to the merits of this scene.
For those who've been there Human Traffic manages to strike the occasional chord and for the rest it's an occasionally amusing series of gags but it offers no real insight.
On a plus though it does have techno god Carl Cox in his acting debut! Its hard to shake the feeling that this is the last days of the last great spontaneous youth movement brushed up and rebranded for commercial profit. But it does have Carl Cox in it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
Somewhere between the cheery comedic teen angst of a Brat Pack movie and the stylishly dingy, drug-ravaged night life of "Trainspotting," you'll find the fresh-faced, fun-loving, Ecstasy-dropping, Welsh weekend warriors that populate the party-hardy world of "Human Traffic."

A capricious and energetic, rave-flavored tour through a bouncy Friday-Saturday-Sunday of dance and romance in the lives of five club-hopping pals on the cusp of their 20s, this lightweight snapshot of edgy Y2K youth culture has nothing new to say about sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll -- but it says that nothing with irresistibly enthusiastic effervescence.

The story is narrated with hyperactive chirp by Jip (John Simms), a soft-featured Tim Roth look-alike who blows off steam from his weekdays in retail hell by getting squiffy with his mates and dancing the night away.

His entourage includes his best gal pal Lulu (Lorraine Pilkington), a tangy "full-on club minx" with a mane of out-of-control curls and a secret jones for Jip; aimless stoner Moff (Danny Dyer); African-Anglo Koop (Shaun Parkes), a spastic record store DJ with a jealous streak; and Koop's flirty girlfriend Nina (Nicola Reynolds), who bolts from her McJob in a fantasy-embellished early scene that sets the movie's anti-establishment mood.

Written and directed by 25-year-old Justin Kerrigan, a recent Welsh film school grad who has won a handful of festival awards, "Human Traffic" accompanies this group from their day jobs (hate them!) through their club-hopping nights in a style that apes from a dozen sources (notably, "Trainspotting" and early MTV) without feeling unoriginal.

The plot is simple stuff -- each character has some banal comedic conflict (Jip is experiencing sexual performance problems, Lulu is convinced she's a schmuck magnet, etc.) easily resolved through their memorable weekend of youthful excess (ecstasy is unabashedly endorsed). But that hardly matters because "Human Traffic" isn't about story, per se. It's about capturing that all-too-brief moment of devil-may-care lifestyle that people remember forever as the best time of their lives.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2000
"The weekend has landed. All that exists now is clubs, drugs, pubs and parties. I've got 48 hours off from the world, man. I'm gonna blow steam outa my head like a screaming kettle and talk codshit to strangers all night. I'm gonna lose the plot on the dance floor; the free radicals inside me are freaking man! Tonight I'm Jip Travolta, I'm Peter Popper - I'm going to Never Never Land with my chosen family man. We're gonna get more spaced out than Neil Armstrong ever did. Anything could happen tonight ya know! This could be the best night of my life! I've 73 quid in my back burner, I'm gonna wax the lot, the Milky Bars are on. Yeah!" So exclaims Jip, one of five central characters of the films that accurately and comprehensively sums up club life in Britain throughout the Nineties. This is the real deal, charting as it controversially does (for some people), the use of Ecstasy, Cocaine and a good few spliffs as merely components of a blinding weekend's partying! Forget the likes of the squeaky clean, "nice" images of Britain as portrayed by the likes of "Four Weddings" or "Notting Hill" - these are real club people and this is what it's like. Thanks to Radio One's Pete Tong acting as musical advisor even the soundtrack is bang on the button and features contributions from Orbital, Fat Boy Slim, Carl Cox, Underworld, and Armand Van Helden amongst others. Dead accurate and scorchingly hilarious much of the time, this is an absolutely essential ninety minutes of era-charting brilliance delivered with aplomb by a cast of virtually unknown actors. Totally recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
I usually enjoy films likebana this. Great actors but sorry rubbish film. Great music. Story rubrush film. Not for me or my husband who I bought it for. Bin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
I watched this film and thought it was alright.. As some people have said, it is like an introduction for an hour and a half and then it finishes.

The second time, I thought it was very good and then the third time, it became my favourite movie.

If you have never been involved in the scene described in this movie, you might not be able to identify with some of the film and loads of the jokes might go straight over your head but if you have been on a night like the characters in the film go on then it is perfect.

Rather than the usual story (someone takes drugs, gets hooked, has a real problem with them etc etc), Human Traffic tries to show what the drug scene is actually like. It is not "hollywooded up", it is a very accurate account of youth culture. It shows how people think and portrays a culture that some people know nothing about yet argue that it's bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2000
An acccurate, in depth look at club culture. The first of it's kind. Absolutely brilliant soundtrack by Pete Tong. Nice guest appearence by Carl Cox.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)