Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.97+ £1.26 shipping

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2004
I am not a die hard metal fan, indeed I am not really a fan of metal atall, having approaced it from the early 70s rock crossover. This is,though, one of my all time most listened to albums.
I bought asecond-hand copy of the vinyl version nearly twenty years ago. The mostimprotant thing to note is that the running order of the CD is wrong: Theoriginal record clearly has side one beginning with Prelude (Obviously!!)and running through to Island of Domination. Side two starts with Victimof Changes etc. When you see this obvious running order (and it makes alot more musical sense when you listen to it like this) you will see thatthis is, in fact, a classic 70s concept album.
But what a heavy one atthat!
Yes, it is doom laden. Yes it is heavy. Yes it is deep, almostphilosophical at times. But it transports the listener through a fantasticrange of emotions from despair, through aggression and nostalgia to anihilistic, apocalyptic conclusion.
Buy it and indulge yourself
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
this in my opinion is the only album of priest worth having the sound is unlike anything else they ever did it can only be described as DOOM ROCK of the highest order the album opens with the extremely heavy VICTIM OF CHANGES and the whole thing keeps up the slow heavy doom throughout,rob halfords vocals are superb as well,there are more reflective moments also such as DREAMER DECIEVER and PRELUDE but this only serves to highten the brilliant riffs of the heavier stuff else where back in 1976 this was a revelation and its a shame the band didnt carry on in this direction this ranks as high as early sabbath!buy it now!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2005
The whole album announces a mesmerising symphony of heavy metal at its purest. I've always considered Judas Priest to be the original purveyors of pure heavy metal. Ill educated metalists claim Black Sabbath (the started as a sixties protest band) or even more misguided Led Zeppelin (who always denied they were 'metal') as the first metal band - madness. Judas Priest were unashamedly metal and this album captures the power that that music can exude. Truly a classic that should cross musical genre and be sitting up there with supposedly classic albums like the Beatles White Album, Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon, Zeppelin IV etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2005
This is the first great Priest album, although people who only know them from their later stuff may not recognise this as such. There is almost an element of 'prog rock' to this album and it is not all heavy (though a lot of it is). One of the quieter tracks, 'Dreamer Deciever' is totally awesome, Rob's singing (on the original LP on Gull records he was listed as 'Bob Halford') is totally amazing on this track and it is great the way that it segue's into the heavier track 'Deceiver'.
Victim of Changes - One of the best Priest songs ever great singing, great Riff and fab soloing, what more could you ask for?
Well, I could ask for this whole album to be remastered because the production sounds a bit thin. Imagine this with modern production, it really would be mindblowing.
The Ripper- Pure theatre, one of priests early hits, always popular. This too would benefit from remastering.
Dreamer Deceiver - Slowy, great build up, amazing singing, great imagery, one of the best slower songs ever. Probably Priest's best slowy ever (or equal first with 'Before the Dawn' from the Killing Machine album)
Deceiver - Great heavy track to end side one.
Prelude - just what it says (prog rock intro? Borrowed (or lent to?) Queen?
Tyrant - Brilliant heavy song, a classic
Genocide- Amazing and very heavy song. One of my top 5 Priest tracks ever. Great riff, lots of interesting bits, time changes, excellent solo's. The bit where the song slows down in the space of couple of bars is puure class. If you haven't heard this version of the song (better than the live version on unleashed in the East , although that is good too and the production is heavier. I would absolutely love to hear this version of the song with modern production)
Epitaph - A strange ballady number, but fun once you get used to it.
Island of Domination - Great weird vocals, another good heavy track.
One of the best Priest albums. Will be interesting for people who only know their later stuff. Love it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2006
Priest's second album, this is a monumental effort and a huge leap forward from the somewhat lacklustre 'Rocka Rolla'. This is the album on which Priest proved themselves masters of metal and almost every song on the album is a classic. 'Victim of Changes' is possibly Priest's finest hour - eight minutes of perfection. Elsewhere, 'Tyrant' with its layered harmonies, the SM-ish 'Island of Domination' and the powerful 'Genocide' are classics. 'The Ripper' still features in Priest's sets and is campy metal melodrama, while the pairing of 'Dreamer Deceiver' and 'Deceiver' is superb. You can't go wrong with this album. It should be recognised as the utter classic it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Brilliant album. I've just got round to buying this on CD after having it on cassette for many years. Like 'Rocka Rolla' I think it's a timeless classic, capturing the band at more reflective times whilst evolving their sound further towards the 'Metal' they're renowned for.

It's simply a fantastic slice of 70's Rock/Metal, packed with great tracks, of which 'Dreamer Deceiver/Deceiver' is probably my favourite. It's an amazing, beautifully epic double bill that really is one complete whole when played together. There's some lovely variation and contrast as the song weaves its spell and it's far less generic than their later but more well known material.

I won't do a track by track run down but would just say that anyone interested in early Priest and 70's rock should probably own this album.

A 5 star album then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
First off, there's something I want to say about the CD itself. The cover art to this CD is one of the best Ive seen, a clear pre-cursor to the 80's metal covers depicting hell etc. Its my fave Priest cover too.
Onto the music, well I've not actually heard Rocka Rolla but from what ive read it wasn't really metal and wasnt really that good, I can say right now that THIS cd is awesome! Victim of Changes and The Ripper open this album up in serious metallic style, I like Dreamer/Deciever (an obvious dry run of Hear Come the Tears, which was a dry run of the monumental Beyond the Realms of Death), then comes Deciever which is probibly the most brutal track on the album, great stuff!
the short intro Prelude the Tyrant breaks the album up nicely (presumably it was the start to side 2 of the LP), the weirdest track is Epitaph which sounds like it couldve popped up on any pre-News of the World Queen album! the album closes nicely with Island of Domination.
Its a shame this album wasnt included in the remasters releases of the Priest catalogue, as an extra track or 2 and a bit of cleaning up wouldve been welcome. Still its a brilliant album and a worthy metal record.
5/5
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2005
The whole album announces a mesmerising symphony of heavy metal at its purest. I've always considered Judas Priest to be the original heavy metal band. Ill educated metalists claim Black Sabbath (they started as a sixties protest band) or even more misguided Led Zeppelin (no way) as the first metal band - madness. Judas Priest were unashamedly metal and this album captures the power that that music can exude. Truly a classic that should cross musical genre and be sitting up there with supposedly classic albums like the Beatles White Album, Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon, Zeppelin IV, the dreadful Queen, Oasis or any of that rubbish that clutters up those worthless 'Best Ever..' charts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2004
This album is a dramatic step-up from the original album, Rocka Rolla, but still does not come across as heavy as Priest's later material. If you have listened to any Judas Priest after this album, this will seem tame, since this is one of their pre-thrash efforts, and is not as heavy as their later stuff (just compare this to Painkiller, it's barely the same band). It is, however, good 70's hard rock, which is where Judas Priest began, and is therefore suited to their more hardcore fans. If you are starting out with Judas Priest, I would not advise buying this album first, since most of their later albums are not in this vein at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£22.66

Need customer service? Click here