Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2003
Aphex Twin is one of the worlds strangest music artists. His music can switch from massive walls of sound to sublime angelic sounds, this albumn is no exception.
Comprised of various remixes Aphex has made over the the years since he first came to light this albumn is excellent. Although sometimes it does sometimes slip into comlete and utter maddness that is the beauty of his stlye of music. You can get a rush without any drugs being involved! You don't believe me well buy it and see.
To sum up this is the music of nightmares and dreams and if you have never heard Aphex Twin before a perfect introduction.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
Once again into the world of RDJ. From the earily beautiful and familiar Curve remix into the pure aphexicity of the Mescalinum harshness via a Faboo cocktail of reflex sounds venturing into a whole world of music, inlcuding a journey into a deconstruction of Philip Glasses Heroes by Bowie. A depth of sound and definitely 26 mixes worth the cash. Ultimately satisfying, more so personally than say Druqks, and definitely one for repeated listening... A pleasure
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2003
Sheer deviant genius. This isn't remixing, this is a musical Frankenstein - the original music's dismantled, reassembled, restructured, often completely and utterly transfigure, to the point where it tends to owe far more to Richard James than to its nominal writers. A superb compilation - astounding, beautiful and compelling.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Well what can I say. Any fan of Aphex Twin will know what to expect, and will love this album. I am not familiar with many of the tracks which have been remixed, but I am almost willing to bet that they have been improved. Fantastic album, and this version is particularly nice, as it is a cardboard sleeve rather than one of the standard plastic boxes. A must buy for any fan of the Twin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
This is an, uhm, amazing album, put simply.
Well where do i start? with not a single bad track in sight, this album is pure beauty. it has been nicely divided into two cd's with the first containing more ambient and vocal orientated tracks, and the second focussing on more drill & bass, acid house stuff. this works really well, although the 'twin has proved with drukqs that blending contrasting styles can also work to great effect.
The work on here has all (bar 2 tracks i think) been released at some point in the last decade or so, but it has been so hard to track them down, only the most hardcore of fans will have heard them :-/
Standout tracks are the Heros remix, with david bowie screaming over dischordant classical strings, and also the remix of DMX Crew's You Cant Hide Your Love, and the Big Drum Mix of Gavin Bryers Raising The Titanic.
If, as the rumors suggest, this is his last album released on Warp Records, then this is a fantastic way to go out in style.
cracking stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
AFX's latest release works well not just as a series of individual mixes but as cohesive album in itself. The first disc is very much like "I Care Because You Do" and shows the same attention to detail and cleverly constructed melodic rhythms.
The second disc appears to contain the more dancefloor oriented tracks, highlights for me including the condensed, stripped-down funk of the Windowlicker acid mix and the Baby Ford "Normal" mix, full of innovation that's been immitated a lot recently but never bettered. The SAW2 track 2 original mix is also excellent, quality techno. In actually fact there wasn't a track on the album that I thought "hmm, this lets it down a bit".
I can't really comment on how these tracks relate to the originals, since I only really know the DMX krew track, the Remix by AFX track (808 state Flow Coma) and a few others. That's not the point though I think; AFX was always going to do his own thing and what we have here essentially is 26 excellent AFX tunes.
Relaxing and interesting, thoughtful and with a sense of humour evident in his other work, I think this stands up well to the rest of the Aphex Twin catalogue. I've seen other reviews suggesting this is nothing more than what the name suggests, but it's not true. In my opinion, although Drukqs was going to be hard to follow, this is Aphex at his best, again. If you're a fan of electronic music you'll enjoy this album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2003
A bit of a relief after the moody Drukqs, this aptly-named album is a collection of old and some unreleased remixes. Aphex Twin always gives the impression of knocking out remixes in his sleep, so it's not surprising that this collection is a bit hit-and-miss. However, when he's good (like the unsettling mix of Bowie's Heroes), he is very, very good...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As previous reviewers have noted, this is not the best place for the uninitiated Aphex Twin listener to begin the journey. As a starter I would recommend the Chosen Lords or Selected Ambient Works 85-92 CD's, they show the depth of this talented musician.

26 Mixes for cash is interesting as it shows how Aphex can take massively diverse source materials and somehow make it his own. The signature sounds are all present and correct, his often off-kilter mapping is simplified by the straightforward layout of the original tunes. This is a bit marmite for Aphex fans and something that will polarise the listener. I for one didn't mind, sometimes his works can be very challenging and as far as I am concerned, it is okay to kick back and listen to something undemanding every now and then.

A worthy addition to Aphex's oeuvre that should be purchased by any abiding fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2003
You've got to love ol' Richie boy's disregard for other people's "art." The title of the album says it all, he done it for the money, not because of a genuine love of Nine Inch Nails, and the more money involved, the less he pays attention to the track he's actually meant to be remixing. Thus, the two NIN remixes are really new, damn good, Aphex tracks. When there is little money involved, i.e when remixing label mates such as The Gentle People and DMX Krew, he stays more true to the original, but the results are still equally as thrilling, especially the absolutely beautiful former. There are some duffers, though. The disjointed orchestral sound of "Heroes" really doesn't work, especially as Bowie's vocal doesn't seem to fit it at all. Turns out James only had four hours to do it, though, so he can be excused. He also takes a hand at remixing himself, but his acid mix of Windowlicker really can't live up to the original. It also suffers from having to follow stand-out track, Remix By AFX's throttling beats and skitterish keyboard noises. All in all, even though it's all been released before, it's stil better than most electronic albums you'll hear this year. The last laughs on us, though, because isn't this, in itself, just a hastilly cobbled together release for cash?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2003
After the lukewarm return the critics gave him after the 2 CD set Drukqs, Aphex is back again but this time to show off his remixing skills. Or should the word " remix " be mentioned when mentioning Richard D James. In this case it's more " reworking " than " remix " but it's still the same old Aphex.
The tracks here are all stunning in their own individual right because you can't really complain about them. And while he may not be the flavour of critical cognoscenti anymore it's fair to say that this album will satisfy you regardless of what people say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£17.57
£8.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)