Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
52
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2014
I give this 1 star to draw attention to the review - I would definitely give this 5 stars normally for quality of sound and content but be warned that it is produced in Germany and is copy protected which will mean you can play it with no problems on any machine other than you PC with Windows 7 or later. I could not understand at first why it played so well in the car but not on my PC. Did some research and apparently Warner label does not use something called the Redbook system and on anything produced in Europe they put this copy protect code on the disk which makes it hiss and sound distorted like your speakers have blown. There is no way around it, even using another player because it recognises that is has recording capabilities.

As I have (typically) only the PC as a Hi-Fi in my home it is no good to me unless I want to sit in the car or buy a Hi-Fi to listen. If you have that and do not want to listen to it on your PC - Great Purchase and great value. I would have liked to exchange it for another without copy protected (EU) but Amazon will only exchange like for like.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
fast - good value, great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
As I remember it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
the audio cd was received, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
I really love this Zep compilation album. I totally disagree with the reviewer before me who said the song choice was crap. With classics like Kashmir, Houses of the Holy, Whole Lotta Love, Stairway to Heaven and my personal favourites - All of My Love and Ten Years Gone, the reviewer possibly got confused with another band!!?? Considering that a compilation album can only have a certain number of songs, I think they chose a good selection. Highly recommended!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 May 2003
This is a masterly introduction to the Led Zeppelin legacy. If you don’t own any albums by them then this will serve as an excellent taster. It’s not the definitive Zep collection, that distinction belongs to the mighty Remasters, but if your budget is limited then this is well worth getting as it contains all the classic Led Zep tracks plus a number of lesser-known tracks guaranteed to have you buying up (most of) the back catalogue as soon as possible.
So what do you get in addition to Stairway To Heaven? Well from the early days, we get 4 tracks from Led Zep 1 for starters, including the incendiary primal blues rock of ‘Babe I’m Gonna Leave You’ and ‘Dazed And Confused’. Led Zep 2 is strangely under-represented, the obligatory ‘Whole Lotta Love’ (classic Top Of The Pops theme, pop-pickers) is joined only by ‘What Is And What Should Never Be’. Similarly, Led Zep 3 also only gets two tracks (although given its lack of popularity compared to the albums released either side of it this is less surprising). This is my only gripe with the album really – surely the likes of ‘Heartbreaker’ and ‘Bring It On Home’ (from ‘2’) and ‘Gallows Pole’ and ‘That’s The Way’ (from ‘3) could have been squeezed on there (particularly as Led Zep 4, or whatever you want to call it, has 5 of its 8 tracks on display).
The Latter Days features a good selection of tracks, too. I was particularly pleased to see ‘No Quarter’ from the ‘Houses Of The Holy’ album as well as ‘Trampled Underfoot’ from ‘Physical Graffiti’ for which this album served to remind just how good that particular track is. Later epics such as ‘Kashmir’, ‘Achilles Last Stand’ and ‘In The Evening’ show how much the band developed musically throughout the 70s and are arguably the best tracks from ‘Physical Graffiti’, ‘Presence’ and ‘In Through The Out Door’ respectively.
There isn’t much to dislike really. Every track is great despite my earlier arguments for other tracks to be included. With a back catalogue so strong there are always going to be one or two of everyone’s favourites not featured. This is a great collection of the very best of Led Zeppelin. If you want to know what the fuss was about, get it now.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Early Days & Latter Days' is a pretty fine introduction to one of the all time greats, though it's not that different to 1990s double-set 'Best of' that accompanied the great 4-disc box-set (which is an even better introduction to the band!). This compilation takes in most of Zep's back catalogue- though nothing from the BBC Sessions double-set, nought from the bloated Song Remains the Same live collection (a good thing), nothing from so-so outtakes album 'Coda' (I'd have liked to have seen 'Ozone Baby' included) & sadly no 'Travelling Riverside Blues' or 'Hey Hey What Can I Do' - which popped up on the boxset (otherwise unavailable elsewhere).
We get four tracks from 69's debut album: the brief joys of 'Good Times Bad Times ' & 'Communication Breakdown'- that latter having a primal spirit more akin to harsh punk than the hippy era. The cover of Joan Baez's 'Babe I'm Gonna Leave You' is inspired, taking in the acoustic part of Led Zep that people tend to overlook (it's all hammers & snappers & satan. Yawn...)Nice to hear a relatively short 'Dazed & Confused'- which doesn't go on for half a decade like it does on 'The Song Remains the Same'...Their second album was recorded 'on the hoof' & remains one of the classic rock albums, the Zep just up for it, bigtime. Surprisingly we get just two tracks from an album that should be owned by everyone- the overfamiliar 'Whole Lotta Love' (don't mean it's not great- see my comments on LZ4 material)& one of my fave's: 'What is & What Should Never Be'. Don't know how they could have passed over the joys of Thank You, Ramble On & Bring it on Home though...I think their third album is another great release, though its largely acoustic joys are passed over for the huge Immigrant Song & the epic blues of Since I've Been Loving You. With songs like Tangerine and That's The Way being featured in 'Almost Famous' it feels like another missed chance for people to dig an album that isn't as revered as the one's that preceded and followed it...The untitled fourth album is perhaps over-represented & over-familiar- not that the songs are bad, I just can't take this release like I can't take 'Dark Side of the Moon' or 'Sgt Pepper'. 'Battle of the Evermore' is too Lord of the Rings & 'Stairway to Heaven' I'm allergic to (even though it could hardly not be included). Of the tracks here I can only take 'When the Levee Breaks'- whose drumbeat would influence hip-hop & be sampled en masse (see Chapterhouse's Pearl, Beastie Boys 'Licence to Ill' or the early material from Eric B&Rakim).
Disc 2 opens with two tracks from 73's 'Houses of the Holy'- opener 'The Song Remains the Same' & a surprise choice: the epic 'No Quarter' that sees John Paul Jones offer some great keyboards. Odd that 'The Ocean' is passed over- put it down to space...The collection takes four-tracks from my fave Zep album, 75's double-set 'Physical Graffitti': the belated title track to the previous album, the epic eastern soundtrack of 'Kashmir' , the Doors-y 'Trampled Underfoot' & one of Page's best guitar performances: 'Ten Years Gone'. Fantastic...But something had to give & Plant's car crash was the major event that pushed them into alien territory. Here we have the downbeat 'Whole Lotta Love'-style blues of 'Nobody's Fault But Mine' & the huge opening track from 'Presence': 'Achilles Last Stand'- which is huge & infinite stuff. Again, pity more of this album can't be heard- 'For Your Life' having a divine guitar sound & 'Candy Store Rock' being a more laidback Led Zep (the "Oh Baby/Baby" refrain being very Britney Spears!)...The final, somewhat dissappointing 'In Through the Out Door' album is represented by the two best songs: the touching 'All My Love' (written for Plant's son Karac, who had died of a viral infection & containing John Paul Jones best keyboard performance) & the huge 'In the Evening' - which I feel has more in common with The Cure's 'Disintergration' album (The Cure's Porl Thompson has since played with Plant).
'Early Days & Latter Days' is a fine introduction to one of the greatest bands of all time- having said that I don't think it's definitive & it misses off many great songs. Led Zeppelin aren't a band you can deny & here you can hear their trademark soundscape & Plant's much imitated/never bettered vocals. Every home should have some...
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
Absolutely brilliant, may not be an ultimate best of selection but hey, its enough to get you started.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
I think this is an absolute cracker. You are never going to get a perfect "Best Of" because no two people will ever agree on the song list...............and why should they? What a boring or limited band Led Zep would be if everybody picked the same list.

Such is the musical variety within the different types of music that Zep can put out, there has to be a compromise. You can't really complain about what is on offer here.

"Communication Breakdown", "What Is And What Should Never Be", "Since I've Been Loving You" & "Rock & Roll" and that's just a sample of the first disc. I haven't even started with disc 2 and "Kashmir" etc.

Zep were/are a terrific band, with quality musicians and songwriters within. I personally love the Zep II & III period, but that's just being picky. This is a great selection but remember it is only part of an even greater catalogue.

With some artists, a greatest hits is all you really need to have of them. Not so with Zep, they have far too much more to offer on other CDs. Get this to complete your collection or to serve as an introduction. Either way, a gem of a purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Bought this as a Christmas present for a young rocker. Great CD as it captures Led Zepplin at their best. Well worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)