Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
41
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2015
Classic album, honestly one of my favorite Who albums.

From start to finish this album is great, the bonus tracks are really cool to listen to as well - especially the covers like Barbara Ann. Another great thing about the album is it's when all the band starts to contribute songs, not just Pete. 'Cobwebs And Strange' from Keith is one of my favorite songs, it's like stepping inside his mind, and 'Whiskey Man' is one of those classic who songs from John.

Great album at a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
For me "A Quick One" is The Who's best album. I like it much more than their later more famous albums. The album is full of exciting and catchy tunes like my favourites songs "So Sad About Us" and "Boris The Spider". The bonus tracks are very good like the surf tunes "Bucket T" (a big hit in Sweden) and "Barbara Ann" and the acustic version of "Happy Jack". This is a great album from the best era in music, the mid 1960's, with albums like The Beatles' "Rubber Soul" and "Revolver", The Rolling Stones' "Aftermath" and The Kinks' "Face To Face" etc. Buy this album if you like music from the mid-1960's!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2003
The second LP of the band, an unquestionable evolution from the first. First of all it really works as an album, I don't get tired if I listen it from the start to the very end, nor I find any tune weak. Every song is on it's right place.
So were's the evolution from My Generation? That's particulary arround the way that John worked on it. Two songs of his', where he sings, 'Boris the Spider' and 'Wiskey Man', and a completely new bass sound/mixt. The bass recording on this LP is eventually a milestone on such early ages of rock, quite ahead of it's time. As for the rest of the record, classy Pete's tunes, with great vocals work; 'Heat Wave' and 'So Sad About Us' are my favourites.
A special mention for the title track 'A quick one...', the first steps for The Who towards the rock opera, a song with several simple melodies that tell us a very funny story. Once again the bass work is outstanding, the only negative point of the song is the final chorus of 'You are forgiven', wich in later recordings (BBC Sessions or Live At Leeds) apers quite matured against this one. But still a masterpiece.
If you like The Who, you probably have this LP already, if not get it! If you're a 60's fan you need this one in your collection. If none of the above but you're a bass player, or learning to be one, this LP has some really strong stuff, by a man who would became the best in Rock'n'Roll.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2010
After the hard-driving R'n'B of The Who's debut, for their second album they needed to mix the formula up a bit. The result is a touch haphazard, laden with experiments but an impressive album nonetheless.

In order to gain a greater advance for the album's recording, all four members wrote songs, with mixed results. Vocalist Roger Daltrey's sole contribution, 'See My Way,' is a decent enough pop tune but then composition never would be his real talent. Keith Moon's 'I Need You' is in the same vein, a throwaway but listenable nonetheless. This is something you cannot say about his 'Cobwebs And Strange,' an incredibly bizarre avante-garde piece that's plenty of fun but not one to listen to repeatedly.

Bassist John Entwistle, the second most prominent writer of the group, wrote the off-kilter fan favourite 'Boris The Spider' and the excellent ode to alcoholism 'Whiskey Man,' a fascinating song exploring relatively new subject matter at the time.

Throw in a serviceable cover of 'Heatwave' and the mix of writers makes things very all over the place. It's up to Pete Townshend to give the album its best songs. The loping, heavy 'Run Run Run' recalls the power of the band's debut, while the harmonies on 'So Sad About Us' are glorious. Both excellent tunes, but the whole album pales in comparison to its closing mini-opera.

Already growing tired of the three-minute pop song, Townshend constructed a nine-minute song cycle to stretch his musical legs. The resulting title track takes in psychedelia, country pastiche, girl-group harmonies and the band's trademark R'n'B and is remarkably evolved for a band only two years old to that point.

All in all, this album is quite low down on a Who buyers' guide simply because of its mixed bag of quality. But it is still most certainly worth getting, as without it the ensuing albums would never have been recorded and there is much to love on this little record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
For me, this was the 2nd best album of The Who from the sixties (above Sell Out)and the only one that still has not a deluxe treatment, I think Polydor/MCA can do a better job, a 2 cd mono/stereo edition with more bonus tracks each, Including Happy Jack and I'm a boy for example, not on this edition and some Pete demos from this era plus extended liner notes...
I want more!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2008
Released in December 1966, this, The Who's second LP which Mum & Dad bought their Who-Mad-Son for his Xmas present, and a slightly nervous Mum, who didn't want a tantrum on the day of the event, did the right thing by showing me it and asking if she'd bought the right album? Of course she had, but it also made things all the more difficult having to wait to hear it on Xmas day now I knew it was in the home.
Vastly different to their debut 'My Generation' LP as this one contained ALL group written songs, probably the inclusion of Pete Townshend's 'pilot for the Tommy rock opera' in the 'A Quick One' series of tracks, made the album seem much longer back then than it's actual skinflint 31 minutes playing time.
But the tracks have weathered well, and see compositions from Daltrey and Entwistle which were probably written whilst Pete was busy with the 'A Quick One' mini-opera.
Here, on this re-issue, though, the embarrasing 31 minutes have been expanded with extra tracks, namely, the 4 from the 'Ready Steady Who' EP, and a few other rarities from their career around this time.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
As a new who fan brought in by albums such as tommy and whos next, I wondered what this stuff would be like. When I heard it I wasnt dissapointed! Contains the great Boris the Spider and other good songs. Highlights are Run Run Run, Whiskey Man and A Quick One. Entwistle adds songs to this album (Boris and Whiskey Man) and so does Moon, with the crazy instumental Cobwebs and Strange. As well as the original album are bonus tracks originally found on the Ready Steady Who EP. Bucket T is my personal favourite from these bonus tracks, a strange surfing type song abour a car. The last track is also quite good, a new version of My Generation with a who rendition of Land of Hope and Glory put onto the end. Buy it. You wont get a better example of early Who.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2004
This is the who at their best.
this album combines shear writing genius by John Entwistle and pete townshend in such songs as happy Jack, Boris the Spyder and See My Way.
Also this album contains many humourous songs such as ; Bucket T, Whiskey Man and Barbera Ann.
To any Who fan this is them at their best. This is absoulutely superb I would recommend it to any who fan or non who fan both groups would enjoy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
A great addition to any Who fans collection. Bonus tracks are a great extra. Love the acoustic version of Happy Jack, always felt Daltrey's vocal was suffocated in the original single mix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
A Quick One,The Who Excellent Album and fast delivery.5 stars,From the ultimate British Band The Who.if you love great music you'll love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)