Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
84
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2017
Brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
I originally bought these DVD's separately and at what a price! This box set is excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2006
Colonel Jack (Two L’s) O’Neill (Richard Dean Anderson), Captain Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), Dr. Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) and Teal’c (Christopher Judge) return for a second season of pure Sci-Fi gold in ‘Stargate SG-1 Season 2’. From the cliffhanger finale of Season 1 we find the team, and the planet, in trouble, in the opening episode ‘The Serpent’s Lair’.
We however expect the team to pull through, not because it’s the first episode and it would make the continuation of the series impossible if the main characters were wiped out but because of the amazing character interaction that was set up in Season 1 and brought into Season 2.
From the first season, SG-1 and the SGC have made quiet a few powerful enemies so Season 2 sets about finding the team some allies. In the episode ‘Thor’s Chariot’ we get our first real indication of the might of the Asgard – a species of alien that look very like our stereotypical view of beings from other planets. However, this should not be looked at as a failing as, Stargate SG-1 has time and again tried to bring ‘real life’ into its shows.
The series really begins to come alive with the episodes ‘The Tok’ra (Part 1)’ and ‘The Tok’ra (Part 2)’ when we meet a group of friendly Goa’uld. This friendship puts fun new weapons and gadgets at the team’s disposal and we know that things are about to kick off.
However, alien gadgets are not what really sets Stargate out from the crowded science-fiction marketplace. It is the show’s adherence to science that makes some of the team’s amazing feats seem plausible, be it travelling through time (‘1969’) or experiencing the effects of a black hole (‘A Matter of Time’).
One thing that ‘Stargate SG-1 Season 2’ fails to deliver on however is special features. With approximately fifteen hours of actual episodes this is merely something disappointing rather than a reason not to buy the series.
To sum up – this is one box set that is well worth buying.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
My son adores Stargate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Well pleased & Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
amazing show doesn't show its age
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
One of the best serie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When we last left Our Heroes, they were on Apophis' ship, facing the impending destruction and/or enslavement of everyone on Earth.

So unsurprisingly, the second season of "Stargate SG-1" can only get better from there on. In fact, this is when the clever, innovative sci-fi series really started to gel together, with more intriguing storylines, character arcs, and some new alien allies -- basically, it all blooms.

Intending to blow up Apophis' ship, our heroes get captured by the Jaffa and thrown in a cell -- only to be unexpectedly rescued by Bra'tac (Tony Amendola), Teal'c's old teacher. As Earth mounts a pitiful defense against the Goa'uld, SG-1 joins with a small band of rebel Jaffa to stop Apophis' invasion -- but they may have to leave one of their number behind.

Obviously the Goa'uld make things awkward throughout the season, with the second episode featuring Sam (Amanda Tapping) being possessed by a Goa'uld during a rescue mission -- but it seems that it's part of a rebel Goa'uld faction called the Tok'ra. Teal'c's (Christopher Judge) son is kidnapped and brainwashed, and Daniel (Michael Shanks) finds that his beloved wife is pregnant with Apophis' child.

And of course, SG-1 has to deal with lots of other stuff -- insectile transformations, black holes, prison planets, Native American "spirits," invisible bugs, hostile alien orbs, reliving their most traumatic memories in a VR world, and time traveling to 1969. And O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) gets an ancient repository of knowledge downloaded into his head -- and he'll die if they can't reverse it.

"Stargate SG-1" really got into its stride in the second season -- the basic Air-Force-versus-evil-headsnakes story gets expanded out into a bunch of arcs. We get new villains, some surprising new allies, hints about the true origins of the Stargates and the human race, and corrupt factions on Earth who use the spare Stargate for evil ends.

The writing gets even steadier and the alien worlds more interesting -- even stuff that sounds goofy, like the planet of singing mushroom-people, somehow works. The drama is stronger, and the sci-fi usage of the Stargate ever more creative, such as when a black hole's gravity well keeps the gate open, and is slowly sucking Earth through the wormhole. Good, tense stuff.

Of course, all the action and sci-fi is heavily tempered with comedy. Even in grim situations, there's usually at least a few funny moments, such as Daniel's tour of the custodial closet. And of course, the dialogue is priceless -- most of the good stuff comes from O'Neill ("That's between you and your god. Oh, wait a minute! You are your god! That's a problem"), but Teal'c ("In my culture, I would be well within my rights to dismember you") and the others usually get some good ones as well.

Of the main cast, Amanda Tapping gets the juiciest role in this season -- Sam deals with the impending death of her father, becoming a Goa'uld host, and trying to deal with the feelings it left behind. Including a cute Tok'ra boyfriend. Yet when we see Sam's vulnerable sides, Tapping never lets her character be anything but a strong, capable military woman.

But the other actors aren't neglected -- Shanks' Daniel grapples with the news that his wife is pregnant with Apophis' baby, while Teal'c faces losing his entire family. Anderson is brilliant as the quirky, capable O'Neill, but he really gets brilliant when Jack's brain is being overwritten -- he has to emote and communicate without a comprehensible word.

The second season of "Stargate SG-1" is where the story began to really get great, building up a series of strong story arcs, funny dialogue, and strong characters. Definitely a must-see.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
Season two is where Stargate SG-1 really began to hit its stride. The strengths were all there in the first season, but the quality of the episodes was rather uneven; the show's second year is a much smoother ride. While season one had a number of classic episodes, season two is really packed full of them.
The season begins by resolving one cliffhanger and ends on another, so it makes most sense watch the box sets in order. If you don't, I doubt you'll be lost - the show is fairly episodic, especially this early on in its run - but it may spoil parts of season one for you. The box set includes a pair of first-season episodes to pad it out (no other extras, sadly) so if you haven't seen season one, "Thor's Hammer" and "Hathor" provide useful backstory for "Thor's Chariot" and the season finale respectively.
Like the first, this year lays a lot of groundwork for later seasons of the show. We learn more about the pasts of the members of SG-1, are introduced to some more of the galaxy's major races, and meet some characters who'll be popping up again years later. The episodes are a good mix of action, moral dilemmas, science fiction, and pure fun. A great year for the show.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
SG1 are back right where we left off from season 1.

Season 2 just makes the show double what it used to be (pardon the pun), introducing more System Lords on par with Apophis (Socar & Heru'ur), and this time Earth actually makes friends worth mentioning - the Tok'ra, who play an instumental role in this and following seasons to come. Also, we get to meet anoher Alien race (briefly) much more powerful than the Goa'uld, called the Asgard, who bare quite a resemblance to the Roswell Greys (which makes me smile at the fact that once again the writers have hit the nail on the head relating Stargate to the real world).

The show does it's usual, going from good to not so good stories, but overall gripping and providing great escapeism, with the season ending on another cliffhanger, again leaving you wanting more.

This is a big improvement on Season 1, and they now have included behind the scenes footage and commentaries. What baffles me is the numbering for each disc. The first disc is "Volume 2" - shouldn't it be "Volume 6" as Season 1 had 5 discs?? And how can an entire Season be 1 volume?? It confuses me more than it confuses fans why we never got to see the Furlings....woops to soon.

Anyway - overall the season is just as good as the first one, if not better. If Stargate SG1 has got your attention, then this is a must buy, because trust me, with each season it just keeps getting better.. If you still aren't sure about the series, then I'd still advise buying it, give it some more time and keep watching it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here