Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2010
I must have been 7 or 8 when Tyne Tess TV put this on( around the time that "Do not adjust your set" was on, so you can tell what formative experiences I had watching TV at the time). My memories of Arthur... consisted of a "whistle while he spoke" Sir Lancelot,( "yesss Ssssire") Horses that seemed to be jet propelled, a villainess that resembled Morticia Addams , a show stopping theme tune & some incidental music, that even at my tender age, seemed to suggest extremme naughtiness due to use of sleazy saxophone riffs. Thankfully , all this was confirmed when the DVD arrived & have been wallowing in nostalgia & guilty pleasure ever since.
All together now "Arthur , the king of Camelot, he's a ring -a -ding-a -ling of a king...!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
This cartoon had been lodged in memory for years. It wasn't until I watched it again did I realise how your memory plays tricks. It is a great blast from the past and a complete surprise (for me) in some places. The characters you've completely forgotton about are a "Oh yeh" moment. Highly recommended for those of us who are now trying to hold on to our youth - at least our younger memories.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
The REAL title is Arthur and the Square Knights of the Round Table- not Nights as Amazon have it listed.

There is little hard information about this series- but it was partly written by Rod Hull, who became better known in the UK for his aggressive hand puppet Emu. UK viewers of an age will now know the level of humour to expect. This is a somewhat askew version of the story of King Arthur, as you have not seen it before. There is plenty of slapstick humour, and that lovely humour that adults would enjoy and would pass over childrens heads (at that time).

THIS DVD contains 24 sub-episodes cut into 8 episodes, for a total DVD time of 200 minutes or so- on tv, with adverts, each episode was a nominal half hour. The episode titles given on Amazon seem fictitious. The DVD starts with the trio "Octopus", "Would you believe a beanstalk" and "Which wizard versus what witch" with another 21 to follow.

Wikipaedia lists 32 sub episodes, whereas the Big Cartoon Database lists only 20. Bruce Laing has managed to list 117 sub episodes over 39 episodes, which fits with the three year production.

The promised 6 dvd set from an American distributor (for American release only) has so far missed two release dates and could turn out to be mythical, so why wait, try this economic collection of an unusual cartoon show while it is available.

The animation is fairly basic - slightly better than the original Captain Pugwash but far from Ghibli at its best. Perhaps the closest show to compare it too in style would be Rocky and Bullwinkle especially the Fractured Fairy Tales segment (very similar humour too).
Side characters include the fair maiden Suzuki, the Great Hootini, and Arthur's pet dragon Delbert.

The pictures on this dvd are very clean, bright, and well saturated but rather soft and unfocussed- there is some shadowing to the left and right of image lines. It may be as well to view this on a smaller screen but if you have a monster screen, sit well back. The sound is excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
These cartoons are genuinely anarchic and hilarious. For anyone who hasn't seen 'Arthur' the characters even move in a totally ridiculous over-exaggerated way with oversized feet and hands. The American 'English' accents are a highlight and the opening sequence tells you exactly what to expect. The theme song has a 'Flintstones'- like feel to it. I saw a few episodes on ITV back in the mid-70s and it's even funnier than I remember. Look out for the double act of Jester and Sir Lancelot spinning Arthur around in the closing titles. I'm assuming that this collection is the complete series from 1972 and I'm just glad we get to see it all again.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
I totally agree with the first reviewer on the brilliance and hilarity of Arthur and the Square Knights of the Round Table. I watched it all through the 70s on TV in Australia (it's country of origin and production). Yes it was an Australian product - the first Australian cartoon series to be sold overseas. Sadly though, it seems Arthur was more appreciated in the UK. It is almost impossible to find a video tape or DVD here, which brings me to this website!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Sssss-sire he says with a whistle, what a blast from the past this is, and my god what a fantastic price and delivery time....if you remember this, grab it and enjoy it, you won't be dissapointed...all the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
At Last, this great 60s cartoon series out on DVD, very slick, great humour & well remembered from Saturday afternoons following the football results on ABC [Midlands].If you like Rocky & Bullwinkle, this is much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
This was an absolute favourite when I was a nipper (when it first went out n UK tv....eeek) and it is exactly as I remember it, clever, funny, lively, and trippy. No wonder we all grew up a bit odd!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here