Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
129
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2006
Somehow, this album captures all the buzz and excitement of a live gig with its simplicity and raw honesty, which is some feat considering it's a studio album! 'Whole Lotta Rosie' is worth the money alone for Angus's lead guitar work, but there's not a single track that you'd want to skip through.

If you only listen to one AC/DC album, it has to be this one...
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2006
I find it hard to believe that Back in Black & Highway to Hell seem to earn AC/DC more plaudits than Let There be Rock. I bought it recently and was more than a little surprised. Initially I wanted it solely for arguably AC/DC's greatest song, 'Whole Lotta Rosie'. I just wasn't prepared for how good the entire album is from start to finish. This is a rollercoaster ride of an album, that begins at the top and continues to gather speed until it's highlight, the aforementioned Whole Lotta Rosie. Fans of the band that haven't heard this MUST check this out. This puts Back in Black in the shade for me and is a far more "raw" rock & roll album than Highway to Hell. A stunning album!!!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
this is a great AC/DC album it shows them as the monsters of rock with such songs as "Go Down", "Let There Be Rock", "Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be" & "Whole Lotta Rosie" this is worth getting to hear them at there best as well as the "Highway To Hell" album, Let There Be Rock is a must get kinda album and i reconmend it to anyone whos a fan of rock & metal
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
I'm just updating my Acker/Dacker vinyl collection for ease of ripping to PC and had to get the best ever - Let There Be Rock. It just has that early raw sound that I've always loved and which they've lost since, though Black Ice is not bad at all. Didn't look at the track list on Amazon, thinking it would be a faithful copy, so bought it and eagerly anticipated its arrival. Put it on to rip and listen to just now and was waiting patiently for Crabsody in Blue, which I always loved on the original. Then the awful truth sank in... they'd replaced it with Problem Child! Not sure why, as that's on Dirty Deeds anyway and it's not a major issue, as for me, this is still the best AC/DC album. It would have been nice to hear the old, "Walking sideways, gives me the blues" again though and hence, four stars rather than five. Will have to get the vinyl out again. Bah! Incidentally, saw AC/DC as a kid on the Back In Black Tour in 1980 and always regretted missing Bon. Brian's fine, but he's just not as good for me and BIB was a bit of a let down after what had gone before. Oh well, each to their own. They're still the best rocking band out there.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
If ever a band produced 1 great album and never again came close to repeating that brilliance it was Ac/ Dc. Most people suggest Back In Black is their masterpiece but, for me, aside from that title track the band became a pop/ rock boogie band from that point until now. This on the other hand is full throttle, strangle your jugular fast and heavy rock 'n' roll. If you listen to the follow up 'Powerage' it is a very good album in it's own right but following Let There Be Rock it could never withstand comparison. Balls to the wall rockers like Whole Lotta' Rosie, Get Down and of course the title track epitomise the band as a monster that steamrollered all competition and sadly were never the same again.

So this album is 37 years old and many reviewers have gone into detail about the music so no point in me adding my quota. All i can suggest is, for those of you who enjoy the band's more popular and commercial material, i can only advise you give this a try. If you still prefer Flick Of The Switch, Fly On The Wall and the recent Black Ice and the like well good for you.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
What an excellent cd, its old but still fantastic, real raw rock music at its best. The only reason i havnt given it 5 stars is that im not keen on the opening track & also they changed an original song for another, but still a very good listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
The tracks on this cd are based on the American vinyl release of this album from 1977 they took off Crabsody In Blue and added Problem Child from their previous album Dirty Deeds because no other AC/DC album had been relased in the States yet. So if you buy this version of the album and buy Dirty Deeds you've got 2 versions of Problem Child. The way to avoid this is to buy the Australian import version of Let There Be Rock which has the orignal black & white cover based on the Australian original vinyl version of Let There Be Rock.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2004
Simply AC/DC's greatest album.Features 4 tracks that would become huge crowd pleasers- Let there be rock,whole lotta rosie,bad boy boogie and hell ain't a bad place to be.This album is the American released version so you get Problem Child instead of Crabsbody in Blue and an extended version of Go Down.
This is high voltage rock and roll with the amps on max and is the bands definitive studio performance.It is the album where the band would find their trademark sound,compare Problem Child (which was recorded 12 months earlier) with the rest of the album to hear what i mean.
If you love rock and roll,done uncompromisingly loud and raw, stunning guitar solos and songs about bad boys and even badder women,then rush out and buy this album now.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
This shows a vast difference to their first 2 international releases, or 3 Australian ones. It is tighter and contains a surplus of good songs. Yes it does reuse the excellent 'Problem Child' from Dirty Deeds and try to pass it off as its own but its no matter as it does fit and it is such a beauty.

'Go Down' is a great start. Not a classic but a good, beefy, filthy start, the riffs being that little bit meatier than of those past. 'Dog Eat Dog' is a typical catchy rocker that AC/DC can just do. The title track is by now immortal and it is a huge song. 'Bad Boy Boogie' is one of the also-rans of the album. It is a fine, rocking tune but it lacks a certain edge and quality that the others have. Then comes the aforementioned 'Problem Child' as a replacement for 'Crabsody in Blue' from the australian version. The excellent and almost bluesy 'Overdose' comes next. Slow and dirgey but has such power and such a riff that it becomes an almost classic. Then the actual classic 'Hell Aint A Bad PLace To Be' kicks in. It's good ;). Followed by ANOTHER belter 'A Whole Lotta Rosie'.

First true band classic and a monster of an album. Despite it's release date it still sounds fresh today, which is why these songs will exist for a very long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2005
Amongst the likes of great albums like 'Highway to Hell' and overrated albums like 'Back in Black', 'Let There Be Rock' is often over looked by many. This is such a shame as this is definately one of AC/DC's best studio performances.
I have heard this album described as 'bland' and can't understand why because it is such a fantastic album. More than any other album they did, this album concentrates on big guitar riffing and a really heavy rock sound.
The classic 'Whole Lotta Rosie' is just one example. 'Hell Aint a Bad Place To Be' and 'Go Down' also stand out for being great catchy rock songs. But my favourite on the album has to be the epic title track. This song is an absolute monster - a loud opening but more quiet in the verses with only the bass and drums behind the vocals. Then comes the line 'Let there be rock!' and Young bursts into a flurry of solos - brilliant.
Even the other songs that arent quite as impressive still rock very hard and there isn't a bad track on the album.
A good fun album that any fan of AC/DC or rock in general will love.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)