Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
19
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2003
Contrary to one of the other reviews, the best thing about Junior Senior is that they are not at all concerned with image, coolness or any notions that a band with a good guitarist and multi-instrumentalist (which Junior unquestionably is) have to write downbeat, introverted material. So this doesn't carry the emotional depth and intenisty of, say, Nick Cave or the Smiths. But, great as those artists are, not everything has to.
The emphasis here is fun, fun, fun and it just feels like two guys who don't care about any trends or anything else trying to enjoy themselves (the irony is that "Move Your Feet" struck such a chord with the record-buying public).
Anyway, essentially this CD is the equivalent of being injected with sugar for 45 minutes and is, as such upbeat, happy and a joyous experience. It's true that Senior's rapping style can get a bit much at times but the Junior-led tracks like "Shake Me Baby" and "Boy Meets Girl" are superb, as is the balls-out Ramones-esque punk of White Trash.
So yes, this is simply fun, party music. But it's damn good fun, party music. And what's wrong with some of that once in a while?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2003
Quite simply folks this album is superb. Its a collection of funk,dance,pop and rock blended together to create one of the best albums of the year. If you cant dance to this, well, you cant dance to anything. Opener Go Junior, Go Senior sets the tone and it doesnt let up throughout the 11 tracks. Plus the live version of Move Your Feet is amazing! The lyrics arent up to much (eg shake your coconuts, until the milk comes out!)but when the tunes are this good you really dont care. If you want an album to put on before you go on a night out, or just to listen to anytime in fact, then buy this. It'll make you feel like its summer in your ear.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2003
Well, what can I say?! This is definitely the summer album of 2003. Yeah, Junior and Senior are an odd duo to look at, but who cares if the music is good?! I bought this album a week ago and it's not been off my hi-fi system.
If you are reading this you have probably heard the single 'Move Your Feet' which you've got to admit is highly addictive. But what about the rest of the album I hear you say! Well the rest of the album is filled with catchy songs too, mostly sung by both of them in a punk style. What's great though, is the music mixes in the background. You will notice different styles as you've heard in music from the 60's, 70's, 80's etc. You'll be listening to a track and you'll think, hang on a sec, this sounds like rock n roll from the 60's! You'll be listening to another one and it sounds like something from the 70's. It's really interesting to listen to the different music styles.
Overall, this is an album that would appeal to all ages because of the diverse music styles. This is one heck of an album that will really make you feel like dancing! I predict that if this album is marketed properly it could be one of the popular albums to have in the summer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2003
I have to say that this is the most refreshing album i've heard for a long while. It goes without saying that you'll have heard the single move your feet and even perhaps seen the video.
On first listen, you may be a bit surprised to find that none of the other tracks sound like this, or in fact a lot like each other!?
The beauty of it is, when you've heard the album once, you can't help but keep going back for more...it's addictive and it makes you so happy. The songs are lively and catchy, only the lyrics let them down.
If this is the shape of things to come from Junior Senior then the title says it all D-D-Don't Stop The Beat!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2003
I have to say that this is the most refreshing album i've heard for a long while. It goes without saying that you'll have heard the single move your feet and even perhaps seen the video.
On first listen, you may be a bit surprised to find that none of the other tracks sound like this, or in fact a lot like each other!?
The beauty of it is, when you've heard the album once, you can't help but keep going back for more...it's addictive and it makes you so happy. The songs are lively and catchy, only the lyrics let them down.
If this is the shape of things to come from Junior Senior then the title says it all D-D-Don't Stop The Beat!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2003
I bought this album having read the review in Q magazine, where Junior Senior are described as The Avalanches meets The Sweet. Having purchased a copy, I wasn't disappointed. The single "Move Your Feet" represents a more poppy side of the album, while riffs on other tracks are reminiscent of The Strokes. For me though, the best thing is that it is an 'anytime album', whether your sat at home chilling or getting set for a not on the razz.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
this has to be the greatest album ever!! junior senior (lets face it) are a fat mnan and a thin man from scandinavia. however this unfortune circumstance does not stop them from creating some of the catchiest music EVER! the songs may have erm...... odd titles ('shake your coconuts' and 'chicks and dicks' spring to mind) but this CD has been in my CD player for weeks! even my neighbors are humming junior senio when i see them the next morning. in short BUY THIS ALBUM!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
This album has a mixture of new funky and fancy groove for anyone's taste, Pop, Rock n Roll, Funk. This CD had fast delivery. I noticed that Track 2 / Rithum Bandits, seems to be an early recording Wichita did not reach later copies, not quiet short thow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2004
Having seen this Danish duo perform live on TV, I bought this album hoping to get the same sense of enjoyment from listening on my stereo. However, this feels like one of those albums that was much more fun to make than to listen to.
Only 'Move Your Feet', a richly scored, up-tempo funk-jazz piece, which sounds like a cover of something out of the seventies but isn't, has any lasting quality to it. Being generous, we might add the poppy 'Shake Your Coconuts' to the list of tracks worth listening to.
However, it sounds as if, having written two quality pieces, JS succumbed to pressure to bring out an album before they'd really worked out their own style. As a result, all the other tracks sound like so much padding. I have to tell you, guys, putting down a drum rhythm and then a couple of sixties guitar riffs over the top does not an interesting track make. Some of the pieces (especially 'Rhythm Bandits') sound as if they were made up five minutes before recording commenced - yet they lack any sense of spontaneity. The attempt to imitate raw punk in 'White Trash' merely sounds pathetic.
Camp, unoriginal, unsophisticated and dreadfully-worded, JS's songs come across as the output of a pair of wannabes who feel bitterly disappointed that they were born forty years too late to join the Beatles (and twenty years too late to join Wham). Sure, they're having fun; both Junior (whose voice sounds like a peculiar blend of Michael Jackson, Noddy Holder, and my five-year-old niece) and Senior (who just sounds like an angry Danish man shouting) throw themselves into every piece with enthusiasm. But you need discipline, as well, and most of these tracks are flabby and uncompelling.
I hate to be critical - 'Move Your Feet' is wonderful, danceable music with deft bass work from Junior and a thickly-layered big band sound. But, to be honest, if you've bought 'Move Your Feet' as a single, you don't need to spend even more money on this meagre (39 minutes!), self-regarding (Junior and Senior reference their own nicknames on almost every track), under-cooked assembly. It left me feeling that maybe JS were a student band who got lucky.
2 stars out of 5, and only because of 'Move Your Feet'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2003
Well, what can I say?! This is definitely the summer album of 2003. Yeah, Junior and Senior are an odd duo to look at, but who cares if the music is good?! I bought this album a week ago and it's not been off my hi-fi system.
If you are reading this you have probably heard the single 'Move Your Feet' which you've got to admit is highly addictive. But what about the rest of the album I hear you say! Well the rest of the album is filled with catchy songs too, mostly sung by both of them in a punk style. What's great though, is the music mixes in the background. You will notice different styles as you've heard in music from the 60's, 70's, 80's etc. You'll be listening to a track and you'll think, hang on a sec, this sounds like rock n roll from the 60's! You'll be listening to another one and it sounds like something from the 70's. It's really interesting to listen to the different music styles.
Overall, this is an album that would appeal to all ages because of the diverse music styles. This is one heck of an album that will really make you feel like dancing! I predict that if this album is marketed properly it could be one of the popular albums to have in the summer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)