Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
96
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
This film was recommended to me by my daughter and I loved it, there were so many twists and turns and the ending did not disappoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Very good film, a bit disturbing when thinking about capital punishment and what can happen.
Reckon could be true to life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
didnt like the dvd and also was faulty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Fast delivery. Looked perfect but jumps. Still good value for money:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
The Great Alan Parker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
never get sick of seeing kevin spacey films,always get quality in his films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Excellent film nic cage delivers again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2003
As a native Texan, I'm used to seeing my state and its institutions misrepresented in both the U.S. and the world media. This film, however, gets it exactly right. They actually filmed outside the real death house in Huntsville, and scenes that took place in Austin were actually filmed in Austin and at the University of Texas (my alma mater). So two thumbs high up there.
The story itself is wonderful, though I can tell you as someone who lived in Austin for six years that protests on the scale of those in the film never took place, especially not in front of the capitol building...but that's about the only thing that the film got wrong. The story is compelling, with an anti-death penalty activist on death row, awaiting lethal injection (Texas does NOT use the electric chair) and the tough, ballsy reporter who initially judges Gale the way everyone else does. The way he brings her around is fascinating and the bare truth with which he bares his soul to her...his story is not romanticized one iota. It's a great film, and one of the only films to come out of Hollywood recently that has not portrayed Texans as gun-happy zealots. Wonderful.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2008
I haven't seen this film in years - which I do appreciate might devalue my credibility as a reviewer. However, even having seen the film only once, I consider it one of the best films I have ever seen.

Artistically, the whole cast performed extremely well. As would be expected of actors such as Kevin Spacey, Laura Linney and Kate Winslet, the story was told in an understated and moving manner. However, it is the story itself which makes this a masterpiece. On the surface it was a crime-thriller tale, which didn't patronise or bore the viewer with a predictable outcome - a rarity itself in Hollywood. It's clear underlying intention was to highlight the flaws in America's Death Penalty punishment laws, and the message was powerful.

Governor Hardin: ... I hate killing. That's why my administration is willing to kill to stop it.
David Gale: So, you don't subscribe to the idea that 'a good state is the one that protects its most despised members'?
Governor Hardin: It's a nice, liberal idea. But, like most nice, liberal ideas, naive.
David Gale: It's a quote from you, Governor. From your first state attorney campaign.
*Pause*
Governor Hardin: You've got me, Professor. But let me, in my defense, offer you a quote. Winston Churchill: 'If you're not a liberal at twenty, you have no heart, if you're still a liberal at thirty, you've got no brain.'
*Studio audience laughs*
David Gale: So basically, you feel, to choose another quote: 'society must be cleansed of elements which represent its own death.'
Governor Hardin: Well, yes. I'd have to agree. Did I say that too?
David Gale: No, that was Hitler.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a terrific film. as are so many of the films in which Kevin Spacey stars. This film is about death penalty opponent fanatic, David Gayle (Kevin Spacey), whose life careens out of control once he has an unfortunate sexual interlude with a provocative student from the college in which he is a professor.
Having lost his teaching career and family over the incident and seeing his high profile role in the politics of death penalty issues consequently disappear, he ends up accused of the rape and horrific murder of Constance Harraway (Laura Linney). Constance was David's fellow death penalty oppponent fanatic and best friend, the one who stood by him through thick and thin and helped him try to regain control of his life.
Tried and convicted for her rape and murder, David is ironically now an inmate on death row. He grants an ambitious reporter, Bitsey Bloom (Kate Winslet), an interview just days before his execution. As his story unfolds, revealed in a series of flashbacks leading to the final denouement, Bitsey begins to believe that David might truly be innocent. She begins to investigate and put together the pieces of the enigma that is David Gayle.
As a death penalty issues film, it fails, as the film paints both sides of this hot button issue in an unflattering light. It is definitely not a propaganda film and those looking for such will, inevitably, be disappointed. As a whodunit, it succeeds brilliantly, as the plot is complex and filled with enough twists and turns and red herrings to delight even the most jaded mystery aficionado.
The film is really not about the death penalty. It is, instead, about an unhappy man, who has lost all that he holds most dear, and a decision that he makes about what to do with the rest of his life. Right or wrong, it is a decision that fuels the film and makes for some gripping cinematic moments.
Kevin Spacey is terrific in the role of David Gayle, a man who went from being on top of the world to being at the bottom of the heap. He is a man who has lost all that he holds most dear, including a relationship his beloved young son, all because of a mistake in judgment that caused him to take the wrong fork in the road of life. It is the story of a man whose life has spiraled downward, and who has given in to despair. He uses his ideological commitment as succor, ultimately seeking absolution in martyrdom.
Laura Linney is excellent as David's devoted friend and fellow activist, who sticks by him through thick and thin. She infuses the role with a certain firmness of character and quiet dedication. Hers is an activism born of measured conviction in contrast to David's more flamboyant, confrontational stance on the issue for which they share a passion. Her own personal waterloo provides the film with some lovely bittersweet moments.
Kate Winslet handles her role as the intrepid reporter with great aplomb, providing the role with a nice contemporary feel and infusing the character with a respectable American accent. Despite all this, however, she takes a back seat to Spacey and Linney in the film. Matt Craven is perfectly cast as the mysterious Dusty Wright, the cowboy whose dedication to the anti-death penalty cause goes above and beyond the call of duty.
This is simply a film about a man and his life and the decisions that he makes, right or wrong, that drive it. This film now completes a magnificent triad of films about troubled men for gifted director Alan Parker (Angel Heart, Midnight Express).
Despite its being a whodunit, this is a film that one can certainly watch again and again due to its complexity. My twenty one year old daughter has watched it three times now and claims that it is one of her all-time favorite films. I myself would certainly watch it again and would add it to my personal collection. Bravo!
44 Comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)