Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.30+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2004
Season 3 saw many big changes for Angel: the focus of his love changed from Buffy to Cordelia and he got a son - Connor - from his old flame Darla. But I think that one of the best things about this season is the fact that Angel isn't the only one with an important character arc.
Cordelia continues her journey to sainthood by being brave with the visions and incredibly supportive (for the most part) of Angel in his times of need, but this is really Wesley's season. Poor Wes spends a large part of this season trying to figure out the links between an ancient prophesy and Angel. This leads him to kidnap Connor away from Angel with disastrous consequences for all concerned. By the end of the Season, Wes is utterly alienated from his friends, is quite literally sleeping with the enemy and is in an altogether much darker place than he was at the season opener. Alexis Denisof does a wonderful job.
Overall an excellent season with good stories/arcs and strong performances from the leads.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
The title sums up my feelings towards a lot of this season, although standout episodes such as 'lullaby', 'sleep tight' and benediction showcased this season dramatic high points, the rest felt slightly limp and the writing felt a lot weaker than the very brilliant second season. The Cliffhanger did however set up season 4 very well, but I was still left a bit disappointed. This season is worth purchasing if you want to understand the series as a whole, but not if you are looking to try out the series for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2008
The brew is perfected here, the balance between melodrama and humour is perfect. At first I thought Holtz was a lame idea for a villain, what can a 19th century human really do to angel? was my line of thinking. How wrong I was, because he is no physical match for angel it is his cleverness and sheer determination than evens the odds a little. Also he isn't evil, not really he see's himself as the hero not a villain. There is much to recommend this series it truly is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2003
Yes, Angel IS better than Buffy, and this season (3) just goes to prove that when you concentrate on storyline and character development both of which are dealt with as serious subjects, but then allow for it all to be tinged with a thread of dark humour, then Angel surpasses Buffy and her 'monster of the week' easily. It really doesn't get any better than this; with actual character development (Wesley's is a revelation and so is Cordelia's) and a storyline (no spoilers here) that weaves in and out of the entire season, twisting and turning through several 'red herrings' until the truth is finally revealed in a season finalé that leaves you hanging and desperately wanting more.
The quality of the acting on display here is probably the best on TV at the moment; Alexis Denisof, Julie Benz and Stephanie Romanov in particular bring new depths of emotion and reason to thier respective characters, grounding them in reality and making them truly believable. Newcomer Amy Acker deserves a special mention for her portrayal of Fred. She brings a new light to her character, which is the type of character that could have easily become clichéd and one dimensional.
Overall, this is probably the best season of Angel yet. The writers have finally broken away from the confines of the 'Buffy-verse' and given us a series that is truly original and will be the standard against which future seasons of Angel will be compared.
Simply outstanding.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
I've watched every season of Angel including the fourth one but this is my favourite of the lot. The story is great, Holtz is a great addition and really does sound sinister, his quest for redemption is believable and you do have sympathy. The Conner story is emotional and brings out some great acting from David Boreanaz. Cordelia, Fred and Gunn all have depth added to their characters but the best transformation is Wesley. He is nothing like the geeky loser he was in Buffy. Here Angel really sets itself apart from Buffy and now has its own following. As usual the lines between good and evil in this season are blurred. Its not always clear who is right and who is wrong. Highlights include Waiting in the Wings, Lullaby and Sleep Tight. Not only this but the season ends in real dramatic fashion. A must buy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2003
I have to say from the word go. This show seems to get consistantly stonger each season. I really enjoyed season three, there was some great character development for the Angel Investigation crew. As well as I nice surprise for Angel. Though "Waiting In The Wings" is not one of my personal favourate episodes of the season. It's still a well written one, and the DVD deleted scean from it is...so funny. As far as extra's goes as with the Buffy DVD's they improve with each new season released. We finally get some 'outtakes', which are REALLY quite funny. The only thing I wish is they lasted longer. I'm very eager to see the release of season 4 on DVD, even though it's not expected as I understand till May 2004!!! Oh well season 5 will start in January on sky one, so that will do till then.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2003
Does the genius of Joss Whedon know no bounds? I vaciliate between thinking that the plot and darkness of 'Angel' edges it over the humour and arc of 'Buffy' and then a great episode of 'Buffy' comes along and I change my mind again!
Whatever your thinking there is no doubt that this is the series when 'Angel' finally established itself as a series in it's own right and not just a 'Buffy' spin off.
New character, Fred, adds to the slowly growing ensemble cast but it is Lorne who really takes the show onto the next level of characterisation. His jibes and add-libs are just so cruel and sharp that I wince with pain a nanosecond before I laugh!
Fred's main thrust was to darken the relationship between her, Gunn and Wesley in a tried and tested love triangle that saw the former watcher 'go dark' and end up in the arms of Wolfram and Hart!!!! Possibly the most shocking plot twist of the show so far.
Of course, the real plot was the arrival, disappearance and arrival again of 'Angel's' son, Connor. Devotees and purists could moan about Joss Whedon's tinkering with the whole vampire mythos but he has done this with both his shows since the word go when it has suited him. This time it was the first ever vampire birth! His skill as a writer make all his u turns and inventions believeable.
This is a great 6 disc package. Lots of extras and commentarys, and things like Amy Acker's (Fred) original screen test for the part. Well worth the current £60 price that these good people at Amazon are asking for it.
Dark, funny, painful - please never change!! (Even after the apocalypse!)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2006
Last time we left the Angel Investigations team they were back in the Hyperion Hotel after trouble in Pylea and rescuing Winifred ("Fred") Burkle, only to hear of Buffy's death.

Despite that, the group appears to hav bonded into a strong family, each looking out for each whilst getting Fred (Played by Amy Acker) to fit in to what goes on as a sort of rehab. And for a little while we are in the usual Angel Inc stuff, they find trouble and they deal with it. However that changes when Darla returns...and she is pregnant with Angel's child. The impossible birth yeilds many great troubles for the team, and is not helped by a demon called Sahjahn who brings back Holtz, an old foe of Angelus, intent to destroy Angel and Darla.

The characters this season go through many dramatic changes, and is done in a convincing manner, particularly Wesley, who makes difficult choices and you are not sure whether to support him or not, not because its presented in a dodgy manner (It isn't), but becasue it is a genuine debate in morality. Nonetheless, the cast goes well together and fit into their roles extremely well.

The action and horror is great too, and sticks with the classic tradition of a Joss Whedon show, including the over-the-top punching sound effects!

So buy and watch with the rest of the series, and enjoy! :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2003
I have to say this DVD edition of Angel is a must for all Buffy/Angel fans.
I did not know there were outtakes included in this box set, they are sooooooo funny. David and his famous "Jesus Christ" while laughing is hilarious. Also the screen tests were very interesting, you can see why they were hired. That's what I really like about the Buffy/Angel DVD’s; you can take a look behind the scenes and see how the shows come together.
Also season three is the best season yet. I've not seen season four as I live in the UK and don't have Sky. But out of one, two and three. Three has to be the best. Wesley’s betrayal and Connors birth/Darla's death again! What more can I say it's a must for any fan of the show.
Also I have to say thank you to Amazon.co.uk for a speedy and efficient services. I pre-ordered this with the free delivery option and it was with me on the day of release 3rd March...way to go...keep it up!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Arrived on time and is a very nice looking sturdy cardboard binder with DVD pockets kept in another sturdy cardboard box. The episode titles and a blurb are on pages at the front part of the binder so very handy to remind you of what the episode is about. 6 discs with extras too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse