Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
72
3.8 out of 5 stars
James Bond: Agent Under Fire Platinum
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£26.01+ £2.03 shipping


on 3 December 2001
When I first put this on my initial thoughts were that the missions were too short grahpics were good but, it was just an average shoot em up.
I was wrong, after playing on I soon became envolved in the plot whilst at the same time I took emence pleasure in shooting down the bad guys.
This game is all about action and entertainment, just like the films. throughout the missions, if your observant enough you'll notice different ways of approaching missions, either by stealth or the rather more bashfull approach.
There are also driving missions, I won't spoil the surprise by describing them, all I will say you won't be dissapointed. The car handling isn't exactly World Rally Champ style, but it suits this game perfectly, fast, smooth, and packed with fire power.
Graphics are excellent, the frame rate is smooth and very quick (as we should expect on a PS2).
The longer you play the more challenging each mission becomes.
One down point is that the single player mode only allows you to play missions (unless there is a game mode I haven't unlocked yet)
the multi play is good, but it is restricted to a minimum two human players, you can't play the computer.
Which is good if all your mates love games, but mine don't so I was a little dissapointed.
The replay value is quite low, once all missions are completed your not left with much. You just go through the game again with your various power ups earn't from the first trip through
Over all this is a good entertaining game that has been well put together. I'd rent before you buy if possible, but if you know you want an action game that is a non stopn adrenaline rush with no silly minor faults, this is the one.
This isn't a clasic but it is a very good game.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2002
Some people have knocked this game because it is not a "vintage" Bond game (ie, that it is not based on a film). However, I think this adds to the enjoyment of the game. With no previous plot to follow, this game can go and do whatever it wants.
Another huge plus about this game is its variety. Gone are the bond games that are only shoot-em-ups. In this game, you get shoot em up levels, you can drive in bonds BMW, and you can look around and shoot whilst riding in cars.
Another leap forward is the AI. They will now hide around the corner to reload and will dodge a sniper laser (you have to do this as well, when they have the sniper rifles!) They will sound the alarm if they see you after you shoot someone, but they will not if you can hide fast enough.
If you get bored with the missions, there is still an excellant split screen multiplayer. And with trip mines, rocket launchers, proton launcers, and zero gravity mode, this mode is no end of fun.
Buy this game for your PS2. You wont regret it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2004
James Bond 007 in... Agent Under Fire is a great game which i played three years ago and decided to buy it. The level design is fantastic and the missions are very playable. There are however two things wrong with Agent Under Fire. 1. The control system is very dodgy because the controls are difficult to remember and 2. Some of the levels are either too easy or too short.
But all in all, the game is a must-buy and one not to miss. Buy it now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2002
Like James Bond himself, this game is gorgeous looking and fantastically smooth. The graphics are nearly faultless, with no glitches in sight. The enemy AI is very good, as they don't just stand around waiting to be shot by you. There are about 20 different types of weapons, as well as numerous gadgets which are all enjoyable to use. The missions can be a little linear sometimes and YES the game is easy to finish if you only play it on the easy level - but I guarantee you've missed loads of those special 'Bond' tricks. But the real enjoyment of this title comes from playing this game on the double-hard 'AGENT' level, whilst also trying to achieve GOLD and PLATINUM rewards which open plenty of extras.
All in all, this game has a very real 'Bond' feel to it, especially during the car chases when you're flying through the air!!!!
If your the type of gamer who like to complete a game as quickly as possible then never touches the game again, then this game isn't for you. On the other hand, if you like to set yourself a challenge and try and beat your best score time and time again, then 'James Bond - Agent Under Fire' is a very worthy addition to your games collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2002
Basicly you've got an FPS that only lives up to the hype graphix wyse. Sure the gameplays pretty good but the the controls are maybe just a little too hard to master straight away, after a while you click and suddenly it's all so simple!
The one major leap is the multiplayer mode; in which instead of the types of weaponry you want, you get to pick the actual weapons.(which gives you much more control over your mates!)
However the hard core 007 fans may be dissapointed with the lack of style that goldeneye had. But however you've still got yourself a pretty good game....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
In this day I thought It would be quite hard to softmod an old console like the PS2 as recources were outdated, broken links etc. But I found the method when you use this game. I bought the game and it arrived a bit early. It worked perfectly for the softmod and I also enjoy playing the actual game itself. Very Good
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2002
Agent Under Fire is a superb Bond game (and we've waited a while). It has the weapons (sadly with made-up names for some reason), the gadgets, the cars, the girls, and thank God some cheesy Bond wisecracks as well.
The developers have even gone to the trouble of inventing their own plot, which although not very original, is suitably Bond-esque and at least gives them free reign so they don't have to fit in with a movie.
The action switches between first person shooting, on-rails shooting and driving, all of which are suprisingly good. There are 'Bond moves' (shooting crane ropes to drop crates on henchmen, etc.) that trigger the old Bond theme and get you bonus points. Working these out adds a lot to the game, as higher scores unlock better weapons, multiplayer maps, etc.
Agent Under Fire is a great game and a wonderful Bond experience, even the control is good by PS2 FPS standards, but sadly it has one major problem - the single player game is too short!! You are left wanting more but all you have is too replay the missions to try to get better scores, which has limited attraction.
But still, a great addition to any PS2 games collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2004
this goes to all those who gave this a shoddy score....
i will admit that the single player is a little lame, but still serves a few hours entertainment....
but as for the multiplayer mode, all i have to say to you people is Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW! Q-CLAW!
nothing is more entertaining (with timesplitters 2 as an exception) than having a 4 player mush fest with 3 mates, and then having all your characters stick to walls and exchanging rounds into each others skulls!! :D
auf is the only game i know of where you can physically go ANYWHERE on every multiplayer level (even the bloomin ceiling) and have a huge gun duel!!!!! and lets not forget the classic GOLDENGUN mode!!!!!
anyone who likes fps' needs to own this game purely for multiplayer value!!!!!!!!! :D
(would highly recommend changing the default controls mind you)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2002
Before i get this review started i would like to get one thing straight I AM NOT A SERIOUS GAMER. James bond is a great game. It has all the usual James Bond stuff. Unreal gadgets brilliant guns and levels with a great 2 player mode. But there alwals has to be a but no game is perfect. Once you have compleated this title there is not much to keep you coming back for more. If you have two people who know how to play this game the 2 player mode is brilliant but the controls are not what they are on the N64. Therefore they take longer to pick up. This is a great game but lacks that one thing. Once the next james bond title comes out this will just be a thing of the past that could have been so much better with just a few tweaks. There are not enough levels and not much to keep you coming back but it is still a great title and great if you are a james bond fan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
I have Goldeneye so I thought that this game looked impressive and we finally had a rival, however I was mistaken the game is way to easy and is dissapointing. I bought the game but had completed 6 of 12 mission in under 45 minutes!!!! no challange, sheer bordome.
By the way the game was swiftly returned from where it was purchased.
Do not buy this game!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)