Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2011
First of all, let me state that I am not a fan of Tom Jones. I am a fan of good voices, and good music. Both are present in abundance here.
After reading rave reviews of the "TOM JONES & JOOLS HOLLAND" CD, I took a chance, ordered it from Amazon, and have been listening to it repeatedly since. Please, give yourself a gift, buy that one also. This led me to order the "LIVE FROM CARDIFF CASTLE" DVD from Amazon ; the song titles forebode well. I was not disapointed. Another great gift to give yourself.
During the DVD, Mr. Jones explains that some, most, of the songs he is about to perform come from, a then recent CD, "RELOAD". The performances on the DVD are so great, I had to order the CD (yes from Amazon). Here is where I got a surprise : the songs on the CD have perceptively more punch than on the DVD. Usualy I find that shows on DVD give more of an edge to the songs, I guess the presence of the audience does this. In this case, the fact that the songs are recorded in duos with performers not normaly associated with him, gave Tom Jones the little extra energy needed to acheive the sublime.
The CD is a pure pleasure to listen to, from the first to the last song. More so with this european version that has remixes not available on the North-American one. So, give yourself a treat, purchase it (from Amazon of course).Tom Jones and Jools HollandTom Jones - Live At Cardiff Castle [DVD] [2002]
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
If you can get past the hair and the orange complexion, you will realise this is a masterpiece from the welsh wonder from the valleys. Even the Stereos and the Cerys know a legend when they see one. His gravelly voice and hip thrusting delivery appeals to all ages and his fans range from thong wearers to die hard fans more comfortable in .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
What a great album. I only wish that the great Sir Tom Jones were to do more of the same, I mean, more albums of collaborations, there are so many amazing singers and bands out there that I could easily see Sir Toms god given voice lend so well too!
But as for this cd? Just go buy it and turn up the volume!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2003
Reload is cut from a little bit different cloth than most other Tom Jones CD's I have heard. It offers a variety of music styles: Rock, R&B, Funk, Country and even a hint of Dean Martin in Baby it's Cold Outside. Each song performed with guest artists, an incredible pool of vocal and musical talent. I enjoyed every song on the CD. Different is not bad at all, especially in this case, different is fun and exciting and haunting and sexy. I'm hooked!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
This is a great album of top notch songs sung by Mr. Jones, with the added extra of the other vocalists/bands as well. Every song is a winner. This is a must for driving in the car on an open road.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2005
More cheesy than the cheese board at the annual general meeting of the cheese farmers held every year in Cheddar you still can't deny that this album is a "must have" for any half decent record collection.
Collaboration albums have been done before this offering from the legendary Tom Jones, but few I would guess have done it with such panache and flair. Taking in almost every possible musical style from the funky disco version of Talking Head's "Burning Down The House" with The Cardigans to the dramatic orchestralisation of "All Mine" with The Divine Comedy. From the big band sound of "Baby It's Cold Outside" with Cerys Matthews to the smouldering heat of the jazzy blues version of The Kinks' "Sunny Afternoon" with Space.
Jones more than holds his own with the vocal talents of other collaborators on this album, Mick Hucknell, Heather Small, Van Morrison and Chrissie Hynde all feature.
It really is the perfect summer bar-b-que music and has something for almost everyone. Personal favourite is the perfect window open driving song "I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone" with James Dean Bradfield of the Manic Street Preachers which is just a perfect mix of guitar led rock and singalong pop.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 August 2015
Brassy & Sassy Tom
This is Tom at his absolute best, forget all that” Why, Why, Why Delilah” stuff from the 60’s. This album is deliberately loud with literally lots of brass! Tom is dominating and taking centre stage – make no mistake about that. You have the feeling that this is what Tom has always wanted to do.
Tom has always had bags of soul, blues, funk rock & jazz in his veins - he just needed the right vehicle to transmit it. It is very interesting that Tom was happy to use his guests’ own studios and let their own producers oversee the finished article. How interesting that all of those different producers felt that Tom needed a loud, almost live sounding backing, with a driving drum beat and crashing symbols, stinging jazz guitar, with plenty of brass for a really jazzy, funky feel. They even used a lovely and impressive big band backing on “It’s Cold Outside.” Of course they all put Tom’s voice right out there up front.
There are a couple of tracks that I could take or leave but all the rest are just great.
‘Reload’ has put Tom back on top again and he’s bigger now than he’s ever been. He really should have done this years ago, as he’s so good at it.
This album was his first number one for 31 years, Delilah being the previous number one in 1968! ‘Reload’ has now sold 6 million copies worldwide! Long may it continue Thomas.
I recently rated Van Morrison’s new duets album, which I was very impressed with. This I feel is even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2000
Wow, the album's quite an experience. Whatever era he displays his talents in, he always keeps managing to turn on the magic and keep all listenors hanging onto those melodramatic tunes! He's the don of all time, long live Tom Jones!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2000
I was sceptical when I heard about this album. It seemed like Jones The Voice was trying to improve his credibility by performing with the current generation of music ( + Van Morrison ).
I always knew that Tom had a superb voice but he really shines against nearly all of his partners on this album. There are a few songs that I always skip ( Simply Red, Chrissie Hynde, Zucchero ) but the rest of them are damn fine pop/rock tracks.
My personal favourite is Sexbomb with Mousse T followed by the Phonics, Barenaked Ladies and Cerys Matthews ...
If you like pop/rock, forget your 'cred' and grab a copy. You'll probably like it !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2000
What can I say - he is the man. Live - absolutely amazing and just as good on CD. A variety of styles of music with a number of contemporary artists. The highlights for me are "I'm left, you're right..." with James Dean Bradfield of the Manics- what a combination of voices, "Mama told me not to come"- what could be better than Tom and The Stereophonics. I also luuuurve "Baby it's cold outside" - what a sexy song, sung by two of the sexiest voices that we have. If you like Rock, Pop, Jazz, whatever....Buy This!!!!, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)