Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
59
4.3 out of 5 stars
Hard Candy
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 July 2017
Sadly I have only just discovered Counting Crows and can't get enough of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
A great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2002
After 2 somewhat dissapointing albums (Recovering the Satelites and This Desert Life), the 'Crows' have made an album which ranks alongside their debut album AAEA.
On first listen, many of the tracks seem somewhat difficult to listen to and lack spark, however I have never known an album to grow on me as much as this one has. With each listen all of the initially percieved weaker tracks gradially ingrain themselves and surprisingly for an album with 13 tracks (not including bonus tracks)there isn't one weak track. Each song as his own quality and appeal.
For me melody is key and this album has the full range, even though it's not really an album you can particularly sing along to. Musically it is also faultless.
Title track 'Hard Candy' is a pleasant up beat opener whilst 'American Girls' is immediately accessible and a definate stand out. Probably just about my favourite song on the album is the beautiful 'Black & Blue' which often helps me to sleep (in a good way) followed closely by 'If I could give all my love to you'. Other highlights are 'Butterfly in Reverse', 'Up all night' and also 'Holiday in Spain' which I find particularly appealing as I am going to Spain soon.
You may be wondering how such a complimentary review only warrants 4 out of 5. Well I would have given it 4.5, but you can only give whole numbers. For me, every song on an album must be close to outstanding for it to deserve 5 out of 5.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2002
This the fourth studio album from Counting Crows sees them return to their best. After a disappointing third album (this Desert Life) it appeared that the band had runs its course. But you cannot expect a band to produce outstanding albums one after the other and fortunately for us Hard Candy sees them producing the music of a standard laid down by their first two albums (August and Everything After and Recovering the Satelites). Not only does it equal these standards but they have developed. Not necessarily improved on quality, but have certainly taken their sound into a new era. Although not entirely different, and still written from the same writing formula of Duritz, their music has matured to a level of a band that released its debut album almost ten years ago. They are back to where they should be.
A highly recommended purchase for already converted Counting Crows fans, and even possibly for newcomers, although their earlier work provides a much more addictive sound. Well worthy of four stars, a band revived.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2002
Being a massive COunting Crows fan I was a little worried about the new album. Could it be as good as the previous releases? Yes it can. Starting with the title track, and followed by the new single the latest offering just leaves you crying out for more. I was lucky enough to see them perform at the Astoria on the 12th June where they played several tracks from the album. As always, the were amazing live, playing a few acoustic covers and showing us the energy that can be put into the new songs. As well as the loud rocking songs, the album comes with a few melodious tracks which again are complex and well lyricised. Black and Blue and Holiday in Spain are both great and Miami will almost definately be a song they play live for a long time.
So, why should you buy this album from the UK instead of importing it for less money..? Well..you get two extra tracks which are not available on the international release.
While not strides forward from the last album, its a more refined sound which left me gasping for more. Enjoy...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2002
The Crows have come a long way since 'August and Everything After' and have produced their best-sounding record to date. While some of the simplicity and innocence that made their first album so appealing is still here, it is the virtuosity of producer Steve Lillywhite that really lifts 'Hard Candy' into the stratosphere of great rock albums. The song 'Hard Candy' is their best opening number since 'Round Here', and this is only the beginning. This album is light of touch, refreshing and meaningful and you can tell a lot of thought has gone into it - even the cover art is fantastic. Adam Duritz's voice is on top form and much mellower than his previous, emotionally charged performances. This album will hopefully attract new fans to a band which has never compromised its creativity while producing beautiful music. And the hidden track is a recognisable gem but I'll leave you to hear it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2002
After the disappointing 'This Desert Life' Counting Crows needed to return to the music that made them great. Not only does this album recapture the band of old but it pushes out the boundaries of Duritz's style. From the anthemic 'American Girls' and 'Hard Candy' to the beautiful 'Holiday in Spain' this record has everything. The slow ballads such as 'Good Time' and the heartfelt Black and Blue revive the emotion captured in 'Sullivan Street' and 'Raining in Baltimore' (From August and everything After). But what comes as a boost to us British fans is the excellent bonus track 'You Ain't going Nowhere' and a rendition of Joni Mitchell's 'Big Yellow Taxi'. All in all Crows fans should love this record, its as varied as it is consistently good, with the only downside being the bizaare 'Butterfly in Reverse', which sounds like it has been taken out of Mary Poppins! But Counting Crows are back to their best exercising the ghost of the previous album which really only sported three great songs.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2004
A friend played me Up All Night which I instantly loved. after that I was curious about what else they had to offer. This album is actually very impressive - there's an array of influences on this album - the most striking is 'Butterfly In Reverse' which could very easily be a Ben Folds song. The rest is mainly American rock at its best although has some great mellow moments (Carriage). Dont let the cheap cover version of Big Yellow Taxi put you off. Highlights include: American Girls, Good Time, If I Could Give All My Love (which is laden with Beatles influences), Butterfly In Reverse, Carriage, Up All Night.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 March 2008
I'm a big fan of Counting Crows, unusually because it's mid-american rock which i'm not always a fan of but there's a great feeling of depth and integrity about them

This album is easily their most disappointing - they've departed from their usual territory which is not a bad thing in itself but in this case they've simply adopted too many musical styles without enough panache to carry it off

basically i'd give all their other albums a 4.5, but this is a three because only just over half the songs are good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2006
I had never come accross the counting crows before I found this album. But it is very very good. Mellow Rock. Goodnight LA has become one of my favourite songs. The title track Hard Candy and American girls I understand are now classic Crows tracks. And the song that introduced me to them, their rendition of Joni Mitchells Big Yellow Taxi is just different class.

A truly remarkable album, that really brought the Crows fame in Europe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)