Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 April 2003
The album may have a very well produced feel to it with all tracks having similar instrumentation, yet it is masterfully done to create a beautiful album that is a joy to listen to.
Bennett & lang may be an unliklely coupling, but their voices do compliment each other very well over some smooth music.
This is a great album to lay back in your lounge to and relax with. It's nothing ground breaking, but the cover versions of Louis Armstrong classics do the tracks great justiceand make you realise how amazong the jazz star was.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
A really must have CD! But it for my Mum. She loves it!!!! and me too!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2007
Lang's silky voice lubricates Bennett's huskiness to produce this masterpiece. This album stands in a league of its own, it is more than just a collaboration between two artists. The sound production is exceptional and the track selection is heavenly. Add it to your collection if you are a jazz lover - trust me, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
Is there an aural equivalent of the blissful feeling we get from smooth chocolate? This album of Armstrong standards, with the velvet tones of Bennett and the unmistakable voice of Lang works a treat. Bennett takes the lead here in terms of vocal space, which may upset the Lang fans that buy this, but they should be happy enough because of the sheer quality on offer here. Lang really does complement Bennett and vice versa. The production [as you'd expect of big bucks name like Bennett] is flawless, and the overall sound is smooth cocktail rather than Armstrong's bluesy jazz. A minor masterpiece, which would have benefitted from more Lang in the mix. This album is one that will go on fairly heavy rotation when first bought, and then will become an old friend, never to part:) Definitely 5/5
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
K D Lang has to be one of, if not THE most, underrated vocal talents ever. If you like the American song book you'll love this. Presented with sumptious arrangements by the combination of the master and his apprentice this album is simply gorgeous. A fabulous recording to boot. Buy it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
Both of these great artists were born to sing and when you listen to this album you will be convinced they were born to sing together. Tony brings his marvellous voice and a lifetime's experience singing the great American song book. Kd brings an amazing voice and a wonderful freshness. Together they give us an album that is timeless, I have listened to this album over and over again and it never fails to move me.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"A Wonderful World,"(2002), a collection of duets by Tony Bennett and K.D. Lang, to songs inspired by the legendary New Orleans trumpeter Louis Armstrong, included "What a Wonderful World," "Exactly Like You," and "You Can Depend on Me." It was produced by the near-legendary T Bone Burnett, and includes trumpet work by Scott Hamilton. Of course, in 2002, the New York-born crooner was 76 years old; and his voice was not what it once was: but still, the embers of it, with its liquidity, smoothness, intonation and phrasing are enough to cast his light upon the world. Critic Howard Garwood wrote of him, "He has the face you'd want on your neighborhood bar owner - seamed, rumpled, and infinitely kind.... It's the face of a man who has seen life and triumphed, and who proclaims his joy of living through one of the best sets of pipes in the business."

And as for K.D. Lang's voice, 2002 found it still in top form. It's a thing of unearthly, silken beauty, a voice that comes along only once in a generation: in her case, from Alberta, Canada. I remember seeing her once on late night television, early in her career, wearing the silliest cowgirl outfit and hopping up and down, and wishing I could tell her that with her voice, she didn't need to hop, she could leave that to Herman's Hermits. Of course, I couldn't, but she seems to have figured it out, anyway.

The title song, as done by this pair, boasts all the colors of the rainbow. And some of the quieter ballads are still waters running deep, indeed. Just listen, to say, "La Vie En Rose," or "If We Never Meet Again."

I am lucky enough to have seen this pair present this repertory in person, at New York's Radio City Music Hall, in the most striking of circumstances, to wit: late September, 2001, about two weeks after the 9/11 destruction of the World Trade Center, and so much of downtown Manhattan. I already had my ticket, and anxiously watched the paper to see if they would keep the date: they did, and so did I. So did most of the ticket holders, I believe: there were empty seats, but not that many. Took ages to get through security, of course. You can believe that emotions ran high in that theater, on stage and in the audience: you could describe it as a love-in. And as for the music that came from that stage - it was simply blessed, and unforgettable. Lucky for all of us, the music, so evanescent in live performance, stays with us on this cd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
.....and it certainly is with artists like Tony Bennett taking the youngsters of today under his wing and showing us all how good they can be together.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
got this delivered yesterday and played it in the car on the way to work - maybe not a good choice - a bit too mellow to wake up to in the morning. Very smooth and some wonderful orchestration. sometimes a bit too much Tony Bennett and not enough kd lang for my personal taste, but still, I think this will be one that I keep coming back to time and again.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Very mooth, and the voices compliment each other. Would like to hear a similar project where they tackle another subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)