Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 October 2004
Van Wilder is one of the funniest teen movies out there, a total must see for lovers of Road Trip, and all the American Pie's. If you liked them, you'll love this, it's so funny!!!!!
Amazing one-liners give the most amusing quotes! The dog is amazing, as is Taj, one of the funniest guys ever! I cannot emphasise how funny this movie is, you just have to watch it! Parental units are very unlikely to find this funny by the way, they think it's immature, so keep it for us teenagers!!! ENJOY!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2015
Ok frat movie, however does have some extremely funny moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2006
I bought this film for my 16 year old daughter who fell in love with Ryan Reynolds after seeing him in Blade Trinity. (A mighty Phwooooar could also be heard from me!) I have got to say that this film hasn't left the dvd player since it arrived home!
I am slightly offended by another reviewers comments that parents will all find this film too immature. Not all us mums and dads are old farts! I have watched this over and over again, and have even sneaked it out of my daughters dvd player late at night and watched it downstairs on my own, all the while smothering my face with a cushion to muffle my laughter!
The whole film screams of pure comedy genius. Everything about it is just hilarious, including 'that' cake scene! The one liners are heard daily in my house and now also at my daughter's school.
If you enjoyed the American Pies, Road Trip and Say It Isn't So, multiply your enjoyment by about 100% and that's roughly the amount you'll get out of this!
Write That Down!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2003
the film stars one of the funniest guys arround!! with fun filled and action paked laugh a minute jokes this film is a must have deffinatley one of my favs!! i would recommend it to any one without a doubt!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2009
College student and party enthusiast Van Wilder (Reynolds) is put in his place by an unavailable up and coming reporter (Reid)

There have been many attempts at conveying the real life portrayal of school life in cinema over the last 10 years. From the largely successful crude American Pie to the down right tough nut drama Kidulthood there are many versions of how college life is seen. To generalise, most American films centre on the comedy genre when tackling these stories whilst British cinema aims to portray realism, and at the end of the day everything is exaggerated, but is marvellously funny and entertaining nonetheless, and the same goes for this almost American Pie riff.

Ryan Reynolds is the main reason to watch as with all his previous roles he brings that contained side of cheekiness to his character and executes his comic timing to perfection with some well spoken phrases and equally amusing physical attributes. Though his comedy isn't on the brilliance of Just friends, he generates a feeling of coolness and gets the laughs that this genre always needs

As these are films about aging students, there are always repetitive ideologies encoded for the preferred reading. So we have sex, parties, losing virginity and "complicated" relationships. If you thought American Pie was crude, wait till this hits your screen. There is one particular moment that is irrevocable. Lets just say a dog and a spatula get a less than pleasant introduction, not to mention Wilder's sacrifice to get a form to carry on learning. It is definitely crude with that sense of physical comedy that we teens apparently love so much.

As there is plenty of comedy there is still enough room to match the cheesy conventional plot that follows the rule book practically word for word. Well, to be fair the plot is springy because of the comedy input, but once more in this genre does a guy have to like the one girl he can't have and it's only going to end up one way. If this was tweaked a bit to add some surprise and energy we may have had a different feeling come the credits and feeling rewarded for the film's diversity, but once more we pay money to see the same concept repeated except with some fresh faces.

Apart from the weighing down involvement of the conventional romance ideology, this is a very enjoyable picture. The characters, all pretty much stereotypes, bring their own spice to the plot, especially the teacher and Wilder's assistant Taj. We have the geeks, the jocks, the scientists, the swingers and so forth. All familiar and therefore its easy to transfer into entertainment. There is no silly character development and we are left with simply the person onscreen with their own agenda.

Van Wilder is a simple crude story wrapped with a wonderful central performance by Reynolds. Where this 2001 picture won't give fans the same satisfaction and buoyancy as American Pie or Euro trip, there is enough crude comedy to reward the target youthful audience for their money.

7/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2014
Itt was okay , not as good as expected
Toilet humour.
Will watch again and see if it's better
The other films under lampoons were slow
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
Great item, all as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2015
This product was great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
Very Happy Customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2003
For all the other 2 Guys And a Girl fans that were upset when they cancelled the show upon the whole pregnancy climax, this film is a nice little fix. Ryan Renoylds pulls of the character of Van exellently, with lots of charisma and charm, still hangsing onto Berg's wit aswell for the film.
Tara Reid manages to pulls of the struggling blonde reporter after a story on our main character, and the chemistry is there between them.
Overall if you liked Road Trip and American Pie this one is for you, if however you prefer more complex comedies then you may want to stay clear of this one.
grab your mate and a takeaway and have a party with this one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse