Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2017
love this music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 November 2010
This is a hauntingly beautiful account of St John's Passion, quite otherworldly. Compared to other composers, Part refuses to cheapen the piece with any melodramatic fireworks, instead simply letting the text and music convey the magnitude of the Passion, so more closely aligned to earlier mediaeval polyphony. (Indeed Tonus Peregrinus recorded St Luke's Passion in this manner, also on Naxos).
Thus unadorned, this is music with Part's trademark ebb and flow of melody, with appropriate pauses, to let the music breathe.
As a result, the overall piece is the more powerful, and deeply moving, for this restraint. Exquisitely sung,the transcendent beauty of the waves of music have both a deep sadness, yet a healing tranquillity at their heart. This is music which reaches out beyond the boundaries of specific religion, offering redemption to all faithful listeners. An arresting and haunting composition.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I have been listening to Part's music for some time now, but this one had escaped me. I was stunned by this CD. It is unlike anything I've encountered in choral music. There is a commitment and gravitas in this music throughout, from start to finish (which is fitting given the subject matter of the music); it is music to be taken seriously, and it seems to point away from itself to God (or so it seems to me). I was listening to this whilst reading the gospel of John, and the music brought the words to life. I fully recommend this CD. It is very gentle music but has an awesome purity about it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2003
I was not familiar with Arvo Part's music before I heard this recording, but on the basis of this CD I am determined to hear not only more of his work, but also more of the artists, Tonus Peregrinus.
The music is indeed mininalist and ethereal, but imparts to the listener a sense of space, loss and desolation perfectly captured by Tonus Peregrinus' recording. The grand acoustics of the recording location compliment this well.
Listening to this piece makes all the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end, and I would recommend the recording to anyone who likes music to stir deep emotions within them.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
It is extrordinary how the passion according to St John can be the subject of such different music. Coming to Part from say Bach's take on this, one is astounded by the difference in musical language and yet they both communicate in their own way (if that is not stating the obvious re Bach) to a deeper understanding of the narrative. Part's account is, as you would expect, minimalist, but one is strangley moved by it despite the apparent monotony and subtle variations.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
... and the word dominates this outstanding performance.

You need to listen with the Latin text (and translation) in your hand - the subtleties of both the performance and the setting leap out at you if you do.

Giving the strong base voice to Jesus (a masterful performance here) rather than a tenor imbues the role with an authority rarely attained in other settings of the text; splitting the Evangelist into a quartet of voices gives a dynamism; collectivising the other 'characters' makes us all responsible for the events.

I am not a Christian - but this work moved me in a way only 'Bach' has managed to do before.

And at the price ... !
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
No idea how this compared with other recordings. Have only just discovered Part's music. Fabulous, haunting stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
lovely choral music..I'm not particularly religious, but if jesus was alive he'd sing along and love this..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Would recommend this as a great way of getting into Arvo Pärt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Best ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)