Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2004
Superb double CD from the vastly underrated Korgis. The set actually includes the entire contents of each of their three albums, plus four worthwhile extras. This music really should have reached a greater audience than it has so far managed to, since it's of genuinely high quality and the main influences on it (Beach Boys, Beatles etc) are not exactly esoteric. Admittedly the lyrical and musical whimsy can at times seem somewhat eccentric, but that really shouldn't deter anyone from exploring this. Very good quality transfer and useful, interesting sleeve information.
33 Comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2008
Korgis was a band with a different kind of music. Sometimes excentric, sometimes so in love... this compilation brings all of them, really cause the three first albums are here completelly (except the excellent album This World's For Everyone from 1992). Some songs (just 2) appears here in single format, one of them is a very beautiful love song All The Love In the World. Great Song is Don't Look Back, song title of this compilation (it's a non-album song) the most in love song of Korgis. Great songs like that are too: That was My Big Mistake, If I Had You, Can't We Be Friends Now, Living On The Rocks, If It's Alright With You Baby , and a very happy: It's No Good Unless You Love Me. You must listen this tracks as they are great, and the other are likely greats too. Korgis was and is a great group!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
The Korgis "Don't Look Back - The Very Best Of" is the definitive best of 2CD Album.The title track "Don't Look Back" released more than once as a single in the UK should have been a hit single here in the UK as well as some of there other singles like "All The Love In The World",I Just Can't Help It","Rover's Return", and "Young N Russian".They are all included as well as the UK hit singles "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" If I Had You" and the small hit "If It's Alright With You Baby"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2010
"Very good quality transfer" says the reviewer below, supported by 33 other readers. Thanks a lot: it's just awful! A song as sublime as "Everybody's got to learn sometime" deserves better. Such quality transfer is just unacceptable. The CD age may be over, but as a CD buyer, I know what I speak about. Everyone looking for a Korgis collection especially for "Everybody's got to learn sometime", run away from this! (and yes, I know, their other work is great as well, but certainly not with this sound)
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2008
Okay, they only had one major hit-single, but they made three excellent albums with great songs on them. This compilation has all the material from those LPs and more. It's literate, humorous, melodic and well- produced. More commercial and more "eighties" than their forerunners, Stackridge, but just as enjoyable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Korgis had some great pop records in the late 1970s and early 1980s and this fabulous compilation brings together the best and most successful tracks. It is also testament to a great group.
The group originally was made up of James Warren (vocals/bass) and Andy Davis (drums). Also there was Stuart Gordon (violin) and Phil Harrison (keyboards) as unofficial members.
Their first chart success was the single "If I had you". This reached number 15 in the UK charts. Their next hit single was "Everybody's got to learn sometime". This reached number 5 in the UK chart. This was a hit in America as well as the UK.
"If its alright with you", and "Rovers Return", followed. But they were not big hits.
The group had been successful so far with two albums but as the third album came out, and the release of "that was my big mistake", the group line up changed.

There is easily plenty of tracks here and I certainly one of the better compilations but I would have liked there to be the inclusion of the fabulous, but failed chart entry, of the Christmas single "wish you a merry Christmas". Sadly not. And as yet there is still not a definitive release of the Korgis. However this is a great collection of tracks.
The group had a brief taste of success but other pop artists have covered their songs many times and the group is fondly remembered. This compilation is a great representation of the sort of great song writing and clever harmonies of The Korgis.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 September 2009
I reckon a lot of people got into The Korgis on the back of a love of Stackridge. I did things the other way round. I was hooked when I heard 'If I Had You' on its release in 1979(?). Subsequently, I collected all three of their Rialto albums as they came out and they're included here in their entirety. The first album featured a large pool of musicians, but it was basically an Andy Davis/James Warren project. The aforementioned hit is a Lennonesque pop song in a similar mould to 'Number 9 Dream'. The first album, however, was an unpredictable mix, with Davis's deep baritone on the bassy 'Young And Russian' contrasting sharply against Warren's boyish tones. There's even a mad piece of r&b, 'Mount Everest Sings The Blues'.

Davis left during the making of 'Dumb Waiters', a more cohesive set which features the strongest collection of tracks. Warren promoted a couple of bandmates (Stuart Gordon was one, I forget the name of the other) to Korgi status, but the songs were all Davis/Warren compositions. Warren later commented that he had difficulty singing the Davis songs as they were in a low register, but the album didn't suffer. It's a much-more keyboard oriented album than their debut, full of unforgettable tunes, which is what The Korgis were all about.

The third album, 'Sticky George' is similar in style to 'Dumb Waiters' and is heavier on dreamy ballads ('All The Love In The World', 'That Was My Big Mistake' and 'Living On The Rocks') though 'Don't Say That It's Over' provides some contrast. 'Nowhere To Run' is The Korgis' big mistake, one of the many nuclear war ditties doing the rounds at the time. Bleakness wasn't their strong point.

The Korgis music wasn't challenging nor was it as sophisticated as Stackridge's. Their agenda, however, was potential pop hits. If you're a sucker for a good tune, this is fantastic value.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I brought this on a whim as i love " If I had You" but the rest of the album wasn't any good.. Shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
I only bought it for the one track " everybody's got to learn sometime" which is a classic the other tracks are OK but not in the same class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)