Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 4 January 2016
Good value fir the one penny I paid for it used although the reproduction is not ever so good. I enjoyed the commentry about the different marks of Spit with their engines and operational uses. OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
not watched this DVD, bought it for my father, he was pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
He loves it and watches it time and again as he was" There" when the 2nd War was going on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
I WAS ABSORBED FROM THE VERY START OF THIS VIDEO. Excellent compilation of the history of this superb fighting machine. This is amust have for anyone interested in our war machines of ww2. GREAT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
I like this for the history of the aeroplane and its development over the production run
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
bought the whole series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
I bought this DVD because it was cheap and, as something of a specialist in this aircraft, was curious to see what you could get at such a cheap price, especially as it included p&p. I am pleased to report that it was comprehensive, well reported, cogent and told me some things I didn't know. Not to be immodest, but the latter is not easy
I thoroughly recommend this DVD and you should not be put off by the price

To criticise, there was rather too much use of the same zoomy images, mostly of Caroline Grace doing slow rolls and passes and others of her ilk at air shows. It is just padding, to fill out the spaces between original footage. There was no mention at all of Castle Bromwich, the shadow factory system, production figures, etc. it is more about the aircraft in service use than the system that produced it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this video and learnt a lot about the Spitfire, though admittedly I didn't know a lot to start with! Good narration and informative. The only criticism is as noted by another reviewer that there are too many shots of air show rolls and passes. but this won't stop me from watching it again on another wet Summer's Sunday afternoon like today.
Recently learnt that it was the Hurricane which was the workhorse but doesn't seem to get enough credit, as the Spitfire seems to have stolen the show. Admittedly, they are different generation planes which is probably one of the reasons the Spitfire is viewed as more 'sexy' if it's not too perverse to label a war machine as such.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2012
It really IS the story of the Spitfire and not another familiar run-through of the Battle of Britain. The Supermarine Spitfire may have been the single most graceful airplane to come out of World War II and deserves its own treatment.

Reginald Mitchell and his altruistic efforts are described. We get a bit of information on the Schneider Trophies he won and his Angst over German war preparations. Much attention is necessarily given over to the Battle of Britain but the role of Spitfires in the shipping war and over Dunkirk are also dealt with. There is just enough information provided on the technical details of the prominent Marks -- V, IX, and XIV -- without there being too much. The armament configurations for each wing are described briefly.

It's not an especially balanced presentation. Successful air attacks on the beaches of Dunkirk are described as partly a function of the fact that British fighters could spend only 15 minutes in the area at combat speed. The statistics on British and German planes downed during the Battle of Britain are mentioned, but nothing is said of the Bf 109's having only 20 minutes of flight time over an enemy landscape. In addition, the Spitfire's tight turn is mentioned more than once but never the faster roll rate of the 109, nor its fuel-injection system which enabled it to dive suddenly while the Rolls Royce Merlin, being gravity fed, had a tendency to sputter in negative g's. It takes nothing away from the elegance and effectiveness of any device to point out its limitations.

The images are all newsreel footage with some additional shots of a Spitfire or two carefully restored to airworthiness. The narration is aptly informative. There are no talking heads. Overall, a nice job.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)