Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 December 2002
To begin with there is a repeat of some themes heard from the Fellowship of the Ring but the music in TTT is more dramatic. Unfortunately it doesn't include the music from the trailer (it is a remix of Requiem For A Dream) the rest of the tracks are very good/excellent. Some tracks start slow and seem to drag on a bit but the majority are excellent such as "Helm's Deep", "The Hornburg" and the haunting voice of Emiliana Torrini in "Gollum's Song". The tracks may need to be listened to a few times to get a feel of it's place in the film, although classical music lovers will enjoy this immensely. With 19 tracks and enhanced CD-Rom it is well worth every penny
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2004
I am someone totally sold on Lord of the Rings, both books and films, and subsiduary texts. You can rest assured that Peter Jackson and team knew what they were doing and have delivered a true to Tolkein rendition of the saga.
The point of adding yet another review to this cd? Simply this, don't buy it! Buy the trilogy boxed set. For just a few more pounds you'll get the full work, and can listen through the full development of the themes of the Fellowship, Rohan, Loss and Hope.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2003
I absolutely adored Howard Shore's Oscar-winning score for The Fellowship of the Ring and I couldn't wait to get my hands on The Two Towers soundtrack CD - and it is even better than the first one! The Two Towers film itself is a masterpiece and the accompanying score is a masterpiece too.
From the deep choral vibes of 'The Foundations of Stone' to the masterful Rohan leitmotif in 'The Riders of Rohan', from the immense battle music in 'Helm's Deep' to the haunting eeriness of 'The Forbidden Pool', and of course the rousing adrenaline-pumping finale of 'Forth Eorlingas' right through to 'Samwise the Brave', the whole score is just fantastic!
I really cannot compliment Howard Shore enough on the grest work he has composed for the Lord of the Rings trilogy and the wait for the score of The Return of the King starts here!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2002
I've never ever really had any kind of interest in classical music, I'm more of a rock fan (Muse, Jimmy Eat World, Doves, etc.), but after seeing the greatest movie I have ever seen, 'The Two Towers', with its enthraluing story, special effects and action sequences, that were all enhanced by the wonderful music, I bought this CD.
Its not really the type I'll put on normally, but its nice to "chill-out" to, and reminds me of those great parts in the movie, especially such tracks as 'Foundations of Stone' and 'Helm's Deep'.
But apart from reminding me of the film, this CD does have many thoughful and gripping music that is really done superbly.
So as I haven't really bought anything classical before I can't make a judgement from that view on it, but as a rock fan, this soundtrack does truly rock.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2002
Once again this is an amazing soundtrack from Howard Shore. Without having even seen the Two Towers, but having read the books, this encapsulates all the varied moods that The Lord of the Rings brings with it: the joys, the terrors and the triumphs. Having said that it does not quite reach up to the standards of The Fellowship of the Ring's soundtrack but I may just need more time for it to grow on me...however my favourite track on here has to be Gollum's song which is the epitome of Gollum-sad and pitiful but fascinating.The collectors card album cover card is great too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2009
Great sweeping anthems blend seemlessly with ethereal haunting melodies, probably the best of the three soundtracks. I only hope Howard Shore is going to do the score for the new Hobbit film. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2011
A fabulous collection of songs by Ben Del Maestro, Isabel Bayrakdarian, Elizabeth Fraser, Sheila Chandra and Emiliana Torrini and written music by the master himself, Howard Shore, this album captivates me from start to finish, and never fails to move me, heart and soul, as the epic orchestral tunes are full of drama and intensity, and the songs are all lovely, particularly Torrini's "Gollum's Song", which is wonderfully haunting and captures the spirit of Gollum exactly. The "Fellowship" theme is one of the most beautiful, and a signature piece of music that reflects memories of the Shire, of Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin, and their quest. The music of Rohan is just gorgeous; it's uplifting, thrilling, dramatic and melodious. Then you have the more industrial sounding score of Isengard with its many sharp notes that sound like machines in the making and swords on the anvil. I thoroughly recommend this CD; it makes for a wonderful continuation of such a brilliant story told through perhaps some of the most powerful music I have ever heard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2006
As other reviewers have noted, Howard Shore shows once again with this CD his great talent for film soundtrack-writing. Each theme is tailored superbly to the character or place it represents, and the orchestration is superb, allowing a great spectrum of emotional colour to shine through.

If I have a criticism it probably concerns what another reviewer referred to with his comparison of the music on one hand alongside the film, and on the other as music in its own right. The editing of the CD is such that you get a lot of themes, or passing references to them, constantly bobbing up in the mix like ingredients in a casserole. So the music, whilst undeniably beautifully written and expertly orchestrated, sometimes feels as though it is never allowed to settle.

Having said that, if you don't mind the slightly whistle-stop-tour feel, this is an excellent CD which conveys the atmosphere of the film superbly, and is a great addition to the film itself, almost a character in its own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2003
After becoming obsessed with the sound track for The Fellowship of the Ring I was waiting on tenderhooks to hear this. And I was not dissapointed! The music is gorgeous and I espically liked the celtic sound for rohan. Its amazing the way that beautiful,soft music like "Evenstar" and loud, dark music like "The Black Gate is Closed" even come from the same movie, never mind the fact that they all come together to make a wonderful soundtrack.
The reason i took off a star is the absence of Enya.I thought her beautiful singing was the iceing on the cake of the last soundtrack, and I was really disapointed not to hear her again. I couldn't help feeling there was something missing from this that Emiliana Torrini just couldn't replace. But other then that, a must have soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 December 2002
This is quite simply the best movie soundtrack ever. From the opening notes to the last it is 75 minutes of sheer quality.
Anyone who knows The Lord of the rings will know that the Two Towers is the best of the books and hopefully will become the best of the films, and Howard Shore has really wrote a score to match. The themes truly capture the emotions of the story, and take you straight into middle-earth. Also Gollums song is one of the best original songs I have heard from a film. J.R.R Tolkien would be proud of this. Do yourself a favour and buy it now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)