Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
197
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
really disappointed. all the scary bits are on the trailer to the film and the plot is a bit empty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
a tale about a tape that will kill you goes around,a newspaper worker (female) has a son the thing is that once watched you only have 7 days to live so she tries to find all the clues to find the dead giel,but the horror has just begun,a fantastic horror film,buy it boys and girls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Another classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Bit of a pants movie.
Horror ?
Only horror was the acting !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 January 2004
Having watched the Japanese version "Ringu", and this one (the Hollywood version), I think the Hollywood version is the better of the two. Naomi Watts et al. deliver solid performances, and the minimalist soundtrack and emphasis on ambient noises add to the "creepy" factor. It might also be the only time I ever say this, but the Hollywood special effects really do add to this version. SFX aren't necessary at all to create a captivating and involving film, but here, they add a lot.

In the original Japanese version, I almost laughed aloud when Sadako first killed someone (the original character upon whom this version's "Samara" is based). Essentially, Sadako made people fall to the ground wearing an extremely silly expression (think "entertaining a very small child by pulling a face"). The effect on the audience was far from horrific - and in fact, there was no special effect at all. Verbinksi, however, uses some relatively subtle, and sometimes subliminal, high-speed, single-frame special effects to create 3 or 4 scenes which are genuinely pretty creepy for their sheer strangeness. The "Hollywood Casting Agency for Odd-Looking Children" has clearly been used in this film too, to good effect, as Samara herself is a decidely unpleasant little individual.

As horror movies go, this is one of the better ones. There's virtually none of the traditional gore, but a lot of somewhat unsettling imagery that you'll remember. Note the frequent use of "creepy" throughout here....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2007
This movie is purely and simply TERRIFYING!! It creates immediately from the first minutes an atmosphere of permanent bone freezing terror, like I didn't see since the 70s, when both "Omen" and "Alien" premiered.

Every scene in "The Ring" is just perfect, every early scene is a necessary introduction to the later shockers (so watch carefully - there is no dead times), and everything just clicks in the right place at the end, like a Swiss clock mechanism. I just couldn't believe the incredible quality of this major horror.

In fact even more than scared, I was so totally shocked by this movie, that I didn't dare watching it a second time. I also didn't need it - after just one viewing I still can remember almost all the scenes, and I am concerned that I will never be able to forget them, especially the one in which we finally understand, why the heck a movie about a VHS tape is called "The Ring". A great, incredible horror movie. Very clever, very dark, very surprising. Watch it if you dare - and if you dare, you will be rewarded by the highest quality nightmare of those last fifteen years or so!

I saw the original Japanese "Ringu" movie after this one and although I liked it, to my considerable surprise I found that American remake is a real improvement over the original. And that is one more reason to praise "The Ring" as an exceptionnally good film.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
'The Ring' is about a journalist who is trying to work out the mystery behind a videotape which kills people in 7 days after it is watched. This horror film is very popular and considered to be scary, but it was not as scary as I was expecting it to be though. The atmosphere and creepiness was great but I would have liked it to be more jumpy and tense. The music score, effects and acting by Naomi Watts were all excellent and the storyline is very creepy and did get under my skin at times (especially during the opening scene). The appearance of Samara (the girl with hair over her face)looked very believable and frightening with her appearances. Overall, if you are looking for a good creepy horror film, then watch this as you won't be disappointed and you will be left thinking about it long after the credits have rolled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
The Ring is one of those horror movies that keeps you at the edge of the seat with your heart pounding, while NOT being a horror film full of jump-scares, as is the norm these days. Sure, The Ring has several jump-scares, but these are usually done as tricks of cinematography (e.g. unexpected scene change, loud environmental noises that usually are not scary at all and an everyday thing etc.) than CGI monsters jumping in-your-face.

Most importantly though, The Ring is a film that actually has a story that keeps you intrigued till the end - the story is arguably the strongest part of this film, and that's saying something for a horror movie! Usually we don't care about stories in this genre, but this one definitely makes for a very enthralling one. The Ring also creates a very characterful antagonist that has even spawned off several video games, such as the F.E.A.R. trilogy revolving around Alma, whose character (and even looks) was obviously inspired by Samara. Overall, this film is worth watching. 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
OK, so this Hollywood remake of the original Ring (1998) [DVD] [2000] is not as scary, but Naomi Watts does a pretty impressive performance of being scared of out of her bejesus. Like the original, it's also well-scripted, good acting all-round, and genuinely creepy/disturbing. The remake is well-justified. While it may not terrify as much as the original Japanese version, it is a genuine worthwhile re-valuation of the original - especially because of the quality of the (beautifully) disturbing images/cinematography in the "killer video" sequence. In this remake, it remains just as sinister and freaky, and the horror evolves, gradually, unrelentingly, like the original, to a sense of terrible horror. Whether or not you've seen the original, this remains a horror movie that is highly ecommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2003
A television screen full of static hasn't been this frightening since 'Poltergeist'.
In brief (and without revealing anything crucial), a sceptical journalist hears of a videotape which causes anyone who watches it to die seven days later. Of course, she boldly investigates, finds the tape, watches it (in a most foolhardy fashion if you ask me...) and starts to wonder if perhaps the story is true. Because if it is, she has only seven days to get to the bottom of the mystery.
A truly atmospheric psychological thriller, where the horror element is supplied by a steadily growing sense of menace, rather than copious quantities of blood and gore. Creepy, seemingly random images get even more scary as the story unfolds and their significance is revealed.
I have deducted one star simply because there are some deleted scenes in the special features that should have been left in.
Watch it, but not on your own. And you might want to turn all your mirrors to the wall before it starts. Oh, and the day after watching it, don't do what I did and accidentally flip to an untuned channel on the video. I swear I left my seat.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)