Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
14
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2003
If you have never seen Monarch of the Glen or (like me) only started watching it during series 2 then the purchase of series 1 is a must.
The first series sees Archie conned by his family into travelling to Glenbogle from his home and new business in London in order to take up his new role as Laird of the Glenbogle estate, chief of the MacDonald clan. In true Monarch style, every episode has a good underlying story which is supplemented with a good dose of mad cap antics from Hector and Kilwillie. Golly tries his best to educate Duncan as a Gillie, as well as being his mentor. Archie is constantly put under pressure from the bank but most of all his family which leaves Molly and Lexie to hold things together.
Monarch of the Glen is perfect Sunday evening escapism, no sex, drugs and rock and roll, just wholehearted family entertainment filmed with a backdrop of spectacular Scottish scenery.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2002
With eight episodes this double video is a bargain! The entire first series is a laugh out loud classic. The first episode is particularly good, our first introduction to the residents of Glenbogle House! Every episode, however, provides another reason why this show is a hit.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2002
For all those who adore this prgramme, this video is ideal. It includes all of the first series starting with archie being tricked into staying and helping to turn the estate around until the will they won't they senario with katrina where justin archie's longterm girlfriend arriving back on the scene in time to ruin things! A fabulous video, which doesn't lose any of the glenbogle magic from watching it first on tv. For the amount of episodes you get, its remarkably good value for money and who could resist the very attractive alistair mckenzie in a pair of the shorts in the second episode!!! I just can't wait for the next series to be released on video!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2004
I started to watch MOTG from series 2 and missed how the characters ended up in the Scottish Highlands. After spending a couple of nights watching the 1st series it cleared up a lot of puzzles and questions. It is a great series and so have the rest of the show.
You would enjoy this dvd if you loved countryside, humour and action with all this filmed in the wonderful settings of the Scottish Highlands.
All ready ordered the 2nd series and I am certainly saving for the rest of the other series.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2002
With a home in the highlands of Scotland for several months each year before returning to the US, watching "Monarch..." on video reminds me of why I love this place. With Richard Briers at his befuddled best and the still wonderful and beautiful Susan Hampshire being the real brains behind the family, and Alastair Mackenzie, Lorraine Pilkington and the rest of the remarkable cast, Glenbogle and the highlands are captured to perfection. Each episode is wonderful; funny,touching, happy... and the landscapes...well, impossible to describe perfectly. I know there's been a second series...but where is it and when will it be available? But, even without a 2nd series, this is a can't miss. Missing it would be a mistake. David L
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2008
I've never seen the early series of MOTG. I started watching it from series 4 every friday night on BBC with my mum and dad and I loved it. It is one of my most favourite dramas and always will be, it brings memories back to me of when I was younger. Brill Drama
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I did not see the first episode so i got the dvd for that as one of the reasons.I think Alastair Mackenzie who played Archie is so good looking. I liked the first series anyway before it all changed starting with Hector death.When Archie left, followed by Lexie then lovely simple Duncan that was it, not the same. Saying all that, Monarch of the Glen is wonderful & funny. It make me laugh & the scenery is beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
This is an excellent series and especially having seen some of the areas where they were filmed in Scotland. Definitely worth purchasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
Fantastic all round family entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
Great series!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)