Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
Genius, one of Britian's best ever songwriters!! Grab a cuppa tea, sit back and enjoy a brilliant slice of pop with a dash of cream..lovely stuff!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
all good , many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2004
To begin I should say I was not an expert on Squezee's ouput by any stretch of the imagination, which is not to say that I was not delighted with practically everything I heard by them. Somewhat the coming together of Difford and Tilbrook brought memories of other composing duos -although I would not put them on the same level than Lennon and McCartney, they were one of the memories.
This album, Difford first on his own, and only the third solo album from either one of them combined, not only confirm some of his reputed songwriting talent but offers you the work of a musician who has matured, continued to explore his style, and managed to create a wonderful bunch of songs for our delight.
The biggest difference between Difford and Tilbrook, as far as their solo efforts, is -and I know this will sound quite subjective- that Difford's work seems just as heartfelt and true to his soul as his contributions during the eighties, while Tilbrook's does not. Specially Tilbrook's recent second album strikes me as the work of a very talented musician, no doubt, who relied more on his admirable skill as a songwriter than letting himself be inspired to say new things and delve deeper into whatever he might have experienced since Squeeze's demise.
The songs included here are truly beautiful, the passions of a soft-spoken man who still has music to give us and seems as excited as we may be to find out where it'll take him.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
This is a brilliant album. The songs are great ('For a Change' and 'No Show Jones' are classics) and the playing is subtle and tasteful. Francis Dunnery is the star of the show and has a lovely touch and musicality (now that he's stopped 'widdling'). For me the drummer on this album (Ash Soan) is Steely Dan quality. Any drummers should buy this record to hear how to play songs. I'd love to know of any other albums featuring his playing. A slight negative is that some of the female backing vocal lines are a bit corny and get on your nerves after a while. Well done Chris Difford.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2003
I went in as a Squeeze fan not expecting too much. But this is a beautiul record. Wow! While different from any Squeeze record (still amazing songs and lyrics, albeit not nearly as 'poppy'), it holds up to the best of them. Squeeze records had gotten pretty formulaic. This is the new development I'd been seeking -- but didn't necessarily know it -- since Babylon and On (after which the stagnation set in, I think). Great production, background voacals, and guitar from the undervalued Francis Dunnery.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
A couple of years ago I downloaded an illegal copy of "Cowboys Are My Weakness" and loved it. When I saw the album containing said track I decided to be a good boy and buy it and it was worth every penny. I think Chris is a bit conscious of his voice and performing abilities, but he is exactly what only Britain can do..... Without sounding too dramatic, discovering albums like this is the reason I live. The musicians seem to know exactly what to do and never over-do a thing and as for that girl backing vocalist - I fell in love. This is one of those albums that takes over your life for a while - you want to play it endlessly, but are afriad to wear out the pleasure..... yeah, I like it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Wow! This a great album by the lyricist of most Squeeze songs. Chris does not song a lot of the Squeeze songs but this album makes clear that he should do that more often. Great songs and a great voice. Where has Chris the singer been all those years? Buy it, you won't regret.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
These songs are extremely well composed and recorded. Yes the female backing might not be everyone's taste but personally I love them. Llama's Fair for me is a real tearjerker and likewise Parents. There are a smattering of pop classics like Cowboys.

My only complaint was when I went to see Chris live in Stirling he stuck mainly to old Squeeze songs.

The man is a musical poet. Love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
English treasure. This is a beautifully crafted record. He's not a national treasure JUST yet as CD has much more to offer before any dotage sets in. Real songwriting from a skillful lyricist and deeply under appreciated singer, who's voice make these tunes very alive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Fabulous music.. You can hear the squeeze days coming through but this had a great stand alone feel to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)