Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
71
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2016
I still have my old video recorder, the quality for this vhs is great, lovely film, great price, for an otherwise normally expensive dvd. Great buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
expensive compared to the other offers but did arrive in the time frame I needed .
I wondered why it did cost so much
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
Fabulous classic story brilliantly acted!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
One of my favourites. Arrived well on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This is excellent quality. Quick service. All it has got is the film, it doesn't have the extra features. If u just want the film and not bothered about having the extra features. Then this is a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
This production - along with its sequel - is one of the finest films evermade. Many reviewers and fans have said the same, often with eloquence andundisguised emotion. All the more sad then, that the quality of the DVD ispoor. It is variably grainy and has occasional sound out-of-sync. In thecase of the second part - the Sequel - more than half the film suffersout-of-sync audio. This is just careless, and nothing to do with videocompression or other technical constraints.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
I first saw Anne of Green Gables many years ago when it was first made. I was only a youngster then and loved it. Now I have the DVD, and love it even more! Anne Shirley is a young orphan girl who is adopted by Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert of Green Gables and soon establishes herself as a girl with a great talent for getting herself into all kinds of scrapes and funny mini-adventures, along with her 'bosom friend' Diana Barry. Her relationship with Gilbert Blythe, the handsome young brainbox of her class develops from a childish rivalry into a beautiful friendship (which continues in the Sequel - but that's another story). The casting for this film was perfect. Though I have not read any of the books, Megan Follows is the perfect Anne of Green Gables as far as I'm concerned, and Colleen Dewhurst gives a flawless performance as Marilla. The other cast members are also wonderful, but the two I've mentioned are exceptionally good. The whole story is set in the beautiful scenery of what is supposed to be Canada's Prince Edward Island. This film is just a fantastic feel-good film that makes you grateful to be alive and grateful for your loved ones, the sort of film that we don't tend to see made anymore - A must-have for the family collection.
The DVD itself is double-sided since the whole production comes to over 3 and a half hours. There's a very brief 'making of' only about 3 minutes long, Megan Follows' audition for the part of Anne (not terribly exciting), some deleted scenes and cast biographies. There's also a director's commentary, though I can only seem to access that on the 2nd side of the disc and can therefore only hear what he has to say about the second half of the film. It may be that I'm just not doing something right, but really I don't care too much about that. It's the film itself that I bought this for and I am not at all disappointed there. A wonderful production all-round (with a beautiful musical score too). Highly recommended!
0Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
My daughter's favourite film - she had it on tape and she needed a CD version as she no longer had a VHS player. Biiiiiig Smiles!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
Red haired orphan Anne Shirley is adopted by brother and sister, Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, who wanted a boy, and were amazed when Anne turned up. However they ended up falling in love with Anne, and they're not the only ones. The dashingly handsome Gilbert Blythe loves Anne the moment he sees her, but after one regretful moment, where he teases Anne and calls her 'Carrots', she smashes her slate over his head and refuses to talk to him! After saving her from drowning and giving up his school post for her, however, she decides to forgive him, and they become friends. But that's not enough for Gilbert, he adores her! Set on the beautiful Prince Edward Island, this lovely film sees brave, high spririted Anne grow from a chatterbox child, to a mature teenager. Watch her make friends and foes and settle into the sweet little town of Avonlea.
This is one of the sweetest, funniest, most romantic films I've ever seen. I love Anne, she's my idol! Watch it, you won't regret it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.97

Need customer service? Click here