Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
31
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2017
In Great Condition-Thanks a million
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
I cannot describe this album better than Chris Barrett does in the Amazon review.
I didn't think Nick could better Boatman's Call, which I adore, but this is up there with it.
Interesting that Chris Barrett uses the word mesmerising in his review, because that is the word that also springs to my mind when I listen to Nocturama.
It has more variation of pace than Boatman's Call, but every track is brilliant.
I am so glad I discovered Nick Cave. How did I live without him before?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are some tracks on Nocturama that fall below Nick Cave's high standards, like the overlong and somewhat indulgent Babe, I'm On Fire and the raucous, messy Dead Man In My Bed. Fortunately these are more than compensated for by the wealth of beautiful gems like He Wants You and Right Out Of Your Hand, both gentle ballads with poetic lyrics and lovely melodies.
Bring It On is a strong rock ballad, Still In Love with its moving lyrics is another slow jewel as is There Is A Town with its mournful chorus. The masterpiece of the album is Rock Of Gibraltar, an exquisite love song where Cave rhymes "Gibraltar" with "alter", "Malta" and "altar." This is a melodic and lyrical classic, ranking amongst Nick's very best compositions.
I don't see how some reviewers can dismiss this album as a failure when it contains so many superb songs with intelligent, moving lyrics and memorable tunes, including She Passed By My Window. Yes, the last track Babe, I'm On Fire is five minutes too long but this isn't a bad song, just too raw and too long. Nocturama is a great work and it deserves four stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2007
This album will give you the measure of a master balladeer at his very best. True, he's as inconsistent as the next artist, but at his best, Cave has a wonderful talent for finding melodies in the darkest places. For heartrending riffs, listen to 'Bring it on', for fond and witty paeons, hear 'Rock of Gibraltar and as for 'He wants you', it remains one of his best ever songs, matched only perhaps by 'Love letter' off 'No more shall we part'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2008
A more diverse and uplifting album would be hard to imagine with fabulous Cave songs interwoven with the unique creativity of The Bad Seeds who remain one the finest rock bands in the world.

There are some huge songs here - "Wonderful life" is without doubt one of Cave's best yet, and there are numereous others where the creative processes have come together wonderfully including "Bring it on" and "still in love". There is simply not a bad track on the album - even the often critised and without doubt self indulgent 15 minute "Babe I'm on fire" has it's own charm - when you are in the right mood - it works best for me when I'm in the kitchen drinking too much whilst creating really great chilli con carne.

Well it really is fair to say that no rock collection is going to be complete without this album, it is not really like anything else Cave & the Seeds have done but is up there with their best work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2003
Nick Cave albums generally fall into two categories - mean, hungry stompers (Murder Ballads, Henry's Dream) and melancholy, subdued classics (No More Shall We Part, Boatman's Call). This album fits into neither - and depending on your perspective this is either a Bold New Move, or a Neither One Thing Nor The Other.
For me it's the latter. It's pleasant enough, and enjoyable in places, but lacks the guts or the heart of his best work. Highlights like Bring It On work well but you're almost left wondering whether he hasn't worked on the songs as much as he could. There isn't the depth or simplicity of previous work.
If you;re a Cave fan, this is definitely worth buying - it's not a bad album. But for those curious about his work, you're best trying one of his stronger albums.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 December 2011
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds have set their critical bar so high in recent years that this album is, for me, probably their weakest during the 2000s. It doesn't have the consistency of great songs as has Abattoir Blues, Dig Lazarus Dig, or their masterpiece, No More Shall We Part. Nevertheless, it is still a very good record. leaving most other 'rock' records in the shade.

Standout songs are Wonderful Life, He Wants You and Bring It On (the latter being right up there with Cave's best). However, on a recent play of the album (the first in a few years I'll admit), I was struck by the majestic masterpiece that is the album's epic 15-minute closer Babe I'm On Fire. On first hearing this song appears to be a (rare) piece of Cave over-indulgence, comprising 38 (yes count them!) identical verses, followed by a few interspersed choruses, leading to an initial impression of irritating repetition. But, on subsequent listens this song grows in stature until it achieves the aforementioned classic status. In its gradual increase in intensity, it begins to live in the same league as such other extended epics such as the Velvet's Sister Ray, Yo La Tengo's And The Glitter Is Gone and even Bowie's Cygnet Committee.

The song's wonderfulness is, of course, substantiated by some of the wittiest lyrics Cave has thus far set on paper - each verse just gets funnier and funnier, with Cave stretching the limits of lyricism to achieve some marvellous rhymes. My current favourite is the following:

The athlete with his hernia says it
Picasso with his Guernica says it
My wife with her furniture
Everybody!
Babe, I'm on fire

Marvellous stuff. Oh, and if this wasn't enough, there are backing vocals on this song (and two others on the album) from legendary Blockheads, Messrs Jankel, Watt-Roy, Gallagher and Turnbull.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
I really don't understand why this album is considered the worst of the Bad Seeds' records unless of course, it's because this record has the peculiar distinction of being the most uplifting and generally the happiest of all Nick Cave's albums. There are very few murder ballads here, nor are there the sorrows detailed on predecessors The Boatman's Call, or No More Shall We Part. Instead, there are a lot of tender ballads and flowery poetry in songs such 'He Wants You' and 'Right out of Your Hand' placed around the odd rockers such as 'Dead man in my bed' and the 19 minute epic 'Babe i'm on Fire'. Nick Cave never does anything by halves, and consequently this album seems to be an open expression of love. If you're accustomed to the more edgy or darker side of Nick Cave's art then this album could be a shock and might not be to everyone's taste, but nonetheless, it's an interesting experience that sticks out among the Bad Seeds catalogue and is something of an underrated gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Now (unfairly) considered one of the low points of Nick Cave's career, it certainly didn't sound that way at first listen. Songs are well written, if a bit unexceptional, Nick's singing is confident and The Bad Seeds' playing once again phenomenal. Certainly worth listening singer-songwriter stuff, just not on a par with Nick's best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This is not an unlikable album. However, given the time lavished on his previous two masterpieces this one is quick and dirty by comparison. Now quick and dirty is something that sometimes suits rock'n'roll, but it's something that you can't really get away with on tender love ballads which almost all of these are. In Wonderful life he actually fluffs a line or two. He Wants You is pretty but a little more work on the melody and the demo-standard piano would have made it truly great. Right out of your Hand is a rather muddy sounding affair but Bring it On is an obvious uptempo single. There is a slight suspicion that all is not well with the band here. Blixa Bargeld would never play with them again and here he is given a joint lead vocal perhaps as a last olive branch.

Dead Man in My Bed is an effective rocker but the next four mid-tempo tracks don't quite reach the usual heights of Cave compositions. There are plenty of good ideas between them but none of them are polished to clarity. Lyrically, Rock of Gibralter offers some quite jarring lyrical ryhming as if it's an intellectual exercise to see how many rhymes for Gibralter he can find (Malta? Altar? Falter? etc.) There is nice violin on She Passed by my Window. The 15 minutes of Babe, I'm on Fire are genuinely wonderful though. Very few artists have attempted to write a pop song of that length - Lou Reed's Like a Possum springs to mind - but here Cave gives us a bass riff that is just so infectious that you could listen to it all day (which you almost do). I actually never tire of this track despite its duration

So plenty of interesting ideas here but an incredible lack of professional production which could have turned this into more than a demo tape. I've listened to it maybe 50 times and I still can't quite follow most of the melodies, particularly on the ballads.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.50
£9.99
£10.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)