Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 14 October 2013
Warning! if you own the Z-man games version of the base game ensure you purchase the Z-man games expansion. I didn't look and bought the Rio Grande version of inns and cathedrals expansion to go with my z-man games base set and the rear of the tiles is slightly darker colour meaning you can pick the expansion tiles out visually when picking them up which I don't think you should be able to do, easy fix is a cloth bag though. Try to match your base and expansions to ensure uniformity of tiles, it is only a small difference but it is noticeable and if your like me it will annoy you.

I have had the Carcassonne base set for a while and play on a regular basis with my 9 year old daughter who loves it. It was therefore a natural step to purchase the first add on to keep the game interesting and add a touch more strategy. This expansion does that although not in a radical way, it adds inns to the roads and cathedrals to the cities which only score when finished and not at game end. There are some other standard (slightly different designs) tiles along with double sized meeple's and scoring tiles too keep track of when you complete a lap of the rather small score board from the base game. My daughter loves the little scoring tiles, especially when she has lapped me! Overall for £10 a good if gently expansion which expands the game but not in an overly radical way.

(For those that want to know why the two versions, Rio Grande is the old distributor with the newer version and current licence holder being z-man games.)

Zman
Carcassonne New Edition Board Game
Carcassonne Expansionansion 1 Inns and Cathedrals Board Game
Carcassonne Expansion 2 Traders and Builders Board Game

Riogrande
Carcassonne
Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals
Carcassonne Expansion 2: Traders &Builders
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2010
When eventually you tire of the original, this will get the fires of enthusiasm burning again.

These new tiles have pictures of little inns with ponds by roads on some of the tiles, and cathedrals that are city pieces with no walls on two others. There's also a few new variations of city and road tiles that address the need for certain tiles that didn't exist until now (like a road going into a diagonal city piece, for example).

The effect of this expansion kit is to make it more of a commitment to finish some of the roads and cities as the rewards for doing so are increased, but if they aren't completed you get nothing (if an inn is part of a completed road you get two points per square but none if it isn't finished, and a cathedral in a completed city makes it worth 3 points per square, but nothing if unfinished)

There's also another set of men in case there weren't enough for you in the original set, and each player now gets a slightly larger piece that counts as two men, which adds another nuance to the tactical play.

The first expansion I bought was Carcassonne: River 2 [Toy], which addressed the slight imbalance in favour of farms. This is a great way to increase the tactical play without changing the principles that make the game so compelling.

Really good.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2012
I love Carcassonne. I have the board game, the iPhone app and the Xbox versions of the game. I regularly play all three versions (Xbox less so now we have it on the iPhone/iPad too).

The expansions to Carcassonne are generally a mixture of good ones, not so good ones and plain stupid ones. This one, being one of the first, is a very good one. You get a bunch of new tiles, a set of new meeple and big followers for different rules.

Apart from a mix of different standard tiles you have two cathedral tiles and a number of inn tiles. Both double their respective item points when completed. Completed cities with a cathedral tile and roads completed at both ends.

The double follower is worth two followers when you are looking to dominate a feature on the board, so it helps to prevent someone stealing your city, farm or road points. It's pointless putting him on a cloister, like one of my mates did when we first got it!

The slight change in scoring and rules helps to add another layer of tactics to the game, but without fundamentally changing the way you play it, as other expansions do. There are enough additional pieces to make a difference and an additional set of meeple is good for playing bigger games (though it tends to get messy with any more than four).

If you have the Carcassonne boardgame (or the iPhone game, as there is an expansion for that too) this is a must buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2012
After purchasing Carcassone for my parents for Christmas, this was a much enjoyed gift 3 months on once their understanding of the initial game was ingrained. It adds a fresh element to the game and it is great to be able to add new skills to a game you already love, as opposed to just buying a new game....think we will continue to add many new parts to this game, it is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2014
This set adds another exciting dimension to this simple but very cleverly designed game. There are several sets and each can be used individually or collectively to make for a more complex gameplay. Very adaptable for all ages and intellects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2014
Played the original game with my sons who introduced me to it. Once I got used to what each card was etc. I was hooked. The extension adds to the possibilities for building. Each game is different. A game of logic and not just luck. Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2013
This expansion to the great Carcassonne is simple and effective. You receive a number of bonus tiles now to make road building more attractive but with added risk. A few other tile formations make previously difficult to finish formation easier.

You will need the full Carcassonne game to play.

Included are points marker tiles and new pieces to add another player to the game as well as big meeples that count as two followers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2013
Expansion packs are always a bit overpriced, but this is the first one I've bought for Carcassonne and it does add to the game, even when playing with two players. Even better when playing with more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2013
An amazing game, fun for all the family. My brother bought it for me for my birthday and everyone can get involved. As an expansion, it's simple and easy to add to the previous game and the new rules are clear and understandable. With each expansion there is sometimes small differences in the colour intensity or pattern variations between each one and that does annoy me a little bit but it's an understandable difference and it's purely my OCD that is being offended. All in all a worthwhile purchase!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
The blurb on the box might sound a bit dull but don't let that deceive you. This game is highly addictive and not as complicated as the rules might first appear, even our 7 year old regularly requests to play it.
We have since added to the game with the additional packs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)