Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
110
4.4 out of 5 stars
Going for the One
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 February 2017
Seminal Yes album! You are probably new to Yes if you are considering buying this, as any historical Yes fan will have owned the vinyl and cd for years, but just jump right in! Tenderness, despair, soaring highs, emotions, it's all here. Don't hesitate. You MUST own this album. Your life is not as it should be without it!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
A cracking album from the KIngs of Prog Rock. My original copy of this which I bought back in the early eighties was getting a bit tatty, so I splashed out & got this. Still a brilliant album, all the better for being on vinyl.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Top Notch!! My favorite Yes Album!! My Yes Song!!
Awaken!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
This vinyl version is picture disc in transparent plastic sleeve only, even though the listed picture shows the cover.
I returned my copy as it was a really bad pressing with a loud persistent hiss.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Wow! This is an album that people tend to forget when it comes to Yes, which is a tragedy. In my opinion this is actually by far their best album, with fantastic songs from start to finish and brilliant arrangements and performance. Turn of the Century is one of the best songs ever written. In fact, Going for the One is one of the best albums ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Great picture disc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
This is the last of the truly classic Yes albums of the 70s. I've always considered this to be the third of their classic albums, the others being 'The Yes Album' and 'Close to the Edge' ('Fragile' in my opinion coming close but not quite making it, although it's still worth five stars). At the time this was a bit of a reinvention for Yes. I remember hearing the title track 'Going for the one' for the first time and getting quite a shock at Steve Howe's wild pedal steel guitar as well as the style of the music! I was also surprised by the apparent simplicity of 'Wondrous stories'. But this is what makes this such a great album. As a group Yes had got over the idea that their songs needed to be about 10-20 minutes long. So we find their ideas condensed on this album and not out-staying their welcome. 'Turn of-the century' comes in at just over seven minutes and is a beautifully balanced and structured song which plays out its ideas perfectly in that time. 'Parallels' thunders along for about five minutes and benefits hugely from Rick Wakeman's manic use of a church organ. The church organ pops up again to wonderful effect on 'Awaken' which proved that the group hadn't purged their appetite for an epic piece of music, but it also proved that they didn't feel they had to fill it out to 20 minutes as it clocks in at just over 15. All in all this is one of the groups most complete albums showing off their arranging skills to great effect with some really beautiful music. The album finds the group at the height of their powers, particularly the returning Rick Wakeman, who has very clearly found his creative streak and contributes greatly to the album. For instance just listen to his cascading Polymoog on 'Wondrous stories and his outrageous piece of honky-tonk piano in the middle of 'Going for the one' or the marvellous build-up layered effect of the church organ on 'Awaken' that acts as an introduction to / and then inter-play with Steve Howe's solo guitar before leading back into the song. That interplay, this time between his piano and Steve's guitar is present again in what must be one of the most underrated Yes songs, 'Turn of the century' in the most marvellous musical break that builds beautifully to a wonderful crescendo before leading back into the song. All in all a most satisfying album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
Yes made many, many fine albums in the "Classic" era, but not even the mighty "Topographic Oceans" reached the ultimate status of this one perfect statement. It was as if they took a whole load of carbon and just pressed it down until it underwent a total phase shift and became a scintillating diamond of clarity, beauty, shining refraction, and was, simply, perfection. You want rock? The album kicks off with Jon counting the band in, and "Going for the One" erupts with ferocious pedal steel, bouncing bass, kicking drums and squealing keyboards. Jon's vocals are higher than even he can normally manage, and the band tears off down the tarmac like a drag-racer, flames ripping out of the speakers. You want beauty? "Turn of the Century" is a deep BLUE mini-libretto with cascading guitar, piano and Jon singing like a limpid bell. Slowly the tracks builds, erupting into a chiming climax before sinking back into its echoic oceanic swell. You want da Blooz? Chris grabs his bass, Rick climbs on his church organ and the band pound away on "Parallels" like good'uns! You want Pop? "Wonderous Stories" manages to be both glittery and fluffy at the same time, sweet and spiritual, soaring and reflective. Oh, and only a couple minutes long! You want one piece of music that sums up Yes in 16.5 minutes? We have "Awaken", without doubt Yes' finest piece EVER. Lilting with Jon's harp, soaring with Rick's church organ, chiming with sleigh bells, crying with Steve's guitars, thundering with Chris' bass, oh, and Alan's drums being used like a symphony orchestra percussionist. As I said before, everything being pressed and concentrated into one glittering jewel of an album, and a jewel of a track. If you have a soul, you will find it jumping to this album. If you have a smile, it will be wrapped around this album. And if you don't, well GFTO will help you find them both!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
This is, in my opinion, the last great Yes album - great though not quite the equal of "Close to the edge" or "Relayer". Wakeman returns to the fold and does an excellent job - particularly on the epic closing track "Awaken". Though in a way it was a shame to lose Moraz after his inspired performance on "Relayer"

All the band are in great form. The title track is a superb burst of energy - a song about sport - and you don't get too many of those on a Yes album! "Turn of the century" is a lovely song with excellent guitar work from Howe. I remember a reviewer calling Howe's guitar on this track as "poetic" - an accurate description. Chris Squire's "Parallels" is another good rocking song with both Squire himself and Wakeman (on Chruch organ no less) particularly excelling.

The hit single "Wondorous stories" is a pretty tune but nothing compared to the album's highlight "Awaken". Said to be Jon Anderson's favourite Yes song, it has a number of different themes that merge so effectively together - a trademark of the band. "Awaken" is an ideal track to play in the garden with decent headphones on a Summer's day - the song's ending has a real dream quality about it. So don't let the less-than-inspiring bounus tracks spoil it!

The only sad thing about this album is that it ended a series of albums of such quality which started with "The Yes Album" (and that does include "Toporgraphic Oceans - well most of it anyway!). The massively disappointing "Tormato" was only a year away, but in the meantime this album made my Summer of 1977.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
This is an album where everything seemed to click into place. Who could fail to marvel at the sheer talent of this band as they combine church organ with contemporary instrumentation on 'Parallels' and 'Awaken'. The former never fails to give me goose bumps and profoundly lifts my spirits whenever I hear it - truly a masterclass in progressive rock!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)