Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 28 September 2017
Huge fan of Clocks, and the B-sides are pretty good too! (I'd say I prefer Animals to Crests of Waves)
If you're a fan of A Rush Of Blood To The Head, you'll enjoy all the B-sides the album has to offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2003
Wow. I have recently invested in A rush of blood to the head, but wanted to have Clocks on a single. having seen Coldplay live recently, I can vouch that they have written some seriously amazing music. Clocks is rythmical, uplifting and somehow lifts you out of any bad situation you are in.
Animals and Crest of Waves are both great B-sides, which really deserve to be A-sides, but never mind. Listen out for a great piece of solo guitaring in Animals!
Buy it. or your life will not be complete.
Regards
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2003
I don't care if the review above was written by a number one reviewer, this person is clearly overly critical of anything, and in this case is very wrong. Coldplay are an outstanding british musical achievement who are vibrant and full of energy, this track is just an example of their quality. Enough said
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2003
Coldplay are amazing, a very catchy tune, which u can sing along too. turn it up loud and enjoy
im going to see them live. and im sure they'll be amazing
-A MUST FOR ANY DECENT CD COLLECTION- the b-sides are amazing too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2003
I too have read this 'so called review' from a 'No 1 reviewer' and all I can say is what a load of utter tripe! Get real, mate, report on the quality or not of the CD by all means and not what musically you personally like and is better (who I have personally never heard of), this is not the time and place to do it!! Clocks is a great track, full of inventiveness and catchy as hell. Buy it even if you hate the way it was used in the BBC adverts, which I do. I am not a big Coldplay fan at all but just someone who likes all types of music and I like this, so there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2003
After seeing Coldplay live in Manchester in April this year I was hooked and I started buying their CD singles for the b-sides. First off Clocks is a very catchy tune with an echoey piano riff that stays in your head and which really drives it along. For a b-side Crests of Waves is fantastic, good enough to be on A Rush of Blood To The Head album IMHO. Great melodic guitar riff from Jonny Buckland on that one. On both cuts Chris Martin's singing is as usual excellent and full of passion. What an incredible vocal range he has!
By the way the reason this CD only gets 4 stars is because there is a 5 track version of Clocks which has 2 live tracks and another original track called Animals which is another great b-side. Right now, Coldplay can do no wrong!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
CD singles with non album tracks are often a disappointment - you're getting the bits that didn't make the cut. On this occasion, however, you're left wondering why these tracks were hidden away as B sides. In particular, Crests of Waves deserves to be heard much more widely: it might well have made a single in its own right. Animals is regular Coldplay fare but both the vocal and the arrangement are well worth a listen. If you seek out the Japanese edition, there's a further studio track - Murder - and two live cuts followed by two videos. Value indeed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2006
When you listen to a song, listening to the first 10 seconds, normally determins wheather you want to listen to it or change the track or station, if on the radio. coldplay have probabley made the best opening in this song. you cant really describe what its like its just right. The song it self is amazing, the lyrics has been perfectly writen, i dont think any one could write a song like that. all this proves that coldplay are set to be the gratest band in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2003
What is the true sign that a single is set to become a huge mainstream smash? Is it frequent airplay on radio stations with a variety of different formats? Possibly. I'm tempted to suggest that it is also when you hear the piece of music used in a strange variety of different contexts as this week Coldplay's Clocks reached my ears as the backing for a promotional trail for a new ITV drama and also as the soundtrack to a particularly dramatic scene in ER. It isn't hard to see why, even shortly after the release of the album, Clocks was highlighted as one of the standout tracks. Jacking the tempo up slightly and with a central piano figure that evokes memories of Bronski Beat's Smalltown Boy this is the kind of track that proves not every release from Chris Martin's band has to be steeped in melancholia. Instead this is the kind of mid-tempo track that U2 wish they had written and one that may even have the most die-hard nonbeliever admitting that they are indeed one of the best British groups on the planet. Needless to say the single is an easy Top 10 hit, beating the Number 10 peak of its predecessor The Scientist from last November. This is now the groups 5th successive Top 10 hit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2003
Everybody loves coldplay. Each single gets better and better and this one is deffinatly their best ever. From the album 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' which has sold over 5 million copies. This song is pure genius. I would recomend it to anybody, but whats more i'd recommend the album, you love this song, your going to love all of Coldplay's album. The band suits everybody, no matter what your musical taste, five million people cant be wrong.
The best song from the album, has got to be worth owning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)