Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
15
2.6 out of 5 stars
Tales From The Neverending Story: Volume 1 - The Beginning [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 August 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2003
The neverending story was my all time favorite as a child and this new version is nothing but a cheap remake. My advice is to never buy this version and look for the magical original one. The fantastic creatures are not in this film, just a few hairsprayed teenagers. A total waste of money. The kids got bored too. I had to put one star, none isn't an option
0Comment| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2005
This is a pale shade when compared to the original. Not worth the money.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2005
I grew up watching the original 1984 film by Wolfgang Petersen, and loved reading the Michael Ende story the film was based on, which I've had a copy on my bookshelf for the last 20 years. It was originally a german publication that has since been translated into dozens of other languages. I thought the new films might be better than, or at least, more on the original track than the awful films they produced as sequels to the original film, but if anything, the new series are right up there in the cringe-factor scheme of things. You could argue that because the series has been made for television, the producers should be able to take certain liberties with the plot of the story. The original story was so vast that they could've used the four new films to shoot a faithful adaptation. Instead, they've turned the entire story to mash. *spoilers ahead*
Bastian has been upgraded in the social scheme of things to an everyday american teenager, no longer friendless or running for his life through fear of bullying. His mother is still alive in the new version, though not for long, as she is tragically killed in a car accident caused by the werewolf Gmork, a citizen of Fantasia, who later transfigures to become Bastian's new replacement teacher, Mr Blank. None of the other teachers seem to notice the prolonged absence of the original teacher, for days on end, and leave the classroom under the instruction of the evil-eyed substitute, who presumably has no references, teaching experience, or social security number. The entire series is a Xena: Warrior Princess (actually, more like a Kevin Sorbo 'Hercules') take on the story. The acting is substandard, and Atreyu has become a blank-eyed pretty-boy, who receives a message from Chiron that the Empress needs his help to fight the Nothing. In the original story, after receiving the message, he immediately rides far and wide searching for a cure, while in this version, he spends many days riding back to the Ivory Tower to finally meet with the Empress, and re-confirm with her that she indeed needs his help...
The producers could have done so much more with material from the original story, including scenes from Perilin the Night-Forest, Grograman - a mythical fiery lion renamed 'the many coloured death', and Yor's Picture Mine, where Bastian works tirelessly in silence to search for a buried image which alone can reconnect him back with the world he came from. The original story also had the premise that Bastian's journey through Fantasia (or Fantastica, in the original version) could help improve relations on the outside, particularly that between himself and his father. In the original story, Bastian's father has coped with the past death of his wife by becoming immersed in his work, with very little emphasis placed on communication with his son. The scene in the story where they finally connect is one of the most emotionally rewarding sequences I've read.
It seems a shame that the producers had so much material to draw from, yet the best they could manage was a cheapened B-grade adaptation. *(1) out of *****(5)
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2007
this isnt even close to the original film, its a poor remake of what didnt need to be remade! ever heard "if its not broken.....".
I was dissapointed when i got this and want to send it back.....but i cant!!! oh the humanity!
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2007
awful. this is the only word i need to use for this sorry excuse of a dvd. i could have have starred in, written and produced this to a much higher standard and i don't even have a drama or equivalent g.c.s.e...

please believe me, stay well clear of this drivle and stick to the original 'the never ending story' movie. honestly, buy this and you will be kicking yourself.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2007
Amazon really should make it obvious that this is not the original film/boxset.

I got this as an Xmas present and was very disappointed because I was expecting the originals and my friend had no idea when searching Amazon.

I haven't watched them yet and am more keen on selling them on eBay than watching them!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Be careful, this is not the film. It has totally different actors, special effects, storylines and is very poor acting. Not the suppliers fault, mine for thinking I was buying the other parts of The neverending story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I was brought this by my husband who knew that I loved the movie, and thought this would be a sequel. It is a lovely story, which I have watched over and over. Would recommend to the fantasy loving people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
It's tacky, and horrible and kills the original film.
They should as kept it as a film. Makes me feel sick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse