Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
24
4.3 out of 5 stars


VINE VOICEon 15 January 2003
The long-awaited WWE Anthology CD set is here! Spanning from the early "Federation Years", then onto the "Attitude Era" and finaly up to the present day "WWE Era", this 3 CD set features over 80 tracks of wrestler entrance themes and tv and PPV music. But what's it like? Well, for starters the CD is considerably cheap and it comes in a box set that flips open to reveal the 3 different CDs inside. There's also a leaflet listing the tracks with photos from all the eras and if you turn it over it can be used as a poster.
CD 1 features tracks from the early "Federation" days when the company was more child-friendly. It has an image of Hulk Hogan tearing off his shirt on the CD, and it's a nice trip down memory lane if like me you were watching the product during this time. All the classic tunes are here: "Real American" (Hulk Hogan's theme), Ultimate Warrior's theme, and even the theme from the WWF-funded Hulk Hogan movie No Holds Barred. Newer fans may scoff at and be unimpressed with some of the more cheesier songs (such as The Honky Tonk Man's "Cool, Cocky, Bad", which is so bad it's funny), but if you're a fan of this era, then you should enjoy this disc (apart from Bertha Faye's song, which is really dire).
CD 2 features songs from the "Attitude Era", and has Triple H (I think) making the "crotch-chop" DX sign on the CD. This disc features 35 songs, many of which have been released before, although many of these previous tracks have been jazzed up a little (some are better, Kurt Angle's is ruined though). Oddly enough, the tracks "Corporate Ministry", and Sable's and Dude Love's tracks aren't featured on this disc (they're on CD 1 instead), even though Sable is pictured in the leaflet as part of the "Attitude" section. The bad songs on here are the themes for Mark Henry, The Dudley Boyz, and Rikishi.
CD 3 is the WWE as it is now. The only bad songs on here are the themes for D-Von Dudley, Torrie Wilson and The Undertaker's latest theme. I didn't like Trish Stratus' and Stephanie Mcmahon's new themes when I first heard them on tv, but after listening to them here in full, I found that they were quite catchy.
Overall, this is a great CD set, although it's not perfect. It depends on your personal taste, but I found that I didn't enjoy all the songs, and the error with putting "Attitude Era" tracks on the "Federation Years" disc was rather foolish on the WWE's part. But there's still plenty to enjoy, and this is still remains the best WWE music compilation release yet.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2003
WWE Anthology is a great box set of 3 CDs of music from 3 generations of WWE superstars.It's also at a very good price...Usually WWE CDs cost about that much for 1 disc.
DISC 1--The Federation Years
This features some of the older themes which long time fans will love.It has most of the classics Hulk Hogan,Ultimate Warrior,Honky Tonk Man,Ted Dibiase,Bret,Owen Hart,Shawn Michaels,Diesel and Yokozuna.Some of the themes should have been on Disc 2 especially The Corporate Ministry and Dude Love which were from the Attitude Era but weren't on that disc.
After listening to this disc I felt like watching some old WWF PPVs from the late 80s/early 90s.
DISC 2--The Attitude Era
This disc offers themes from about 98-2000.Themes like DX,Stone Cold,Kane,Chris Jericho,The Rock,Ken Shamrock and Gangrel etc.These themes were from a great time in WWF and bring back some good memories of the Austin-McMahon feud and DX.This disc contains the most tracks (35) of the 3 discs.
DISC 3--NOW
This disc gives us 18 current tracks such as themes of Brock Lesnar,Rey Mysterio,2 Undertaker themes (his newest one and the one previous to that).Also there are PPV themes such as 'Fight' the SummerSlam 2002 theme.The box says track 17 is the theme for Judgment Day 02 but it is actually the Armageddon 02 theme 'The End'.Shane McMahon's theme has strangely been chosen for the NOW disc even though he's been gone about a year.Also Jericho's awesome song 'King Of My World' by Saliva is on here.Y2J should have kept that as his theme.
Although there are a lot of tracks on here that have already been released most of them are different versions.For example the New Age Outlaws theme on Disc 2 is different to the one previously released on The Music-Vol 3.It is the proper theme but without Road-Dogg's voice,just the music.Also Eddie Guerrero's theme is his first one and Jericho's is the one he uses now (remix of his first).Overall there are a lot more new tracks than you would think looking at the titles.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
well what can i say this is a MUST HAVE for all WWF/WWE fans. 3 disks of the most popular entrance songs from the wwf. I bought this as soon as it came into my local music shop..they had barely got it out of the box. I have to say that the sound is awsome and Kurt Angles (disk 2), The hurricane and Chris Jericho (disk 3) are just some of the best tracks on the tape. Buy it as soon as you can guys and gals..this is a must have if you have the other CD's, if you dont..well..most of the songs are on here anyway!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2002
With 3 CD's holding over 80 tunes you can't really go wrong. If you're a fan of the WWE/WWF (Whatever you call it these days) then you're not going to be without this complete package.
Starting on CD 1, "The Federation Years" you have such greats as Hulk Hogan, Bret Hart, Shawn Michael and the Honky Tonk Man but you also have classics you might have forgotten, the Bushwhackers? Los Boricuos? Hell even the great Million Dollar man is on here.
Then onto CD 2, "The Attitude Era" Austin, the man that went walkabout is the picture boy for "Attitude" but don't forget D-X. Also alot of the superstars of today are in their original gimmicks on this disk. Some real classics.......two many to name here.
And finally CD 3, "NOW" With the choice of the latest stars on this i was surprised Shane McMahon was on this one and not the Attitude. But overall this is cool.....Brock Lesnar, Eric Bischoff, The Hurricane. All that's missing is Victoria, Billy Kidman, Ric Flair and Batista and this would be the perfect CD for fans.......but maybe on the next release??
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2003
YES! At long last WWE have got something right! This CD is grest. The reason I wanted this album was that I wanted Entrance themes for my Jakks WWE Figures and this worked perfectly!
CD 1: I am a huge wrestling fan, but have only been so since the late 90s, so I didn't know much about these. The best are the Hulkster's, Bret Hart's, Jake The Snake's, Ultimate Warrior's, Honky Tonk Kid's, HBK Sexy Boy, Owen Hart R.I.P, Both Mick Foley's and Dude Love's and The Corporate Ministry. The worst are Bertha Faye's, Lex Express and Flash Funk.
CD 2: This is the best one! The best are Break it Down, Stone Cold's, Ass Man, Goldust's, D'Lo Brown's, Edge and Gangrel's, Kurt Angle is done in a really cool mix, Rikishi, Too Cool's, Tazz's, The Dudley's, HHH, Benoit, Hardcore Holly, Taker's and Y2J's. The worst are William Regal's, Mark Henry's and Fist. Mark Henry's was on WWF the Music Five, and william regal's should be his classical music.
CD 3: This is alright. The good ones are Shane, You're Gonna Pay, Hurricane, Trish, Rey Mysterio, Eric Bisch, Christians and Brock's are good. The bad ones are Torries and Y2Js.
Overall it is brilliant. They should have only used the ones that weren't on WWF THe Music 4 and 5. They should have added Perry Saturn's, Too Cool's old one and a couple of others. Also where's Road Dogg speak on N.A.O?Wassup wit dat! BUY IT!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2003
This album rocks. It's got everything that a wrestling fan would ever want music wise. Buy this album and prepare for a really good time listening to this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2004
WOW! The WWE has finally produced one of the best Cds to date. It has the entrance themes to most of the major stars from the past 15 years, from Hulk Hogan and Ted Debiase to Steve Austin and The Rock upto Brock Lesnar and Shane McMahon.My favourite ones are Smoking Gunns (Disc 1),I don't suck (Disc 2)and Hardcore Hollys theme (Disc 2). But it doesn't have superstars like Booker T and Rob Van Dam, but apart from that it is probably the best CD to date.
DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS GREAT TITLE,
GO AND BUY IT NOW !!!!!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
OK so where to begin? Rather than give a blow by blow disc by disc review I thought I'd just sum up/review the entire thing as a whole.

For long term wrestling fans like myself, most of the songs on here will be recognisable. Granted if you read the track listings there may be some you don't know but I'm pretty sure you'll listen to it and go "Oh yeah now I remember."

A lot of other reviews will mention a lack of their favourite WWF/WWE theme and personally I would've liked to have seen Demolition, Virgil or even Brutus Beefcake on here but a quick look at the WWE rosters since 1988 at least tells me that there are thousands of songs WWE had to choose from. The sheer fact they were able to pick only 3 CDs full is progress for a start.

Simply put, this is a must have for any long term fan or those who are buying the Tagged Classic DVDs. If you've only recently got into wrestling then 'Theme addict' or the latest release 'Raw' are more for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Inconsistent music cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2003
over 80 songs of the best wwf/wwe superstars.
if you like entrance music 1 bit you need this.it ranges from the hulkster and bret hart to lesnar and eric bischoff.
i like 90% of these songs,they had over 500 to choose from so they did a good job!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

WWF The Music Vol.5
£6.48
WWF - The Music Volume 3
£9.97
Music 4

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)