Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Puerto Rico Board Game
Price:£34.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 October 2014
I bought this game on recommendation from the website boardgamegeek as it had been their number one game for some time. I was not disappointed. I'm 38 and have played with my wife, my sister and my father and all have enjoyed it. The game is listed on Amazon as a 2-5 player game but on the box is says 3-5 players. I play mostly two-player using a standard set of rules that has been invented for a two-player version (they are easy to find on the internet) and the game work brilliantly with them so don't be put off by that.

I own about one hundred boardgames (I'm a bit of a boardgame anorak) and this is probably my favourite one.

I can see that it might feel a little complicated for someone who doesn't play many boardgames when you first start but the game mechanics are actually very simple and if MY wife and dad can pick it up quickly then I know that many other non-game playing people can too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I am not going to go through the rules here (you can find it in the box) but overall this game is fantastic, with a combination of economic management and strategic thinking vs friends will give you hours of joy as you discuss, trade, build and settle.

If you've played Settlers of Catan and loved it, there's quite a high chance you will love this game too - I'd say, think of it as Catan's more evil, scheming sibling.

A quick tip for those who do end up buying but were too lazy to read the rules book, remember that Youtube can be a good friend ;) My advice is to be a little more patient at first but your hard work soldiering through the rules and gameplay will will be rewarded!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Puerto Rico is a gamer's game. Easy to learn, very difficult to master. The theme itself is extremely dry and isn't particularly immersive; you're shipping goods from a 17th century Caribbean Island back home for VPs. Not one that many people, especially non-gamers will probably jump in delight at.

However don't dismiss it because lurking beneath the average-looking artwork and dry-as-the-desert theme is a game with very slick, efficient mechanics. It is a masterwork of how games should be, with rules that can be learnt in 5 minutes and an average playing length of around an hour or so.

Each player is provided with an island containing spaces for plantations and buildings. The plantations produce five types of crops, which rise in order of their ease to produce and conversely their retail value. So, whilst corn is easy to make, it sells for nothing. Coffee however is difficult to make, but will net you a tidy profit when you sell it.

Players can choose from a number of buildings, some of which turn crops into goods, or others that help you make a better profit on selling goods, store them, or later on in the game, give you extra victory points. Last but not least, the essential part are your colonists, which help turn the crops into produce and then man the buildings to turn them into goods.

The game action itself is beautifully simple. A Governor is appointed randomly, and as the first player each turn, they get to choose from six different actions. As the first person, they also gain a small advantage over the other players - for example, the builder provides them with a discount when purchasing builders, or they get one extra colonist when taking the mayor action. All the other players then get that action as well and then the next player takes an action and so on. At the end of the turn, all actions that are unused then have one unit of currency placed on them.

This all sounds rather dry and a bit non-confrontational, but the dark art of this game is in knowing when to select a particular action. The meat is in the phases of production, selling and shipping, which net goods, currency and VP's respectively. It's here that you can block other players off because both the trading house and cargo vessels are limited in capacity - you can't just sell and ship willy-nilly. For example, if you produce too many types of goods but don't have a warehouse or a ship of your own (which can be built) then you run the risk of losing goods permanently. In Puerto Rico this sort of mistake can lose you the game.

Although Puerto Rico looks a bit cheap and functional, it's a game that brings reward with each play. There are all manner of strategies to use, but it's important to note that this is a game where a beginner will find it hard to beat experienced players. For gamers that's a good thing; there's nothing worse than a newbie beating you through the roll of a dice. I would argue that due to its theme and style, this isn't really a "family" game in the Catan sense of the word due to the relative lack of player interaction, but for a group looking for something mentally demanding, Puerto Rico deserves its place in the pantheon.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2008
If I could award this game 4.5 stars, I would. It is a staggeringly well designed, thoroughly thought out and superbly executed game. That said, it's not one that I take off the shelf all that often.

There is very little luck in Puerto Rico and because of that there are cetrainly 'best' plays to make in any given situation. The more you play the better you get at discerning the best option to take, and that's where the problem lies for me. I would hesitate to label this a family game and I certainly wouldn't like to play with anyone under 12 years old as seating order and skewed player ability can have a huge effect on the outcome. Playing this game with those that have a played a lot before can be a dispiriting experience and it would appeal to those who want to strive to play it as best as they can. I know some who level the criticism that it is 'recreational accountancy' and whilst I can see why it would be considered dry, that is still a bit harsh.

To give it five stars would be to suggest this is a perfect game and it isn't. Although with four or five well matched players around the board, it certainly gets very close.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
Puerto Rico is an excellent game. It is one of those games in which luck has been reduced to the minimum and skill is all important. Luckily the game is so much fun and so interesting that you will play the game again and again and during the course of these games you will refine your skill. It is interesting becasue as you gain more experience at the game and your skill level increases, new strategies occur to you and so the game kind of constantly evolves within your playgroup.

You can play with 3 to 5 players. I have played ten 3-player games and five 4-player games, no 5-player games yet. I have found the 3 and 4 player games have slightly different dynamics, which again makes the game have very good replayabiliy.

If you like games such as civilization, settlers of catan, carcasonne and ticket to ride then I am fairly sure you will love this game.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2007
Puerto Rico is a family boardgame of a similar ilk to the Catan series. Players build and trade in order to gain victory points to win the game. We are all in agreement that this is the best boardgame we've played so far. There is little in the way of chance in the game (no die-rolling) but the game remains unpredictable and challenging with many different ways to victory.

Absolutely brill!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
We have only played the game a couple of times but it appears to be another great board game with lots of opportunity for strategy but keeps everyone involved. The play involves each player whether it is your turn or someone else's. There is no waiting around for someone to complete multiple moves. We enjoyed what we have seen so far.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2010
Not much to add to the existing 'most useful' reviews, which I broadly agree with. I've played many good board games - Settlers of Catan, Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride (numerous versions), Thurn & Taxis etc. I think I'd give Puerto Rico the no. 2 spot, but the no. 1 spot goes by a clear margin to Agricola, which is similar in some ways but a richer and more satisfying experience to play.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
love this game - and there is an official 2 person version also which is the only version ive played and it works just fine.
its not the grandest looking game say in comparrison to caylus or agricola or le havre but it plays just as good. highly recomended and has been number one on game geek for ages
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)