Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
74
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Essential Ozzy Osbourne
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 October 2017
Excellent compilation of the best of the Ozz man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Brilliant Ozzy album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
love this cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Excellent Ozzy collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
Though he is infamous world-wide, and though he has sold millions of albums, Ozzy Osbourne's music is often overlooked for the worthy talent that is there. Only those who actually bother to listen to his music realise that he is a true artist, and not just famous for having sung in 'Black Sabbath'. This is a very interesting album. It is just about the best rock music that is available. Ozzy Osbourne, in my opinion, had one of the most unique voices in the history of rock 'n roll, and this album clearly proves that. All of his musicians were also excellent, especially the late Randy Rhoads. The album comes in two discs. There are a nice variety of songs on both.

The first disc opens the show with 'Crazy Train', a fan favourite and perhaps his most popular. Then there are 8 other songs that he did with Randy Rhoads. Rhoads and Ozzy feature live twice on this album, with 'I Don't Know' (featuring some of the best guitar playing I have ever heard) and 'Paranoid' (which is the best performance of this song around). These two tracks will blow you away. 'Goodbye to Romance' is a more gentle song. 'Suicide Solution' is in the AC/DC genre of rock and 'Mr. Crowley' is a creepy one, but a fantastic record. After Randy Rhoad's death, Ozzy continued to release some very good quality music. He had a spell with a few different artists. 'So Tired' is a beautifully sung record and 'Crazy Babies' is a funky sort of tune, almost in the style of Freddie Mercury! Overall, Disc 1 does not disappoint.

Disc 2 contains a different sort of music. The sound is more 'crunchy' or thick and obviously this is because of the arrival of the legendary Zakk Wylde. 'No More Tears' is superbly put together and the awesome 'Mama I'm Coming Home' is the delight of the whole of Ozzy's career. 'Dreamer' is on here also, where Ozzy expresses his desire for human peace and union. The beginning of the second album starts pretty darn well, but there are a couple of less than memorable songs: 'Breaking All the Rules', 'I Just Want You' and 'Perry Mason'. The others are good numbers, such as 'Time After Time' and 'See You On the Other Side'. One of the best is 'No Easy Way Out', which finishes the entire album. Both discs are a different style of music. Disc one is more 80s, disc two more crunchy 90s. But both complement each other well. I do wonder however why 'Shot In the Dark' never made it onto this fine collection. I think that's one of Ozzy's best moments - a superb record and well worth an individual purchase. Many believe this to be Ozzy's greatest song. If that were on this album, I'd have to give it 5 stars.

The album was well received by critics and deservedly so. It has sold really well and there's almost something for everyone this, which comes as a surprise. Ozzy, in other words, ends up appealing to all sorts of people. I like the heavier ones, like 'Desire' and 'I Don't Know'; my mum likes 'So Tired' and 'Dreamer'; my sister likes 'Mama I'm Coming Home' and 'Mr. Crowley' and my dad likes 'Paranoid'.

8/10
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 April 2010
Whilst it is well worth while checking out his solo albums (particularly 'No More Tears' and 'Ozzmosis'), this excellent two disc compilation of Prince of Darkness Ozzy Osbourne in Sony's 'Essential' series a very good introduction for someone who doesn't already own one of those.

'The Essential Ozzy Osbourne' gathers 30 of his best known rock tracks (including a few extras) such as established classics like 'Mama I'm Coming Home', to the more recent standard 'Dreamer'. Be warned, the songs featured from his first two albums are the re-recorded versions from the 'Blizzard of Ozz' and 'Diary of a Madman' reissues. Where there might be disappointment that due to legal issues there are no songs from 'The Ultimate Sin' album, fans of live music especially will be satisfied with tracks such as 'Paranoid', 'I Don't Wanna Change The World', and 'I Don't Know', electric recordings which demonstrate what a great live performer the Prince of Darkness is.

If you want to purchase a set with most of Ozzy Osbourne's hits and fan favourites all in the one little package, 'The Essential Ozzy Osbourne' is a good option. The booklet contains some decent pictures, as well as a brief biography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2003
I loved this CD the moment I read the track listing in my local music shop. When I went home and played it I couldn't describe how amazed I felt.
This album has a lot of classic tunes on it, and for the long term fans (like me!) who have all the tunes anyway, it means you don't have to constantly change the CD you're listening to at the time if you suddenly feel like 'Fire in the sky' and you have 'Thunder Underground' playing. The live tracks with Randy are fantastic (as always) and, am I crazy, or were some songs on there slightly different to album versions?
Ideal for people who are just discovering The Ozzman's talent, and are a little threatened by the choice out there.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2003
So there was I, standing in the local music store a couple of weeks ago and thinking "my collection is sadly lacking in Ozzy material". After reviewing the numerous CDs on display, it quickly became apparent that, not being and ardent fan, I didn't really have a clue which of his albums was 'the one' to go for. "Wouldn't it be great if he produced a 'Greatest Hits'" I thought and resigned to 'leave it for now'.
Well, they say 'great minds think alike' (Sharon O had obviously been monitoring my mind waves), and low and behold, what greeted me upon visiting this site... a 2 CD compilation of The Dark One's finest, no less.
So what's it like? Well, it's certainly everything I'd hoped for. Ozzy's unique voice and delivery goes without saying, but the guitar work of Messrs Rhoads (RIP) and Wylde in particular ranges from the sublime to the totally unbelievable! These guys must have had twelve fingers or something...
The inevitable 'Paranoid' makes an appearance, but not the (dare I say) 'overplayed' Sabbath studio version that appears on those dire 'Best Rock' compilations, but a truly electrifying live version featuring the late Randy Rhoads. Furthermore, all the classic Ozzy stuff's here, including 'Crazy Train', 'Bark At The Moon', 'No More Tears' through to more recent material like 'Gets Me Through'.
Don't buy just because you've seen an episode or two of 'The Osbournes' on MTV; do buy if you want to hear (or maybe relive) some of the finest heavy rock musicianship of the last thirty years.
11 Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)