Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£126.42+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2000
A Man and a Woman is French "subtitle" film at its best. In a style that is now regularly parodied by perfume adverts and French & Saunders, the film is a combination of long dialogues, lingering camera shots, sports cars, smoking, colour and black and white shots and samba music. The main characters are beautiful just to look at, while the French language sounds beautifully romantic in comparison to English flirtation. Anouk Aimee went on to marry Albert Finney. The film is both passionate and engaging while not being cheesey or intense. It is enough to inspire someone to move abroad and fall in love!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
A beautiful film with a beautiful musical score that's so evocative of France in the 1960s. First time around it DID inspire me to move to Paris and it hasn't lost any of its magic for me today. I just wish that they'd release a CD with the original score - my old vinyl LP is a bit scratchy now.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2000
This is absolutely one of my most favourite films - moving, romantic, amusing, bitter-sweet, heartwarming. The two stars are very attractive which makes it even better. Entertaining subplot of motor-racing which amazingly fits in perfectly with the romance. Gorgeous from start to finish and you hardly notice it isn't in colour.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
The film did not arrive until 8th January despite being despatched on 29th December 2015 and being advised that it would be delivered between 2nd and 6th January - It was also supposed to be with English audio and sub-titles but was straight into only French, It will need to be returned.Very disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2000
In Claude Lelouche's genre defining movie, un homme meets une femme and love conspires but not without some unexpected yet touching complications. Sensitively put together with a tenderness which is close to reality, this is a wonderful movie, which has become one of my all time favourites. Sad, happy, fast slow, the pace keeps changing but you'll never lose interest.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's not surprising that Un Homme et Une Femme/A Man and a Woman proved a smash hit: cars and stunts for the guys and romance for the gals, an impossible to forget love theme and a slight enough plot not to get in the way of the characters or be damaged by subtitling or dubbing. Rather than a love story it's really the prelude to a love story - or at least a possible love story (an ambiguity the belated sequel would find few friends by resolving) - with the mutually widowed Jean-Louis Trintignant's racing driver and Anouk Aimée's continuity girl still in love with her dead husband meeting through their weekend trips to visit their children in boarding school. It's a fitting start to their romance since the film was born when director Claude Lelouch, after driving all night trying to work out how to save his disastrous Les Grands Moments, found himself on a beach at six in the morning watching a woman with her child presumably making the most of what little time they had together. Shot on the hoof with a tiny crew with exteriors shot in color to raise funding for a TV sale but the interiors shot in black and white to keep costs down, the film still works surprisingly well, striking just enough home truths about relationships and doing it with enough charm and skill to make the odd misstep forgivable, although if you've seen the sly opening scenes of Lelouch's La Bonne Annee you might find it extremely difficult to keep a straight face during the ending.

Both this and the sequel, A Man and a Woman 20 Years Later, are currently available at a bargain price on a nice PAL 3-disc set with English subtitles from Amazon.fr (the third disc of extras has no subtitles, however).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
Last saw this movie in the sixties when I was in my 'teens. Loved it then, and have always remembered the soundtrack. A little apprehensive about playing it again after so long, but no regrets whatsoever - still a lovely film, well worth the wait! Sensitively produced - totally un-smutty (how nice) and with excellent original race footage from the era. A true classic which will withstand the years.......I will be happy to watch this again and keep, in in my collection. Quality of DVD is excellent, and item arrived on the day promised. Absolutely one hundred per cent satisfied. Thank you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
I have always like French films i remember going to the Cinema to watch this movie and it had a huge effect on me emotionally and still does .

A fantastic director Claude Lelouch and two tremendous actors Jean-Louis Trintignant and Anouke Aimee and a very strong story line . The music compliments the emotions in the film the wonderful Francis Lai of Love Story fame produces the most stunning soundtrack ever . I never tire of listening to it , its very romantic the perfect music to play to your loved one while entertaining and drinking that glass of wine over that meal for two.

I am thrilled to own a copy of this film and would recommend this to all those special people like me who is a romantic at heart.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2003
This movie has a very plain script; little dialogue and a lot of narrative thoughts and yet it is this simplicity that makes this movie so captivating and realistic . The acting by aimme and trintignant is superb; the music is brilliant and the story is simply realistic and so charming . Two adults who have lost their loved ones fall in love and overcome their past through each other. Outstanding. This movie will never get old....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
This DVD was sent quickly and received well within the time-frame expected. Even though the seller was in the UK the DVD came from the US, however it's still playable. My query about whether the DVD would be compatible outside the US was answered promptly.
Overall, I was v. happy with the service, the seller and would use them again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)