Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 July 2015
Fantastic movie gripping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2016
Good twist to the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
WORTH A VIEW. KEEPS YOU GRIPPED ALL THE WAY. ONE OF BILLS BEST WORKS.
WATCH A SECOND TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU MISS NOTHING.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2012
This is an excellent film, i would of loved more in depth background but the film would of been ruined it cracks along at a fair pace, don't worry won't spolil the film, on what happens after this and that, Bill Paxton directs with a deft touch, his character could of over powered every scene he was in but he plays with such intense belief and conviction, you think tumor or nutter? Provided no one has ruined the film for you it is a must to watch.

I want to say more i really do other reviews have dropped hints which could spoli your pleasure.

I will say this, it is a work of a dedicated cast, it does seem a little stilted but the storey is being told from the perspective of a young boy 20 plus years later so it would seem a little under written, but it isn't, it is by turns horrifing, bewildering and thought provking and some things you will not see coming, unless you are a lying douche.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2004
A few brie comments on this rather good piece of southern gothic. I first saw it at the cinema last year before recently snapping it up on DVD. On the first viewing at the cinema, my friend who thought less of the film than me, finding it un-engrossing, nevertheless saw it as an allegory of US foreign policy. He rushed off before I could ask him to elaborate, but it's hardly rocket science working it out. The film is set in the bible-belt and tells of a man who has suffered loss seeking to rid the world of 'demons' that only he can detect. Sounds familiar? Think George W Bush ridding the world of 'terror' post 9/11 with the proviso that only he is able to define what constitutes 'terror'.
It may all be coincidental. After all, film-making is a time-consuming process so it could be that the Frailty script was written pre September 11th. On the other hand, given the increasingly McCarthy-like climate in the US today, it may be that the only way to criticise the War on Terror is through allegory - and an ambiguous one at that since the viewer is left to make his or her mind up as to whether Bill Paxton's character is a saviour or psycho.
Either way it is interesting to read political subtexts into such films. What do other viewers of this film think?
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2010
Bill Paxton makes his directoral debut and also features in Frailty as the deluded(?) father of two boys who believes he and his young sons have been chosen by God to slay demons that exist in their midst (a la the television series Supernatural)
it is a very safe thriller (not horror in my estimations) in so far as it plays out in a quite understated formulaic way underpinned by a religious narrative. It's not really my thing, that's not to say it's a bad film I just prefer more visceral or cerebral schlock. I'd imagine you'd enjoy this if as with most people you like films such as The Usual Suspects which is watchable but ultimately unfulfilling for me. I'll prepare for the negative onslaught, I find it difficult to conjure up much more of a description of this film partly to avoid giving away any spoilers but mainly because it doesn't possess enough real substance.
The family of three embark on their killing crusade despite the reluctance of the elder son to become involved in what he sees as his fathers insane beliefs. Sons grow up (one allegedly to be the 'God's Hand' serial killer) but is all it seems....? etc
Watchable but forgettable. Contains no gore, nudity or much in the way of swearing with a religious subtext. if I'd have known this beforehand I would probably have avoided it but it's not wholly a waste of an hour and a half either.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2016
A very good film, with some good acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
Very happy overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2017
Fab film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
Arrived in good time,dvd in v.g.c excellent value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)