Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
Means Of Production
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 July 2015
This marks the beginning of the AIM sound and clearly it is heavily influenced by Hip Hop, There are some dope slammin yet chilled beats and this is a great album for mixing beats. Scratching and nice rhythms it is sweet. Aim though moved forward with greater expression in my opinion, as his style became his own. So in later cd's there are some distinctly original melodic and delightful vocal tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2013
This is unmistakably Aim. Laid back beats, vocal samples, including 'retro information programmes' and a lazy vibe which is so easy to listen to. It isn't up to the same standard as Cold Water Music. I can't say why; it is excellent but just makes a happy second best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2016
A quality album from Aim
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2003
If your considering purchasing this cd, stop pondering - do yourself a favour, buy it now!
This album quite simply rocks . If your new to aim, this is as good as any place to start. If you already own both CWM and Hinterland, then this will be a most welcome addition to your collection.
Mr Turner continues to drop intricate beats, collages and grooves and intertwines them like no one else can. This is most apparant on track 3 , let the funk ride. If your not reaching for the repeat button after this track there's something wrong with you!
This album doesn't mess with that distinctive aim sound - jazzy, innovative, old-skool, funky, beaty, the sound of pure quality.
If you were hoping for some new aim sound, you won't get it on this album, what you will get is ten outstanding tracks that will blow you away.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2003
For the first time tracks that have only ever been heard on tour and on dancefloors are available all on one CD!(ABOUT TIME!) Dating all the way back to the old skool of 1995 it is a collection of totally unique and perfect instrumental beats to please any Aim fan!
Having owned "cold water music and "hinterland" and also numerous albums from the amazing Rae and Christian (who mix and engineer this album)this album has everything you could want! Funky, up beat, intelligently mastered hip hop to down tempo, chilled, soulful and relaxed listening.
My favourites include "Let the Funk Ride" a magical mix of samples,scratching and a beautiful guitar loop! Will have you bobbing your head all day! and also "Soul Dive" just an absolutely gorgeous uplifting song. Other highlights are "Concentrate", "Just Passin'Through" and "Phantasm" all totally unique and perfectly created!
This album sums up Aim in all there glory! Truly genious that must be listened to!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2003
I thought i knew what type of music defined me as a person. I thought i knew the type of music that i loved. This album and the others before it (cold water music, and hinterland) have changed my perspective on music ten fold. This album gives us the chance to here the sounds of Aim before he graced us with his first album back in 2000. This album provides you with the singles or 12s that gave aim his reputation between the years of 95-99.
I have had has this album a week, and it has not left my cd player. it really is that good, i could say this about all of aim's albums, there something refreshing and different about all of them. They just all sound amazing, each album stretches your ears, and makes you actually hear beats in a way you have never heard before.
Means of production offers some truly great moments, my personnel favourites are Soul dive, the first time i heard this i just was like "yeah this is awesome"it made me want to tell all my mates exactly what i was listening to, as i knew that they were missing out on something great. Second would have to be Concentrate. This just makes me wanna move. this may sound a very simplistic thing to say, but there is nothing else to say. This album along with the other two as mentioned, really have altered the way i think and ultimately feel about my music.
Because i know that there is something different, better, and more exciting out there. And right now i have found it. Really, please get this album, even if your not really into hip hop, i wasn't and this purchase was one of the best that i have ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2003
Intelligent hip-hop is the best way to describe AIM, aka Andy Turner. With two cracking albums already under his belt in the shape of Cold Water Music and Hinterland, Means Of Production is a retrospective collection of earlier releases, neatly brought together in one handy CD. Well, it beats carrying round a clutch of twelve-inch vinyl, that's for sure. If you're not familiar with the name, imagine a harder Massive Attack with a hint of an orchestra, a touch of house and just a smidge of scratching and you'd be on the right lines. Effectively a singles collection from 1995-99, Means Of Production is more upbeat and dancefloor oriented than the albums, which worked so well because they were like nothing else around at the time on the rap scene. In fact, to call it 'rap' at all is a misnomer as there's virtually no 'rapping' at all on any of his work, but rather a more subtle blend of bluesy vocals and the odd bit of 'spoken word'. There's no posing or posture, just an elegant soundscape crafted with love. The highlight is an excellent Rae & Christian remix of Loopdreams which is worth the money alone.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2007
Still required listening a decade on. Just Passin' Through is one of the finest hip hop tunes of all time, complete with Wynton Marsalis and Harlem River Drive samples. Loop Dreams (not the remix alas..), Concentrate, Soul Dive, and Phantasm are timeless tracks, way better than anything on the subsequent albums. You can also hear Evil Knievel laying out his philosophy on life to a class of schoolkids. If you are lucky enough to find them you'll pay a fortune for these on 12".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)