Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
103
4.7 out of 5 stars
Fragile [Expanded & Remastered]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 October 2016
Not really being a Prog Man, I came to this album because of the piece of music used in the film 'Buffalo 66'. The segment used was 'Heart of the Sunrise' from this LP. Awesome stuff. The whole album is real treat that has elements of rock/funk/folk/classic - it's just a great listen! I believe this was Rick Wakeman's first outing with YES. Had this on constant play in my motor vehicle and defo one of my new favourite albums. For me, a real discovery. Check it out if you haven't already.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Don't be mislead by the Amazon description. This is the remastered edition on 180 gram vinyl with the original 9 tracks on ONE vinyl disc. The gatefold sleeve has all the original cover art including the booklet in the middle - nothing missing. A worthy reissue.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Probably my favourite Yes album with the possible exception of The Yes Album. This is Yes as their dynamic best before it all got too bombastic in the mid 70s. 'Roundabout' is definitely a classic cut from this album with 'South Side of the Sky' and 'Long Distance Runaround' running it very close. Any fan of early 1970s progressive rock should own a copy of this marvellous album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2017
EXCELLENT CD WHICH ARRIVED WELL INSIDE THE TIME LIMIT SET BY SELLER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
great band - great reord
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
One of the best Yes album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
I first picked this album up some 25 years ago on holiday in Guernsey and have been consistently wowed by it ever since. It truly shows a band that, with an average age of their early to mid 20s (incredible fact in comparison to today's out put by young scamps) effortlessly producing their arguably best album and then chasing that zenith ever since.

The album's opener, `Roundabout' is a catchy number, with a spring-driven very trebly Rickenbacker bass courtesy of Chris Squire. A staple of their live shows ever since I think, and a good intro what Yes are about. Followed by the first of an idea that was I think a success; each band member produces heir own track. Due to contractual reasons, Rick Wakeman plays some Brahms, which is pleasant, if slightly out of character with the rest of the album and makes one consider what he would have done if his hands weren't bound by red tape (he had only just joined the band at this point). Secondly, and more satisfactorily we have alto Jon Anderson makes a wonderful multi-tracked, if mantra-like song called `We Have Heaven'. A wonderful dreamy soundscape and very easy on the ears. This is thrown into sharp focus by `South Side of the Sky', a jagged, hard hitting effort with some wonderful piano in the middle, this song seems to match the wonderful painting on the cover of the album.

Next is a drum riff called `Five Percent for Nothing' (a title that was a dig at their previous manager) in which the band accompanies drummer Bill Bruford and has a very strong jazzy feel (Bill joined Yes, thinking it was a jazz band!), followed by another classic Yes track `Long Distance Runaround', again which sums up Yes rather nicely; strong vocals, accomplished playing and an imaginative feel. Steve Howe then plays `Mood for a Day', one of his finest solo pieces, very classical in flavour, which leads up to the tour de force `Heart of the Sunrise', my fave ever Yes track. Quite dizzying in its speed and mood changes, but never feeling lumpy or fast for its own sake. Squire and Bruford sparkle here in particular.

All in all, a wonderful example of Yes, and why Prog Rock, despite lazy journalists still using the same opinions written about when punk came along (it's boring etc - no mate, you're boring for not having open ears or a fresh opinion!), is still a wonderful and thought provoking style of music.
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Back to my youth, with the brilliant timing of YES!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
fantastic, pure music without scratches
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
I had this album when it first was released and can't play it as it is an L.P. and is very scratched! Love this album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)