Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Def Jam Vendetta (PS2)
Price:£23.61+ £2.03 shipping


on 10 April 2003
The story to it is that, it's been three years since D-Mob chased you out of the New York fight circuit and you swore you'd never go back. Now your pal Manny is in trouble and he needs you to bail him out. The plan is simple: get in, win a few fights, pay off his debt, get out. No problem. Well, it turns out that things aren't as easy as they appear. Once in the scene, your past comes back to haunt you. Soon you're over your head and your only chance to get your life back together is to settle a score that has gone too long unpaid what will happen you will have to play to find out. Their is realism in this game your favorite stars are in this game. Their is great rap hip hop music in this game it will keep you busy for hours with 4 different play modes 10 different fighting arenas and over about 40 characters, 10 from real life def jam rap stars. You can even have a scrap in dmx's junk yard.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2003
This game is has everything you want in a fighting game except maby creating your own characters which if i was making the game this is something that would of been done,
The game has got a great storeyline that compliments explosive gameplay action, you can choose to play the storeyline with 4 different characters :- Briggs, Proof, Spider or Tank. while playing the game you earn money to improve your characters to help you fight you way through various fighters including 12 Def jam artists including DMX,WC,N.O.R.E, Redman and Metodman and many others. There are also many other made up characters in the storeymode who are fun to fight.
The game is also good because of the sound track from Def jam records including X gonna give it to yer.
The game also has 3 other game modes to enjoy and four match types so buy this game now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2003
Def Jam Vendetta, Hmmmmm. The game's premise is an refreshing twist on a battered genre, and turns out to be a successful marriage of music and mayhem. the graphics are visually arresting, with each Rapper's likeness down to a t. When Redman and Method Man converse before a tag team match, you get a real feel for the Rappers personality, and with Ludacris' arrogance and Scarface's bare cheek, rest assured you have no problem taking out your frustrations on a rapper you aint particulary fond of in real life.
so here's the bad part, while Vendetta Delivers on most Fronts, it lacks somewhat in depth. the game is lacking in sufficient special characters, and where are the other artists signed to the Def Jam label. Call me fussy but i would have liked to see Public Enemy's Flavour Flav mixin' it up in the ring. For the Hardcore rap fans, they will notice this lack of characters, and although a slight niggle, will still lessen the experience for some. so, buy it?? Definitely, but take it at face value, as new school rap fans will absoloutely LOVE IT. let us hope that next time, in Vendetta 2, there will be some other characters, and more old school rap stars, for all of us old school soldiers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I bought Vendetta alongside Def Jam fight for new york (Unbelievably amazing game-buy it!) which is why I assumed vendetta would be good aswell. I was wrong. All the matches take place in rings even though theyre in the middle of streets etc (Makes no sense). The moves and characters are limited, slow and insanely dull. With no real reason to play this game and a very very boring gameplay I would not recommend this atall.

Get Def Jam Fight for New York-you will NOT be dissapointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2004
Forget about the rap theam, if u are looking for a good game there anrt many better on the PS2 in its gerne. This game plays exactly as the Wrestlemainia serise on the N64 - pure skill. the differance is its slikcer has better graphics and a great soundtrack to boot.
Get some mates invest in 4 pads and spend the night beating the livign daylights out of each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2003
This is a great, great game and one I have been anticipating. Its been a while since I have been excited about a game, I dont think they make them like they used to..Killer instinct, Earthworm Jim, Resident evil...all were great original ideas..todays games market is full of upgrade packages and sequals.
This is a great idea for a game, underground fighting on a quest to gain respect and get 'your woman' back off the powers that be.
It is packed full of characters, all with amazingly unrealistic but fun to watch finishing moves, so even after the easy story mode is complete there is plenty more to see. (Finished story mode after about 24 hours of buying the game, probably played it for no more than 4 hours to finish it).
Overall Def Jam is a great game, it is very much wrestling based, but people who are not fans dont be put off, and people who are fans of wrestling dont have to worry about the characters going out of date too quickly like you may find on most WWE releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2003
I think the game is excellent and the graphics rock although when the women get in and out of the ring they go through the ropes a bit(!?). The storymode is excellent and is far better than the storymode's for the WWE (WWF-ex) games.My one problem with the game, well my main problem, is that you can't create your own rapper! I think that sux as that was one of the things I was really looking forward to! This being the main reason for four stars not five but if you were buying this game it's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
Had this on the gamecube ages ago and never stopped playing it, since then it has still managed to stand the test of time, but i think i over played it. but if you've never played it then i suggest you do, very much in the fighting style of old wwf games, and the story is cool, with loads of the best rappers in the game doing there thing.
Good fun,plenty of multiplayer sessions to be had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2003
This game is from the makers from big hit games such as SSX and NBA Street, and now finally someone is bringing out a decent 'street fighting' game...and you know whats better, it features some of todays most notorious rappers such as DMX, Ludacris, Method Man, Redman, N.O.R.E, etc. It also contains some of Def Jams most recent hits like X Gonna Give It To Ya - DMX which is a great song, so not only great looks, great name, great set up, great players its got a great soundtrack, you dont really need to be a fan of rap to buy this, its a game....A damn good one at that!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2003
This games is well presented ,well researched and well produced.It plays well the graphics and cut scenes are second to none,it features 13 of the best rap/hip hop artisits on the def jam label.
The only "fault" i found was the lifespan of gameplay,i was able to complete the games with one character in about 3 hours non stop play,althought their are a further 3 fighters to use to unlock all bonuses,another bad point is that u cant fight as a dej jam artists in the story mode only against them,buy aside from this its a veryu good game,worht the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)