Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.15+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I heard recently that The Vessels have split up. Now bands do come and go, but when I heard the news about The Vessels, I was absolutely stunned. Lets not prevaricate. This album is fantastic. The fact that The Vessels are not absolutely huge is something that somebody, somewhere should be ashamed of.
Muscially then, they are very accesible. Fans of Travis, The Thrills, and in fact any type of bittersweet indie styled guitar music will instantly take to them. From the opening track "Autumn Sounds" (with some of the most beautiful harmonies you will ever hear, and a key change that makes the hairs on my neck sit up just thinking about it) to the closing track "Delight", there is not a single bad song. The slower tracks, which are achingly pretty (Dont waste your time, innocence, heart of stone, Delight) are always followed up with something special to get you dancing again - the pairing of Innocence and Is My Heart (going out) are a fantastic example.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2003
Chilled out, blissfully unaware lyrics and toe-tapping harmonies make The Vessels self titled first album irresistible. If you like the Californian, west-coast beach bumming style of music that The Thrills have delivered to us in 'So much for the City' then you will absolutely adore this album. From the sentimental track 'Innocence' to the inspirational guitar rifts in 'Hey Hey Hey' The Vessels deliver time after time. If you are lucky enough to catch them live in the coming seven weeks, as they tour with The Bluetones, watch out for one of my all time favourites 'Is my heart (going out)' along with their new single 'Look for me first in any crowded room', out on 17 November 2003. [...]
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2006
I heard a snippet of one of their songs on the Jonathan Ross late show and thought it was interesting enough to take a chance on their CD. Usually in these situations the rest of the songs don't live up to the piece you have heard ie like The Arctic Monkeys, The Magic Numbers, Keane, well you get the picture,,,however for once I wasn't disappointed as this album is excellent. Irrespective of later influences I hear The Beatles all over this and I guess that's why it's so accessible ie Hey, Hey, Hey is Kansas City even down to George Harrisons VOX/Gretsch combination guitar sound.

And as with The Beatles wondeful harmonies.

Do ya self a favour and take a chance on these guys

If only they could get some radio air time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2003
This album is a great debut album from one of Britian's best up and coming indie bands. A host of excellent tracks put together, with two superb songs, 31st floor (which will definately get your feet dancing) and delight (which is a great song to end the album). Well worth the money, and would reconmend this to a variety of people becuase the music within the album is high-quality. Been to see them suppot the bluetones this year and they were absolutely superb then. So watch out, this is THE band for the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2002
This, the Vessels first album, is packed with new songs of beautiful simplicity that are clean and fresh and grab your attention on first listening. They will at the same time feel so familiar that you think you have known them all your life, particularly the infectious 'Hang on to Your Love' and the compulsive singalong of 'Hey,Hey,Hey'.
The Vessels rhythmic guitar aounds put them in the Alternative Country category, but this album contains traces of many and varied influences. The strong melodies on 'Autumn Sounds' hint at The Byrds and The La's and the vocals will bring to mind some of the Beatles work. That said, The Vessels have a sound which is all their own and is clearly stamped on every track. The songs are superbly crafted and beautifully produced. The outstanding 'See You Home Straight' is a beautifully layered song that drives deep into your heart and 'Delight' that closes the album is one of those tracks that you want to go on for ever.
This is a superb album that deserves to be ranked as one of the year's finest. The Vessels have had shamefully little publicity but this album shows that they could be huge. Buy it, and you will see why.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2003
I've heard that those lightboxes are very good for banishing the winter blues but they are a bit pricey. Can I recommend this excellent album as a cheaper alternative? From the first track to the last The Vessels blend strong melodies with bittersweet lyrics that echo Lennon and McCartney at their very best. There is a strong country influence on the album but it works perfectly amid the indie rhythms and crisp vocals. The anthemic "Hey Hey Hey" has some of the electricity that crackled round The Citadel, a tiny club in St. Helens that's probably a sports bar now, where I saw the Happy Mondays for £1.50 before they were huge. I also love the self-indulgent regret of the closing track "Delight". Buy this record and play it loud - summer's almost here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
A lovely melodic band. Great harmonies and one track in particular is a bit 'Lennonesque'. I just wish they were still around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
shame there was only 1. one it will trresure due to the great harmonies and fantastic song structure. 2 more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
just fancied something new and this is a good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here