Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
22
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2003
Swimfan. All I'd read were bad reviews, but this film puts them all to rest. Bad reviews usually accompany remakes of old movies, especially when classics such as 'Fatal Attraction' are re-located to high school, as is the case here. But Swimfan, although being your average teen movie in terms of predicatability, is far classier than any adult reviewer would have you believe.
So, Ben Cronin (Jesse Bradford - Clockstoppers) is the star of the school swimming team, an all-round good guy, but with a shady past involving drugs and a spell at a correctional school. He is dating sweet as apple pie Amy (Erika Christensen). You know, she is the kind of girl that always hands homework in on time, she is never late and heaven forbid if she swore. But she knows how to have a good time. Their relationship is perfect, and with the regional swimming finals coming up, things can only get better if Ben wins his scholarship to California.
But, as in all teen movies, someone comes along to spoil it. Madison Bell (Shiri Appleby - TV's Roswell) is the new girl at school, and she becomes besotted with Ben, eventually seducing him in the swimming pool. She turns from friend to stalker to murderess. As time goes on, events start to get strange, and Ben gets the blame each time. Madison is loose and out to get her man. But at a price.
Swimfan is essentially a movie made for teens, it explores the nature of teen relationships in a very real way, and you find yourself empathising with the characters: the helpless Ben, the innocent Amy and the jilted Madison. Not the best teen movie out there, but certainly worth a try and a few repeat watchings.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 November 2014
'Swimfan' is on a slightly higher level than your standard teen horror fare, hence the four stars. Perhaps I'm being a bit generous here, and three stars would more appropriate, but I did enjoy and would be happy to watch it again.

The storyline is reminiscent of the movie 'Fatal Attraction', only this time, the 'stalker' is a crazed teenage girl. Our hero of the film, Ben (Jesse Bradford) is a reformed bad boy, who now has respect from various circles, a lovely girlfriend, works in a hospital, has a promising swimming career ahead of him, and every door appears to open up. However, the new girl in town, Madison Bell (Erika Christensen) develops an instant attraction to him, and after a one night stand, it becomes obvious that she wants a whole lot more from him than one-off sex.

The movie offers nothing new to the whole 'stalker' movie genre, and it is fairly straight-forward, predictable stuff. But the acting from the two leads is good, and 'Swimfan', despite a rather rushed-up ending, is a good teenage adaption of 'Fatal Attraction'.

The DVD includes lots of bonus features, including deleted scenes and interviews with the cast and crew.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2009
This is an OK stalker-thriller, but doesn't bring anything new to the genre. The acting is mediocre, and although it does a fairly good job of creating suspense, it really has all been done before.

Actress Erika Christensen does an okay job of portraying an obsessive, slightly dangerous high school girl. She's VERY pleasant to look at but the problem is, there is something about this actress that makes her character seem a little unbeleivable, and I'm not just talking about the mediocre acting. You can tell, both in her eyes and through interviews with her, that actress Erika Christensen is a "nice" good person, and this "niceness" shines through on screen to the point where she seems out of place in this role, and her "evilness" seems forced. Perhaps they should has used a different actress for the role of Madison.

And although no one talks about it much, this is a problem in Hollywood films, where they get "nice" actors to play "nasty" roles, which doesn't quite work (Tom Hanks in Road To Perdition, for example).

Also, the scene where Madison escapes from police custody is a little far fetched.

Anyway, if you're a fan of stalker-thrillers you'll definately get something out of this film. As mentioned in another review though, this is not the type of film you can watch over and over again.

P.S. Can someone tell me what the difference is between the 2002 and 2007 versions of this DVD? Is the 2007 version a "Special Edition" or something?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There's nothing terribly wrong this film. But there's nothing that spectacular about it either. It's not awful and the lead actor, Jesse Bradford, is solid - but nothing of note really happens in this film. It's the usual story of an obsessed admirer who turns the object of their affection's life into a living hell.

This film is bordering on 2 stars for me, but I can't really say I don't like it, so it's going to get 3 stars. No pun intended, I can't really call myself a huge 'fan' of this film - but there's worse out there. One to watch on TV... but only if nothing else is on. If this review was helpful to you at all, please give it the thumbs up. Thanks :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ben [Jesse Bradford] is the school swim king and the talent scouts are about to visit. Along comes new girl Madison [Erika Chrisrensen] and before he knows it, he’s cheated on his girl, Amy [Shiri Appleby] and can’t get Madison out of his head –or his life. From their very first meeting its clear there’s something not quite right with her and although the script is obvious [lose a star], it still manages to keep the attention.
This single disc 2002 film has the usual chapter selection and subtitles option as well as deleted scenes, girlfriends from hell, theatrical trailer, TV and radio spots and a commentary option. Of the ten deleted scenes, I think the film would have been better keeping the first one and the 9th , as for the rest of the extras they’re nothing special at all.
If you like the Poision Ivy type films or Wild Things series, then this Fatal Attraction style film set in a high school may be for you. Unlike those films though, the sex scenes are quite low key, its more the suggestive script -rather than the imagery, that seduces and terrifies. The three main actors play their parts well but the gold star has to go to Christensen who plays the psychotic Madison to perfection. Truly sinister.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are about 14, easily pleased and have never, ever seen a horror film; you might just find this watchable. For anyone else this really is inexcusable stuff. A stupid, ridiculous storyline, with Beverly Hills 90210 acting all wrapped up in a predictable, annoying, yawn inducing 90 minutes. Like, whatever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2006
This steady paced high-school thriller, strikes all the right chords to keep you glued to the screen. It is slightly predictable, but you don't really notice that until after you seen it. If your looking for a good high-school thriller you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Just a good, interesting movie, Jesse Bradford is something nice to look at. Plus I've loved Shiri Appleby since Roswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2007
A rather poor story. Two nice young people love each other. The boy is in the swimming team and the girl is happily going along in her life of work and school. Then a vulture arrives. She is blonde, she is cannibalistic, she is ready to kill to possess what she wants and she does not take no as an answer to her orders. Then the boy says yes under pressure and she will not accept his no later on and will kill everything she can lay her hands on : friends, girl friend, mother, and the list could go on forever. The boy, with the help of a couple of people, bait that vulture with the coat of one she had tried to kill, and she is tricked into revealing her real identity, and even so she is not finished and she takes advantage of an amateurish cop to commit a couple more crime. What do we get out of this melodramatic horror? A complete feeling of emptiness that gives you a taste of ashes in your mouth, the ashes of something that is dead somewhere. Crime is never mechanical. To kill someone requires some imagination. In this case it is nothing but a bad habit that no one can cut out of her.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine & University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Love this film. Madison was a scary women! Pshco creep! Was great when Ben got back with Amy :) now they can be happy
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)