Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2015
I could wax lyrical about this, all I need say if you loved the film as I did, get this is it the business
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2003
This soundtrack is, in my opinion, the best film soundtrack written. The soundtrack for The Fellowship was excellent but this succeeds it further. It is incredibly exhilarating, keeping you constantly on the edge of your seat. When it does allow you periods to relax it evokes the greatest of emotions to a music lover's ear. You can 'feel' the film throughtout, and without cross referencing to titles and the like, you know at what stage you are at. Try listening to it at relavant points whilst reading the book - now that's a dramatic effect which you will want to repeat over and over again, trust me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
I cannot review this item as it was a gift and I did not listen to it but was told it was good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
The music is wonderful and really makes the film alive! It also completes the whole trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
I'm a big fun of lord of ring music. It makes me feel really calm and relaxed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Fabulous quality, superb range of moods and mind images. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
A superb, glorious score for one of the greatest movies of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2002
When i first got the soundtrack i was so excited i could hardly open the packaging! However as i put it on the C.d player and started to listen to the first track (Foundations of Stone) i began to become quite puzzled, This first track seems as if someone has taken the first half of the Prophecy from the first soundtrack ('The Fellowship Of The Ring') and mixed it together with The Bridge of Khazad Dum. Throughout the soundtrack you can here re-occuring themes from the Fellowship soundtrack. This repetition of themes rather spoils the C.d for me as i was expecting a C.d of entierly new music, which was not what i got. 'The Uruk-Hai' seems to firstly be made up mostly of the Fellowship theme being played on diffrent instruments, and the 2nd half of it is just the 'Isengard' theme being played. Several of the tracks just seem to fade away and don't really stand by themselves as pieces of music (for example 'The Passage Of The Marshes' and 'The Taming Of Smeagol'). But there are some good pieces of music on this C.d, The second half of 'The Riders Of Rohan' is superb, the theme of the riders being played on a Russian fiddle, the track really conveys to you the people of Rohan. 'The King Of the Golden Hall' also features a bit of the Rohan theme and is another wonderful Medieval sounding track. 'Treebeard' is a very strange track and does not really remind me of the Ents at all. 'The White Rider' has some good choral work on it at the start of the track and then it moves into an instrumental and then an ethereal sounding piece of choral work which is lovely. 'Helms Deep' is a culmination of all the previous Fellowship war themes put into one track at the start. The track has a lovely vocal bit in the middle and is one of the best tracks on the C.d. The Vocal tracks on this C.D are once again mostly superb. 'Evenstar' sung by Isabel Bayrakdarian is lovely and haunting, with Isabel's voice giving it a wonderful ethereal quality. 'Breath Of Life' featuring Shelia Chandra (who has an Enya-like quality to her voice) is also haunting and rather disjointed making it rather erie. 'Forth Eorlingas' featuring Ben Del Maestro has to be the best piece of music on this soundtrack (although it yet again features the Fellowship theme!) it really stirs up diffrent emotions within you, Ben has a wonderful pure tone in his voice which compliments the track's war like tone. 'Isengard Unleashed' sung by Elizabeth Fraser and Ben Del Maestro starts off sounding like 'Lothlorien' and then goes back to the Mordor/Isengard theme again. The second half of the track is better and combines a number of diffrent timbres of voices to give it a powerful effect which is lovely. 'Gollum's Song' which is performed by Emiliana Torrini is a complete dissapiontment. I was expecting something haunting but instead we get a jazz singer! it sounds nothing like the theme for Gollum should and it does not fit in at all with the Soundtrack or the Film and books either! i cannot express how out of place this sounds and how it ruins this soundtrack for me!
I was expecting more from this soundtrack. However it does have some beautiful bits of music in it. I would reccommend this definatly to anyone who hasn't already brought the first soundtrack and to anyone who is a die hard fan of Lord of the Rings! Otherwise i would say that this soundtrack is still worth getting for the many wonderful pieces of music that are on here.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Top quality! Still listening to it 6 years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Excellent service and product ,very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)