Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
87
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
excellent move, excellent price and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Thanks for getting this to me so quickly. I love this funny funny show. Packaging was also great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
It was a discusion that sparked a return to this film to this for me, having seen it on its original release. Was it as good as I remembered.? Could I relate to the inane humour after nearly 40 years? Overall yes and yes. The Terry Gilliam / Monty Python-ish elements are stamped all over the film with loads of visual humour alongside plodding sections. A wealth of British character actors festoon and cavort thoughout the film, which although doesn't quite reach the height of Life of Brian, is still very watchable and enjoyable. Pass me the raw potato.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"It is the middle of the Dark Ages, darker than anyone ever expected..."

This was Gilliam's first movie as a director independent of the Python team, although it possesses many Python influences. Filmed at Chepstow and Pembroke castles, as well as in a Welsh quarry for the battle scenes against the monster, one cannot help but make immediate associations with `Monty Python and the Holy Grail', which Gilliam co-directed with Terry Jones two years before. We have the same medieval setting, the same bad teeth and bodily functions, the same mud and grime. (Gilliam says in the accompanying commentary that the film is so textured that you can smell it.) There are also the same witty names: Dennis Cooper, Griselda Fishfinger, King Bruno the Questionable (son of Olaf the Loud), the Blessed Sisters of Misery, and Saint Tallulah's Day. The main difference from `Grail', though is that this time there is a through-story to be told rather than a collection of sketches cobbled together to make a film. And there is also political and economic symbolism aplenty.

In the commentary, which he shares with the lead Michael Palin, Gilliam references Tarkovsky's `Andrei Rublev', Scott's `Alien', Boorman's `Excalibur', and even Lucas's `Star Wars' as influences or stylistic equivalents. He describes his film in terms of a cinematic Brueghel, and goes on to reference other artistic influences including Bosch and Caravaggio. He adds that he deliberately kept half the screen often in darkness so as to allow the imagination to flourish, at least for those with imaginations. (Really, of course, the reason is lack of finance for anything more fanciful: Gilliam always fills the screen if he has the resources to do so.)

Although Michael Palin plays the lead role in `Jabberwocky', and Terry Jones plays a brilliant walk-on part as a trapper of animals in the forest and one of the monster's grisly victims (dig the trapper's medieval equivalent of the baseball hat), these are the only fellow-Pythons; the rest of the cast comprise some of the greatest names of English comedy at the time: Max Wall, John le Mesurier, Harry H Corbett, Warren Mitchell. (In the commentary we learn that even Dudley Moore was due to play a role.) Minor parts are played by the likes of John Bird, Gordon Kaye, Graham Crowden, Rodney Bewes, Brian Glover, and Bernard Bresslaw.

Other very good extras on this disc include a selection of the different posters for the film, and sketch-to-screen comparisons.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 January 2003
Based on Lewis Carrol's 'The Jabberwock', Terry Gilliam unleashes the full force of his creative talents in this brilliant film.
We follow the adventures of Dennis Cooper, besotted with love for the gruesome Griselda Fishfinger, as he is disowned by his dying father and goes off to seek his fortune in the city. The city is however besieged by the eponymous monster, so the king (played to wonderful effect by Max Wall) arranges a tourney to select the best knight to kill the beast. Of course, Dennis is carried along and wins the day.
Doresn't sound much of a story, does it? - but the intricately detailed sets, the wonderful staged humour and brilliant direction make this a cut and a half above anything else in the genre. It knocks the Monty Python films into a cocked hat - and they are GOOD! Not for nothing did this film win the best comedy at Montreux. Particularly good performances from Max Wall, John leMesurier, Harry H Corbett and of course, Michael Palin, who just IS Dennis.
I don't understand how a great film like this has been allowed to fall out of circulation. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
11 Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2006
Don't write this off as failed Python. In the entertaining commentary on this disk, TG and Michael Palin not only state that they were trying to get away from the Python style with this film, but even that they think there are too many gags in it. I wouldn't go so far as that; Lewis Carroll's eerie source poem doesn't really have a great bearing on this story, but what they share is an ambiguous tone somewhere between epic, comic and surreal. All Gilliam's early films are about the relationship between real and fantasy worlds, and this is really no exception: Palin is the modern-minded mediocrity unwittingly (and unwillingly) caught up in a fairy tale.

Visually there's a certain similarity to `Holy Grail' (this is far more accomplished); in comedy terms, the closest thing is Palin's quirky, understated `Ripping Yarns' - but that doesn't have the same deep, ineluctable strangeness. In all honesty there's no other film like this. Just see the `you might also like' films trailed on the disc - `First Knight' and `Knight's Tale'! Good grief.

I'm also indebted to the commentary for the following fascinating trivia: TG's `diamond mine' character was originally to have been played by Dudley Moore; both the Black Knight and Palin's master are played by David Prowse (of Darth Vader fame), voices by Max Wall (King Bruno); and John Boorman apparently showed the film a dozen times to his crew before making Excalibur. How's that for a recommendation?
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Some 38 years since I last saw this film as a teenager and it has lost none of it's magic! It could be sheer nostalgia, and some of the effects can seem dated, but this is a clever film that has influenced many other films since it was released. Excellent characters underpinned by terrific acting. An exceedingly funny film with a brilliantly seedy atmosphere and some genuinely scary moments. New fans of Monty Python will love it - old fans will love it for its roots. The Jaberwock itself is a hoot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
on the theme of Monty Python, so many jokes to tap into and so many other things...too many to mention but a lovely film for all the family and a great tale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
You really need to be a Python Gruppie, to really like this movie at its best? Jabberwocky, goes on to play part in, Alice in Wonderland? Good humoured film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Not as good as I thought it would be, but there were a few funny bits in it, and as it was a good price I am satisfied
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)