Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
19
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.46+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2016
My all time fav from Quantic. why? Easy, he is a great producer and music maker and creates beautiful sounds, but this houses all of the elements expressed perfectly as a complete album. No duds on here. Just a fine percussion rich varied tempo based belter. If you have heard Quantic stuff before you will probably be familiar with his unique sound and blend of solid beats, percussion and warm melodies and this exemplifies his sound produced to perfection. other I like by him are 'Mishaps Happening' and 'An announcement to answer'. But he never really let's you down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2003
The Quantic Soul Orchestra (QSO) is the brainchild of Will Holland, who has released two fantastic albums on the Tru Thoughts imprint over the past few years ('The 5th Exotic' and 'Apricot Morning'). If you're familiar with Holland's previous output, you'll know that he excels at creating sonic landscapes of scultped breakbeats, downtempo strokes, and bass-driven jazz. The QSO's 'Stampede', however' may be Holland's finest hour. Whereas his first 2 albums conquered the art of sampled beats, 'Stampede' is entire live and sample-free, which makes for a rawer, more exhilarating listening experience. The whole album has a very 70's feel, but somehow does not come across as retro or kitchy -- quite a feat! All in all, 'Stampede' is a glorious summer listening experience, and it's a disc that I will return to many times for its superb percussion, drum, and vocal contributions. I probably would have rated this as a 5-star album, if not for its relative brevity (about 35 minutes) and for my absolute cynicism. That said, hats off to Holland and his band for making a truly outstanding, original record. Keep your eye on Tru Thoughts -- they're absolutely unstoppable these days.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
If you're a fan of funk or soul from any era- you will love this album! If you're familar with the work of Quantic (Will Holland) this certainly matches, if not surpasses, his previous output.
Based around a live 11 piece band (as opposed to studio based electronics), with strictly no samples, QSO have sculpted an LP of shear beauty and genius.
Once you've played this once, many of the songs, riffs and beats seem to stick in your head- especially stand out track HOLD IT DOWN (a cover of the 4 Hero track which far out strips their version & the vocal, by the amazing Alice Russell, recorded in one take!) and the brilliant SUPER 8- which will constitute further plays! I'd recommend the vinyl as the sleeve notes state that this is a 'tribute' to the great funk LP's which have been heavily sampled, right down to the fake sellotape around the edges of a faux-worn cover and the invitation for todays DJ's and producers to take samples for their music. Every track is a winner here, with repeated plays inevitable- the only worry being that I'm likely to wear my copy out sometime soon!! Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2004
I've just seen QSO at Glastonbury and was blown away. They have more funk than a huge funk truck on it's way to Funks R Us. In the band's own words, their drummer is "a rhythm criminal of dubious proportions", and their fantastic hammond-pilot "has more fingers than sense". Top stuff.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Oh dear. My lad has discovered my box of 'CDs which I bought by mistake' and I have rediscovered this gem.

What a misnomer! There's no 'Soul' in this. It's a pastiche of 70s blaxploitation musical memes in which many individually strong performances meld into one mighty sludge. You know how in the 60s there used to be big band orchestrated 'Easy Listening' versions of pop tunes? This is Easy Listening Jazz Funk, without the Easy.

I should imagine the creative process here was; "I've got a riff. Let's all play as fast as possible. Now everyone noodle around aimlessly and we'll try to finish at the same time." The flute is especially annoying. It's as bad as the sax in Hawkwind. Jazz improvisation is not simply 'playing off beat and out of key' - you've got to HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY. This feels like it could have been written by a computer programme which has digested all the notes in a jazz funk collection, but nothing of the meaning.

I don't make a habit of writing reviews, and I'm moved to now only by my *intense dislike* of this CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 July 2003
I was lucky enough to see the QSO live at the camden jazz cafe recently where they put the stampede album through its paces in front of a couple of hundred people and I have to say man what am album this is..it is excellent - if you like your guitar wah wah, and your keyboard of the hammond variety then is for you, stunning sounding lyrics and brilliant funk with a good old fashioned PHAT in the middle..this is far removed from QUANTIC's normal stuff but i truely recommend this to ALL quantic fans as well as those who like their funk music..superb album which translates so so well into a live set..bring on the big chill cos the QSO are playing their as well this yr..stunning album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2003
This is a great "rare groove" style CD along the lines of The Breakestra. What I can't understand is why it sounds so distorted. The bass is really boomy and the treble distorts. This really makes this disc hard to listen to which is a shame as the music is really fun. They sound like they'd be a great live band. Star track for me (and the reason for buying the CD) was the version of "Hold It Down" (4 Hero).
Quantic - if you read this PLEASE remaster the disc ASAP!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2003
very ordinary soul until track 5 when the singing and the groove and the funk all kick-in, then it's a very special record. some tracks could last longer. will certainly buy more QSO.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
I discovered this album after hearing QSO live on radio 1's 'Brighton Rocks' tour. Egged on by Qunatic's quality solo albums I bought a copy of Stampede - I wasn't dissapointed
The quirky, funky production is still there, only now there's tight live band for Quantic to meddle with! Although there are already some already some keen reviews on Amazon, everything they say holds true. Apparently Gilles Peterson is a fan and who can argue with that?
Stampede sounds like a party, in the summer with all your best mates.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
I got a hold of this beauty when I went to see QSO LIVE! They are absolutely sensational, an unforgettable night of funky beats and what an amazing vocalist - Alice Russell has such a beautiful sound. Their version of 'Hold it down' is a supreme adaption of the original.
Although it is impossible to replicate the emotions created by seeing them live this album comes a close second.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.79
£14.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)