Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
Shostakovich: Piano Concertos No. 1 & 2, Symphony No. 1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 October 2015
What a wonderful CD! Magnificent playing by both soloist and orchestra, and the added bonus of the mesmerising Assault on the Beautiful City of Gorky - such a rarity yet so worth hunting down. One of my top CD's

And EliteDigital from whom it came did a grand job of getting the CD to me.

One happy buyer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2017
some of the best music in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Bought for Beautiful Gorky, and didn't fail to please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Excellent recording and performance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2016
Nice CD. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2015
Excellent and such a polite letter from the supplier
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2015
On Classic FM, Myleene Klass described the Andante of Shostakovich's Second Piano Concerto as the saddest piece of music ever written. It is also heart-breakingly beautiful, which is why I wanted a version of it that would do justice to the music. Hence, I went online and listened to many different versions on Utube. I then decided that there was only one version for me: Dmitri Alexeev and the Engllsh Chamber Orchestra. This CD , including Piano Concertos 1 & 2, as well as The Assault on Beautiful Gorky is musical bliss from start to finish; Alexeev's virtuosic yet sensitive playing leaves nothing more to be desired.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2013
The recordings on this CD have stood the test of time, having never been out of the catalogue since the late LP era. Artistic and musical merit abounds here and the recordings of the piano concertos could be a clear first choice even if they cost much more. A re-issue adds the Jazz Suite no.1 and a couple of excerpts from The Gadfly. It can be bought on this website for just £4.99, new! For further details, follow this link:

 Shostakovich Piano Concertos Nos etc

I have owned a copy of the concertos and the Assault on Gorky since the LP first appeared and I want for nothing else. Wholeheartedly recommended!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
This remains a highly recommendable pairing of these concertos and at bargain price. It is right to point out that the performances have been reissued by Classics for Pleasure with additional couplings but although they are serviceable I should not feel the need to buy a copy of that release as the Piano Concertos are the thing. The Assault on Beautiful Gorky is a piece of routine agitprop and soon outstays its welcome to my ears.

The First Concerto is played with just the right combination of acid wit and careering virtuosity. The Second Concerto with all its brittle charm intact ( although that slow movement always seems to me not to make enough of that one great tune .

If one was only looking for the First Concerto then I would definitely go for either of Argerich's coruscatingly brilliant accounts but this is an excellent coupling that wears its thirty years in the catalogue lightly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)