Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Hangover Music Vol. VI
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 27 May 2013
Hangover Music Vol. VI, from 2004, is the fifth full-length studio album by the American Heavy Metal band Black Label Society. This is stylistically an atypical album by the band, in that for the most part it is essentially an acoustic album.

The record is a proper studio album that contains a set of new songs (as opposed to reworking existing Black Label Society songs for a sort of acoustic compilation or MTV Unplugged sort of release).

Some of the tracks are slow, emotional piano ballads, some of the tracks are acoustic guitar ballads, and some are semi-acoustic rock songs (a few of which even feature distorted electric guitar). One of the tracks is an all acoustic guitar solo, like the band usually stick on a studio album to break things up and one of the tracks is a cover of Procol Harum's `Whiter Shade Of Pale.'

Newcomers may be skeptical of how well a band like Black Label Society, famous for guitar tricks and low pitched chugging riffs, could pull off an acoustic album, but in my opinion this is actually a very good release, and actually contains two or three of the very best songs that the band ever released.

Highlights include the opener `Crazy Or High?' as well as the brilliantly emotional `Stepping Stone' with its big doomy bells, and `House Of Doom' which is one of the catchiest tracks in the band's whole catalougue.

Overall; Hangover Music is a surprisingly enjoyable and accomplished effort, that may be atypical of the band's usual output, but which is definitely worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2004
I was forced to listen to the new BLS offering hangover music yesterday. Good God what a waste of 40 mins of my life. Now Iam not the biggest ZW fan. book of shaddows was good . but every BLS album is the same borring riff with the same old Wah soaked solo. Any how this new album is the worst thing I've heard in years. Zak has lost all his guitar tone it now just sounds like a Wah soaked mess which hides his sloppy playing and lack of create soloing style.He seems also to have this nasty effect on his vocals in an attempt to sound like Ozzy. (he was never the greatest singer) in all this was a horrid album by a reasonably tallented chap.
And why on earth does He have to constantly portary an image of a tough guy drinking beer and fighting. good God its 2004 have some self respect. Go and find some proper guitar music by the likes of joe stump, yngwie and racer x. Guys who know more than just the pentatonic scale
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2011
i have chosen to name my review and include the year in the title cause it was originally released in that year and i have owned since day one i still remember that it arrived in the mail few days earlier then the date spitfire had set for the release anyway back to the music and the artist
this is another cd that's been done by ozzy guitarist while ozzy was caught with the reality tv thing which at the end had destroyed ozzy credibility anyway zakk at the time was still establishing his place on his own in the metal world and getting more into alcohol while in every interview claim that his just doing the drinking thing on tour and not on daily basis these songs are what i had expected from the riff king they are the same style as the previouse and the next cd but with more feelings and thought about life and whats in it. buy it its metal at its best place and remember that at that time metal in general was in a bad place and only the best metal artists stuck with this formula and kept the locomotive on high speed zakk rules his riffing what metal in the early 2000s and to this day will be remember for only dime that was lost that same year had taken the crown from zakk and zakk was always coming 2nd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2017
love this album one of my new favorites another masterpiece from bls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
this is an excellent album. and i bought it used online for pennies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2008
I am a huge fan of anything Zakk Wylde related. Especially, it has to be said the man himself. So there was no fear really that I wasn't going to love this album.

This album does what it says on the tin, perfect soft sounding Black Label Society brilliance to sooth the most evil of hangovers, lament lost or failing love, provide a soundtrack to summer holidays and crazy nights. This album works for so many situations. The drawl of Wylde's voice sends shivers up my spine when performing Damage is Done, Won't find it Here and Once More. The instantly recognisable creative genius of Crazy or High, House of Doom and a dazzling version of Whiter Shade of Pale all culminate in one of the most amazing albums I own.

Tracks that bring tears to your eyes, hit spots of your soul that some of the harder, heavier Black Label Society stuff seems to miss. Introducing you to a whole new side of Wylde, one I have to say I like very very much.

I bought this CD a while ago and it has made a welcome come back onto my ipod.

Simply put brilliant - buy it, buy it now!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2016
COOL !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2011
Possibly the best BLS album. Very good and not sure how it can get described as the same as all the others.

Lots of variety. Listen to House Of Doom or Damage Is Done a few times and they go from being the great songs you first think they are to exceptional songs.

If you like Sabbath or modern doom metal then this could be just the thing for you.

If I was to have only one BLS album, then this would probably be the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Grimmest Hits
Stronger Than Death
1919 Eternal

Need customer service? Click here