Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 March 2017
Loved this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2003
From the Hip is one of those rare films, a court room drama with humour, touching moments, suspense and real drama. It has excellent performances from John Hurt and Judd Nelson. Nelson plays the lead role of a newly qualified lawyer itching to get at his first case in a court of law. He plays the lawyer "Stormy Weathers" superbly, showing excellent skills in convincing the audience how good a lawyer he is.
The main part of the film then focuses on "Stormy Weathers" having to defend a murderer, and having to get to grips with his conscience, with John Hurt in fine form as the murderer on trial.
This is a must see film, and in my opinion, should have more than one sequel.
There is one particularly humerous part in the early stages of the film, that is " worth the entrance fee alone".
The end is absolutely superb too.
Brilliant, you have to see it to believe it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
good comedy film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 May 2011
Robin "Stormy" Weathers is desperate to rise up the ladder at the law firm he is employed by-sooner rather than later. Manufacturing a series of events, Weathers crow bars his way into a position of prestige. But just as he thinks he has finally made it, the partners saddle him with a no-win trial...

Directed by Bob Clark and starring Judd Nelson (Weathers), Elizabeth Perkins, John Hurt and Darren McGavin, From The Hip is a quintessentially 1980s picture. Oozing a yuppie law firm vibe and with Brat Packer Nelson leading the way, it's no great shock to proclaim it as such really. That's not to say it deserves to stay back in that decade though, for although it hasn't aged well in context to our evolving societies, and as implausible as "Stormy's" legal shenanigans are, the piece serves up a nice blend of satire and legal ethic conundrums.

It's also decidedly funny, that is until John Hurt arrives as a pompous suspected murderer and not only steals the film, but also swerves it to a darker place. Perhaps it's a blend too far since the film is poorly rated by most? Maybe Hurt's preening, borderline psychotic peacock performance only serves to bring to light the deficiencies of the other cast members? What I do know is that my recent revisit to the film still brought many a chuckle as "Stormy" pulls his bag of tricks in the court room, and yes I was still on the edge of my seat during the gripping finale as Hurt's Douglas Benoit is called to the witness box.

Legal satire and conundrums just work for me I guess... 7/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2011
I first saw this when it came out originally and loved it, so when I saw it available to buy I had to have it. I was a little worried that I would not enjoy it as much several years later, and to be fair it has aged, but I still think it is a very watcheable film. John Hurt is menacing and excellent as you would expect. Elizabeth Perkins does an excellent job as the partner of the newly qualified lawyer Judd Nelson, who will do whatever it takes to make a name for himself in the firm he works for.

This is a comedy with a thriller underlying the l laughs. I enjoyed it - I hope you do too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2014
Super film! Have the tape, but waited years to get it on DVD. A really fun and riveting film. Excellent performances from Judd Nelson and John Hurt. A must watch for lovers of comedy and drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2014
Great film although I hadn't realised it was American and my TV wouldn't play it. Had to watch it on the PC but that was fine!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2011
This although looks dated, the premise of the story is as old as time itself. Young lawyer just out from law school wants to get ahead sooner rather than later. What makes this enjoyable is that the first half of the movie has the comedic edge, while the second half deal as with most US films the moral question. Nice turn of events towards the end of the movie, and John Hurt excellent as always, although too goood for this movie.
If you are looking for something that draws you in and keeps you on the edge of your seat, this movie is not for you.
Looking for something simple, predicable that give you a chuckle rather than a belly laugh then this film is for you.
Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2015
Excllent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2013
This is a North American version which does not work on a UK Blu Ray or DVD player. Therefore, useless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here