Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
66
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 April 2010
This fourth season of Stargate SG-1 is somewhat superior to the previous season and despite the series overly episodic nature is very entertaining. This season sees the SG-1 team deal with Replicators, Russians, primitive Unas and a resurgent Apophis, among other things.

This series includes many very good episodes such as the season premier `Small Victories', the brilliantly funny `Upgrades' and the more serious episodes `The Curse' and `Serpents Venom'. This season also includes the episode `Window of Opportunity' which is my all time favourite Stargate SG-1 episode and the best time loop episodes ever made. There are far less poor episodes in this season with only really `The Other Side' and `2010' being really bad.

The acting and writing of the series remain as good as ever but their does seem to be a bit of an improvement in the special effects for this season, especially in the season finale `Exodus'. Overall this is a very good, if episodic season of SG-1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
Obviously, Season 4 follows up on the cliffhanger Season 3 left us on.

Season 4 could quite possibly be one of the best out of the entire series. The writers have picked up on fans complaints about useless episodes and are now making more episodes that contribute to the storyline. The humour of SG1 is really shown in the episode "Window Of Opportunity". We also discover hidden, yet obvious strong feelings between 2 characters and lose a familiar character which is quite a sad moment. This season really picks up the the pace, what with the show finding its footing in Season 3, and shows just how big a threat Apophis can become, not to mention political squabbles as Russia has a big surprise for the audience...

Overall, this is one of the most epic seasons in the series, with resonable twists and surprises and improved special effects, this is the season that lead SG1 to be the best Sci-Fi series ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2003
Stargate: SG1 - following the úber hit film "Stargate" There was always scope for a series, with so many untied strings - and now in its fifth series, the stargate name has proven to be a complete and utter Star Trek beater, with the sci-fi elements beautifully mixed with the action and the underlying political influences it really is the genre #1. Series 4: Is probably the best of all the series, with the pathetic replacement of Daniel really annoying alot of the series fans in S5. If you are going to buy any one series of SG1 then buy this one! And if you are going to buy any other Sci-Fi, no ANY other box set full stop - then again - stop, and buy this one... Absolutely 5 stars...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Great at first, though an old idea.
The reason I have derated an otherwise good episode is the blatant stupidity of the writer.
I refused to see how it ended just minutes before the end. Why? Despite all the evidence, Daniel Jackson still walks up to and touches the machine and is in fact allowed to do that! Sorry, but a plot has to have some believability and the notion that this idiot would even still be in SG1 is totally fantastic. Yes we understand that he supposed to be the voice of reason, wisdom, intelligence and compassion. Sometimes though, he just comes across as a complete dork that should, as he's been told countless times to "shut up!"
No, the illogicality and stupidity were too much to bear this time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
So i have been working my way through the Stargate series on LoveFilm and always graded my shows. Now on LoveFilm Instant and all change this seems to be the only way i can grade it while writing my thoughts.

The show was good and a possible new group into the Stargate world and some new characters which could easily be reused in future episode.

*turns out this is about the whole series and not the episode, half way through and this series is really getting me into the Stargate franchise, hope they keep up the good work.*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2004
This has to be my favourite Stargate SG1 season and I'm writing this towards the end of season 7. This season seems to include many episodes involving the Tokra but don't let that put you off! This season also builds on the relationship between Sam and Jack, leaving us wondering if that will be addressed when Stargate finishes. This is a great season with many funny episodes such as "Window Of Opportunity", which is based on Groundhog Day.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
I did not enjoy as the previous seasons. A bit of a boring, keeps repeating itself. Here starts that the story line is cut abruptly without any tie up.
Though the commentary is fun but I would have appreciated couple of them with the main actors not only the director and the visual effects producer, occasionally the writer(s).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Pretty damn good. Season 4 was when SG1 really started to get "into the swing" of things and it shows, with better special fx and the like. I still prefer Stargate Atlantis but this is still worth watching and of course gives you the "back story" to Atlantis and puts it into context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I loved the Stargate series when it was on the TV so now we have box sets to watch again and again.
This sci fi series is one of the best, the story lines are original and follow on each episode. The characters are realistic.
Great series for any who likes different things
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I love Stargate SG-1 and this is the best series so far. The writers and actors really got into their stride in this series and let rip in the best way possible. For every fan out there - add this to your collection and enjoy hugely!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here