Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
39
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2005
If you are one of the thousands of decent-music-loving people who haven't heard of Tom McRae yet, you are in for a treat! Tom McRae has been overlooked in favour of other, blander 'singer-songwriter' types such as Damien Rice, David Gray etc. which really is a shame. Like comparing T-Rex to Abba really.
Tom's music is twisted acoustic that occassionally dares to be a little louder than his genre usually expects. Mainly based around guitar, piano and cello with cutting lyrics and an angelic voice on the edge of cracking. His lyrics are more twisted and dark than Nick Cave's; the highlight track for me is 'Mermaid Blues' where Tom sings 'I swim with you until my lungs give out, oh I can raise you from the deep or drown with you in doubt' over a background of distorted cello and piano.
Weirdly delicate, beautiful, moving then shatteringly sarcastic before sentimentality gets a chance. The import includes a track from a live radio session which shows the brilliance of where Tom is best - live.
If you own the first album but not this one - this is more of a grower but takes Tom's music to a higher level and will just make you love him more. Aww...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2004
Possibly one of the three best albums since its release. Every track evolves into the beautiful, and all sum up to a magical expeience. Possibly more musically adept and mature than Mcrae's debut but both are essential buys. Highlights; all ten songs, of course, but in particular, 'Walking to Hawaii' and 'Line of Fire' Please, own it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
If you like Damian Rice, Ryan Adams, Tom Baxter, Nike Drake, David Gray, Josh Ritter or Howie Day you will really enjoy this great album.
You Only Disapear is a classic!
Check out first Mercury nominated album also it wont dissapoint either
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
Anyone who took a weekend of their precious time to pay a visit to the V2003 festival this summer will no doubt have derrived some enjoyment from it. Coldplay, Chilli Peppers, QOTSA, The Coral, PJ Harvey, Morcheeba, oh and er..Feeder. But despite all these hugely succesful and brilliant artists (and er..Feeder) it was possibly the man who opened the weekend who delivered the most touching performance. (Well at least in Staffordshire). "We're just gona start this off with a few melancholy songs..", or something to that tune, was what Tom Mcrae coily uttered, and thats exactly what he did, easing the lunch-time hangovers in the sun, it was perfect. A lot of the material played came from this album, Just Like Blood. I bought it out of curiosity and soon realised I had stumbled across a damn good album. There is a beautiful edginess in all of the songs, combined with no lack of soul, invention and talent. You may ask what am I doing so far up this guy's backside yet only giving the album a meagre 4 stars, if you are asking this it's because Line Of Fire is crap. Although on the other hand you may not be. Nevertheless this is a wonderful record with lots of wonderful music, by his next album you'll all be on the bandwagon; watch this space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Everything is oke :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2003
This review is on the basis of preview tracks from the forth coming album which can be found on Tom McRae's web site.
McRae is undoubtedly a gifted writer, the emotion, feeling and sentiment he portrays through his songs is captivating. This is a rare quality in today's world, Just Like Blood is, like his debut, an inspiring listen. His innovative and unique style is refreshingly original and stands out as a glimmer of hope on the otherwise bland landscape of British popular music - go listen, be inspired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2003
Saw this guy at V2003 and he blew me away. Sitting, chilling waiting for the proper bands to start, this guy and his guitar got up and demanded silence with the first chord.
The album does the same thing, ghost of a shark stuns while 'you only disappear' brings a tear
If you like your vocals raw and emotive, buy this now!
WOW
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
This was recommended from a review of Passenger. I'm sorry Passenger is everything Tom is not. So stick with Passenger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
I spotted this one in the Oxfam bargain bins and snapped it up, dimly remembering a fantastic turbocharged solo performance I saw around 2000 when Tom McCrae was supporting Robyn Hitchcock as I recall. Unfortunately after a couple of plays I realised why this had found its way to Oxfam. None of the songs grab me either from a song-writing perspective, or for the quality of the arrangements. There are far too many good singer-songwriters out there to waste your hard-earned cash or more importantly your time listening to this: Robyn himself, Boo Hewerdine, David Mead, Darden Smith, Damien Rice to name but a few.

Sorry Tom....
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here